Customer Reviews for

The Dance of Death (Special Agent Pendergast Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 217 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(135)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    My favorite of the Pendergast series

    This is my favorite book in the FBI Agent Pendergast series! Most of the Preston/Child books are stand alone, that is you can read just one without missing out on much -- however, this book is the second in what is informally called the Diogenese Trillogy and I would recommend reading Brimstone first. It's a great stand alone read, but would be better enjoyed the knowing the background information (about Diogenese) given in Brimstone.

    - A lot of suspense, I held my breath through half of it.
    - The characters are very well developed and believable.
    -

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Of The Pendergast Mysteries

    Reading Dance Of Death the second installment of the Diogenes trilogy is just like watching The Empire Strikes Back. Both are the best of their series and doesn't disappoint. I agree that Brimstone should be read first but its not mandatory.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow........!

    All I'm sayin'....the Special Angent Pengergast series leaves me totally exhausted. I don't know how Preston and Child think of all the twists, turns and white knuckle page turning, but I'm ready for the next book. This book shows the more "human" side of Pengergast - and remind me to never go to a Pendergast family reunion.....well written - intense - during the end of the day at work, I just start thinking I have to get home and finish this book........I'm envious of the authors' well honed writing skills....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2008

    highly recommended

    This was a great read. It was pretty fast paced with different twists and turns.Can hardly wait to read the next book in the series. I highly recommend this book and others written by these authors.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    This was my second favorite book in the Pendergast Series. ( The

    This was my second favorite book in the Pendergast Series. ( The Cabinet of Curiosities is my first ) Superb writing & an amazing plot. Plenty of twists & turns that kept me on the edge of my seat. It's a great stand alone novel but I would suggest reading Brimstone first if you want more background on Agent Pendergast's brother Diogenes. I'm obsessed with these books and I absolutely plan to read them all !! I love Agent Pendergast !!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another Great Pendergast Tale!

    I really enjoyed this book as well as most of the prior works of the authors. This book ties together all the previous works involving Special Agent Pendergast by bringing together all the characters that survived those stories. When we last saw Pendergast he was walled up and running out of oxygen. The authors gave clues at the end of the book that he got out as they describe digging and a possible break in the wall.

    In Dance of Death, Pendergast is presumed dead and policeman Vincent D'Agosta has gone back to live with his girfriend, police captain Hayward. In the meantime a couple of mysterious deaths occur involving a college professor who gets poisoned by a rare spider venom and another man who is force to jump out of a window only to be hanged by a noose around his neck.

    As each murder occurs the one thing is clear, all the victims were friends of Pendergast. Additionally, there is DNA and other evidence to link Pendergast to the crime.

    Pendergast, having escaped his prison and in hiding (to avoid capture by the police) is trying to capture the killer before all his friends are wiped out. Pendergast is the only one who konws the killer is his evil brother Diogenes who had faked his own death 20 years earlier. Therefore, nobody believes it is anyone but Pendergast who is commiting the murders.

    With tons tension throughout the book, this is probably one of the authors' best books. This is the second book where the authors mention someone reading The Ice Limit III so you wonder if there will ever be a follow-up to that book. Though the Ice Limit did not involve Pendergast there is a scene in Dance of Death in which Pendergast and D'Agosta are at a scientific place that guarentees success (like the company in The Ice Limit) and there is a picture on the wall of an oil tanker with a blond haired woman captain (like The Ice Limit).

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    So cool

    I picked up this book when looking for something new and different. I was not aware at the time that this was the second in a trilogy, but soon found it to have perfectly stable legs it could stand on. The characters are awesomely diverse and the plot is relentless in its twists and turns. I'm definitely going back to pick up Brimstone(the first in the trilogy) and Book of the Dead, Pendergast is one of my favorite book characters and he'll no doubt be yours too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Shadows bio

    Name:Shadow Age:19 Gender:boy Partner:none Status:single Apperance:tall skinny tan skin ruby eyes kinda long jet black hair Weapon form: a jet black blade with a white stripe down the middle Loves:haunted houses

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Taylor Bio

    Name-Taylor
    <P>
    Age-18
    <P>
    Gender-Male
    <P>
    Look-6"2' Ash blonde hair,dark blue eyes,thin.
    <P>
    Wears-Hoodies,skinny jeans,ad hightops.
    <P>
    Personality-Nice,quiet,outcast.
    <P>
    Status-I dont really care at this point.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Zero

    All are unknown except for appearence. Appearence: rotten corpse. Is thin.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Sm

    Im gonna go ttyl bye sexy ladies

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Excellent story. Keep on writing.

    Excellent story. Keep on writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Connir

    Probs

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Ryan to Lacy

    Hello?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Aero

    To those who want it hard, go to 'naughy bits' result 20 k?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Faithie the Vamp.

    From Spongebob???.........

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Yue? Aka 007

    I dont know.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Kat

    Walked up to Faithie"I disagree. I suppose yoir gonna say1D is better"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Claudia

    Then how? Cuz i have simple touch and i want google on it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Elle

    Heya guys.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7