Customer Reviews for

Dance of the Gods (Circle Trilogy Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 171 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(105)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Dance of the Gods and Circle Trilogy

This is by far the best trilogy series I have ever read by Nora Roberts. The characters and storyline are extremely well written. Couldn't put it down. My only complaint is that the series had to come to an end. I loved it so much I read it twice! Would love to see it m...
This is by far the best trilogy series I have ever read by Nora Roberts. The characters and storyline are extremely well written. Couldn't put it down. My only complaint is that the series had to come to an end. I loved it so much I read it twice! Would love to see it made into a mini-series. A must read -- if you like fantasy/fiction you're going to love it!

posted by 2110263 on October 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I don't know what it is about Nora's trilogies, but....when I read the first book, I thought it was great and I couldn't wait to read the second book. After reading this book, I was really disappointed. I just didn't feel any connection between Larkin and Blair and it...
I don't know what it is about Nora's trilogies, but....when I read the first book, I thought it was great and I couldn't wait to read the second book. After reading this book, I was really disappointed. I just didn't feel any connection between Larkin and Blair and it just seemed like a filler book. Like my agent says I have to write a trilogy so here take this, even though it's horrible. The third book, was great again. This isn't the only series of hers that I've been disappointed with. I felt the same way about the In the Garden Series.

posted by Anonymous on July 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Dance of the Gods and Circle Trilogy

    This is by far the best trilogy series I have ever read by Nora Roberts. The characters and storyline are extremely well written. Couldn't put it down. My only complaint is that the series had to come to an end. I loved it so much I read it twice! Would love to see it made into a mini-series. A must read -- if you like fantasy/fiction you're going to love it!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2008

    Wow!!

    I loved Morrigan's Cross so much I had to buy the others in the Circle Trilogy. I was not disappointed in the least. The book was well written as usual, in addition to, the story kept you interested. Get the whole set, it's worth it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a reviewer

    The Goddess Morrigan gathered the Circle of Six champions to battle against the vampire Lilith and her undead minion whose goal is world conquest. The sextet consist of Hoyt the Sorcerer, his vampiric sibling Cian, the witch Glenna, Geallian Princess Moira, shape-shifter Larkin, and demon hunter Blair. They come from different eras and even worlds as each exited the Dance of the Gods to meet in twenty-first century Ireland training for a war against a much more powerful enemy. --- Even while training, they must fight Lilith's soldiers sent to destroy them before the final engagement, They bicker fitfully among themselves and, for some, dog their best to ignore the mounting sexual tension. Their teachers worry about relationships as they prepare for instance the constant bickering and arguing between Larkin and Blair has turned to lust, but what will happen under fire when sacrifice might be needed for the better good. Still the group impatiently waits for their instructors to tell them the time is now to enter the Geall stone circle to go back to the past to rage the Armageddon war with Lilith and her forces. --- The middle tale of the Circle Trilogy (see MORRIGAN'S CROSS) is an excellent romantic fantasy with the emphasis on the paranormal magical elements. The story line is character driven as the six train and forge friendships between them while others do not get along. Nora Roberts provides the right amount of battle with the foe so that the audience receives a strong enchanting tale that moves the saga forward yet sets up what should be quite a final fantasy. --- Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Developing the Story

