Customer Reviews for

A Dance with Dragons (A Song of Ice and Fire #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3211 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2058)

4 Star

(558)

3 Star

(273)

2 Star

(131)

1 Star

(191)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

74 out of 129 people found this review helpful.

One of the best series ever written.

I'm seriously disappointed in all the impatient people posting bad reviews. So what if he took a long time to write a book? Art takes time, folks. Be mature and be patient. George R. R. Martin has obviously spent alot of time on this book, so it's bound to be wonderful....
I'm seriously disappointed in all the impatient people posting bad reviews. So what if he took a long time to write a book? Art takes time, folks. Be mature and be patient. George R. R. Martin has obviously spent alot of time on this book, so it's bound to be wonderful. I'd rather he spent alot of time writing the book and making it as good as he can instead of rushing it and turning it into a disappointment. Martin has stated himself that he's a slow writer, so have a little compassion for the man. A writer shouldn't have to tailor to his fans, that's not how writing works. Martin is obviously taking the series in the direction he wants it to go. And why not? By writing these books for the populace, he's doing you a service. Stop complaining. Martin's work is absolutely wonderful. I'm a big fantasy fan myself, and I always have been. Martin lays out an intriguing world with grey characters and a plotline that will pull you in and not let go. This is a world where no characters are safe, a world where anything can happen. This is a world where the bad people usually triumph and where good people suffer great losses. This series is not for people who want a "safe" story with characters riding bunny rabbits and using foam swords, but it is for people who want a story that makes them keep guessing. It's for people who want realism along with those fantasy elements we've all grown to love. If you want a book where your favorite character can die on the next page and be completely unexpected, read this series. This is truly some of the best fantasy literature ever written, don't miss it.

posted by Revolver on June 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

137 out of 186 people found this review helpful.

Sadly Disapointed

I picked up the first book in this series after watching the show on HBO. Needless to say the first book is spot on to the TV show and pretty amazing. Books 2 and 3 were still great and then I started book 4 and was lost. I started to read reviews on line and understoo...
I picked up the first book in this series after watching the show on HBO. Needless to say the first book is spot on to the TV show and pretty amazing. Books 2 and 3 were still great and then I started book 4 and was lost. I started to read reviews on line and understood that book 4 and 5 were split into 2 novels so on the day A Dance with dragons was released I had just finished A Feast For Crows and was more than ready to move on. Sadly, that never happened. I am the type of reader that will read anything and I mean anything Cereal boxes, Shampoo bottles and Junk mail just because I love to read and yet I had a difficult time focusing on this book.
There are way too many non essential characters that bring less than nothing to the story line and whole chapters that leave you feeling that you just picked up another book entirely. You find yourself reading through them hoping to get a snippet of information that will pull you back into the story only to end up with nothing. In the first the books you saw a beginning, middle and end to some of the trials that each person was experiencing even though it was not the end of that persons story. In this book you're left with the feeling that nothing they did was ever completed it just dragged on and on and on. If you're looking to answers to any question that the first 4 books raised you're going to be Highly disappointed.
This book is like season 3 or 4 of Lost. Lots of story that makes no sense. The writing is beautiful, the character and scenery descriptions are amazing but the story got lost. I am all for anything that gets people to read, but I would not recommend this series to anyone because I would hate to have them to end up disappointed.
Also B&N should remove the star ratings from any review created before the release of the book. Most the the 5 stars were giving by people who could not have read it.

posted by 2755962 on July 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3241 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 163
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    Sadly Disapointed

    I picked up the first book in this series after watching the show on HBO. Needless to say the first book is spot on to the TV show and pretty amazing. Books 2 and 3 were still great and then I started book 4 and was lost. I started to read reviews on line and understood that book 4 and 5 were split into 2 novels so on the day A Dance with dragons was released I had just finished A Feast For Crows and was more than ready to move on. Sadly, that never happened. I am the type of reader that will read anything and I mean anything Cereal boxes, Shampoo bottles and Junk mail just because I love to read and yet I had a difficult time focusing on this book.
    There are way too many non essential characters that bring less than nothing to the story line and whole chapters that leave you feeling that you just picked up another book entirely. You find yourself reading through them hoping to get a snippet of information that will pull you back into the story only to end up with nothing. In the first the books you saw a beginning, middle and end to some of the trials that each person was experiencing even though it was not the end of that persons story. In this book you're left with the feeling that nothing they did was ever completed it just dragged on and on and on. If you're looking to answers to any question that the first 4 books raised you're going to be Highly disappointed.
    This book is like season 3 or 4 of Lost. Lots of story that makes no sense. The writing is beautiful, the character and scenery descriptions are amazing but the story got lost. I am all for anything that gets people to read, but I would not recommend this series to anyone because I would hate to have them to end up disappointed.
    Also B&N should remove the star ratings from any review created before the release of the book. Most the the 5 stars were giving by people who could not have read it.

    137 out of 186 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Disappointed

    First off, I have read the book. This is a review of the book and not of how long it took to be published, or B&N's preorder process.

    I was really looking forward to this book. I think the first four books, even AFFC, could be the start to the greatest fantasy epic of this generation. ADWD is disappointing. The first part of the book takes place concurrently with AFFC, and this part obviously should have been in that volume. It is a bit confusing that Sam is in both books. The story drags. Nothing that happens seems very important, even the things that are definitely big revelations. This is 1100 pages of tying up loose ends. I get the feeling from this book that GRRM didn't know what he was going to do, and so had to do quite a bit of character pruning in order to move forward. All in all, not a great read and a disappointing entry in what has been a great series.

    80 out of 96 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best series ever written.

    I'm seriously disappointed in all the impatient people posting bad reviews. So what if he took a long time to write a book? Art takes time, folks. Be mature and be patient. George R. R. Martin has obviously spent alot of time on this book, so it's bound to be wonderful. I'd rather he spent alot of time writing the book and making it as good as he can instead of rushing it and turning it into a disappointment. Martin has stated himself that he's a slow writer, so have a little compassion for the man. A writer shouldn't have to tailor to his fans, that's not how writing works. Martin is obviously taking the series in the direction he wants it to go. And why not? By writing these books for the populace, he's doing you a service. Stop complaining. Martin's work is absolutely wonderful. I'm a big fantasy fan myself, and I always have been. Martin lays out an intriguing world with grey characters and a plotline that will pull you in and not let go. This is a world where no characters are safe, a world where anything can happen. This is a world where the bad people usually triumph and where good people suffer great losses. This series is not for people who want a "safe" story with characters riding bunny rabbits and using foam swords, but it is for people who want a story that makes them keep guessing. It's for people who want realism along with those fantasy elements we've all grown to love. If you want a book where your favorite character can die on the next page and be completely unexpected, read this series. This is truly some of the best fantasy literature ever written, don't miss it.

    74 out of 129 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Huge disappointment

    First three books were amazing. Number four was decent. This one, not so much. The plot evolves at a snails pace, and the thrills are few and far between. The first 90% of most chapters is like wading through mud to reach the final 10%, which is generally pretty good. This book could have easily been trimmed down at least by half. After waiting so long for this to come out, I was hoping for so much more.

    63 out of 81 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    What happened???

    Let me start by saying I am an avid reader of this Genre and believed the first 3 books of this series as 3 of the best ever; however, the books have now started to move at a snails pace (much like the WoT). Quite frankly I am disgusted with this most recent entry in the series. I am not sure any significant plot lines advanced. I am sure G.R.R's reader will remember as well as I when A Feast of Crows was published and the author stated he split the manuscript in to 2 books because it was too much for 1 novel, and lo and behold a mere 3 years later this is what we get. I can only hope enough people complain about these foot dragging authors that they will wake up and stop sacrificing the pace of a story to make a buck. I am done with this series and author. I no longer care what happens, I will now give my money to authors who care more about their readers and less about HBO's dollars (as soon as I find one, any suggestions?)