    We met Blair at the end of the first book and she was all hardcore but secretly girly and I found it sort of difficult to grasp in such a short amount of time. Quite frankly, I pegged her as something else. She was pushy, unforgiving and I didn't care for the way she treated Cian. But I did like the way she helped Glenna out with the wedding at the end of the first one. To me, it's not very often you see a second-story Roberts woman relinquishing her pride and strength and substituting it for femininity. I think Roberts tried to make Grace that way in her book Rising Tides, but it didn't quite meet what she's done with Blair here. Really, this was a step up from the first one, which is not typical...To me, at least. I've never been a fan of the feminist-type who think they can get on just fine without a man and the poor guy has to work so hard to change her mind. I see that as a weakness. I think it takes more strength for a woman to let her guard down and say, "Yeah, I do need you. I can't go through this alone." Anyway, Blair and Larkin kiss pretty early on which reveals their feelings to each other. Naturally, Blair is afraid to go farther because she thinks Larkin will abandon her just like all the other men in her life, but he proves to be greatly different. Larkin is far more chivalrous and tender than Hoyt was in the first one. Glenna thought she had it good, but Larkin takes the cake between the two. He reminds me so much of Joey from Friends. Every woman thinks he's the most beautiful man and he makes every woman feel like she's the only one in the room when he looks at her. I swear I was just waiting for him to look at Blair and go, "How you doin'?" Larkin is far more chivalrous and tender than Hoyt was in the first one. Glenna thought she had it good, but Larkin takes the cake between the two. He reminds me so much of Joey from Friends. Every woman thinks he's the most beautiful man and he makes every woman feel like she's the only one in the room when he looks at her. I swear I was just waiting for him to look at Blair and go, "How you doin'?" And, like Hoyt and Glenna, when Larkin and Blair join forces to fight against the enemy, they are so much stronger than they were by themselves. And these two were pretty strong alone. But they know each other inside and out, so it makes fighting together that much more intimate and that much more complex for the enemy because they always have a sense of where the other one is. It's beautiful, really. So there was a lot more action in this book, which was nice. Like I said before, I enjoyed seeing everyone's abilities improve and it was nice to go on a journey of forgiveness and letting go with Blair. Moving on from her pain was the biggest thing for her and I thought Roberts did a very good job and showcasing her efforts to do so. With Larkin's help, of course.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Another one of Nora Roberts awesome trilogies!

    The history and magic are the focal points in the trilogy, and its magic is what makes it so beautiful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    Very good read. Excellent series. Page turner, did not want to p

    Very good read. Excellent series. Page turner, did not want to put down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I like Robert's triolgies and often have to wait until the last book is being written before I purchase any of the series, they read quickly and are very much releated to the others, so I pour through them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Good

    Loved this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Excellent

    This is my favorite Nora Roberts series. I have read it a few times and the characters still pull at me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Wow

    This book has readers iching for more!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Dance of the Gods

    Wow!!! They get better and better with each book. I could not put it down and I felt like I was part of the book. I love it when the book is so well writen that happens. That is how you know it is a good book. When I finished it I started the last one in the trilogy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Circle Trilogy one of Nora's best

    I so enjoyed this series! I was introduced to Nora just recently and I can't say enough about what a wonderful author she is! I generally shy away from romance writers but she is in a catagory all her own and I so loved this trilogy. I hated for it to be over! I actually missed the characters! A must read for sure!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2007

    super wonderful

    i was skeptical at first to read a different nora roberts but when i started i was hooked!!! i was swept into the story. She's a wonderful story teller, you can tell when you tense if the scene is so chilling, you smile when it's about romance. All in all no words can describe how I felt reading the trilogy. You just have to feel it yourself. please read the circle trilogy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2007

    Great series

    I was a little unsure of this type of book from Nora Roberts, but once I started I couldn't stop. Wonderful story. Love the glossary on how to pronounce some of the names/words.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2007

    A great change!!!

    It was so nice to see Nora Roberts change up her usual outline for this new series. Even though the plot is basically the same this book was such a great direction!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2007

    Fantastic

    Roberts paints a delightful fantasy world inwhich you can't help but want to indulge in. Every page is filled with interest. Even my husband enjoyed the novels. I wish some one would make this trilogy into a movie. Although it probably wouldn't be as good as the novel itself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2006

    Great Job

    Captivating, interesting and romantic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2006

    Great romance

    I loved it and will be checking out more of her trilogies!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2006

    very good

    Despite the fact that it was easy to determine from the first book in the trilogy, who would fall in love with each other, this is a great book. I love this series and wish there would be more than just three books for these characters. This is a fast read and pure enjoyment

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6