    55 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    What happened to the story line?

    I did not start reading this series until it came on HBO. I would rather read the book than watch the movie, so I started on these. Wish I had watched the show on this series. Books one and three were good but dragged myself through two and four. Hoped that GRRM would redeem himself on five, but no such luck. Glad that I did not start these books way back and have to wait the long years that many have. Book five just rambles and the story goes no where. In fact, other than a few places the story has gone somewhere off the board. Does GRRM even have a plan for his characters or the plot? If you haven't started this series yet, my advice is don't start them. Watch the HBO version and save all those thousands of pages of reading time for something more interesting and an author who gives his readers his best.

    54 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Not Recommended

    For this I waited 6 years? I am completely underwhelmed. The story did not advance beyond what could have been written in about 250 pages. Mr. Martin has sadly disappointed this fan. I think you could even skip this volume and still follow the story.
    So much of the writing seemed like filler and did not captivate the way the first three books did (I say 3, because #4 was a bit of a disappointment also). If the next one takes as long to publish, I may be one of many who lose interest.

    46 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Missing something.

    Being a Martin fan is almost masochistic. He writes superbly and with amazing consistency a 'fantasy' series that is more charaxcter piece and feudal history, and like many others i love it. With all the hype recently built and the long wait for those of us who predate the HBO series and said hype, this release was a present eagerly opened for avid readers. Martin delivers all you would expect from 'Song', deep and intricate people, beautifully described landscaps and an amazingly deep history. Usually his novels pick up pace and we are whisked through battles, intrigue, moral grey areas, and the frustrating death of a beloved charactr who may be the only decent human being written into the story. This book drags, and its upseting. After years of awaiting its release i find myself wondering how much of the plot was moved along. Comparatively speaking, his previous novels have more scenes of moment, of import and emotion. Here i fiund those climax points to miss the mark or be downright friiustrating and disheartening. For the amount of reading there is very little movement to this novel compared to the previous titles or something akin, like Patrick Rothfuss' two epic, genre bending novels. Still, i loved it, and am thankful it released at all, but familiar fans should be forewarned, most of what you may anticipate to pass, does not. Let us hope the rumors of another 4year wait are untrue, because Martin owes us all alittle more for our patience, patronage, money and time.

    35 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No

    I orginally pened a lenghty review, but thought better of posting it and thought I would keep my response short.
    After waiting so many years for this book my hopes were that there would be some closure on many of the characters from the previous books. To my disdain no - just more characters for another 5 year book.

    Sorry George you lost me

    34 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Disappointment

    There was so much talk in this book if I could sleep while reading I would of, its like the Author was so busy looking for things to make the book bigger instead of getting to the point or getting to the characters in the previous books. Waiting for this book for years was a waste and I suggest you wait for all the books to come out and read it all at once maybe then it might make a better read.

    31 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    "Never going to be published"!!??

    All you crybabies that have been ripping on GRRM for the past several years can all go find something else to cry about now. Sure it was a long, long wait but it was worth it!! This could well be the best volume in the series so far! Tyrion and Jon have large roles and in my opinion they are the best and the strongest characters in the entire cast. Things pulled together, and even wove together, nicely from volume 4 and sets the stage for the final two books to include all the main characters in each book. I wait patiently for the next volume and if it is a few years so what! I'll read something else in the meantime and leave the crying to the usual suspects.

    29 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    For the first time ever... I skimmed

    For the first time ever in a George R. R. Martin book I skimmed through, what i thought was useless information. There were whole chapters on Daenarys that just bored me to tears. I've loved this series and have enjoyed the HBO series, but The long wait for this book was not worth it. There was a lot of exciting momements throughout the book, with new characters and old. He tied some things up very well, and added a bunch of new deaths and twists. Over all it was still a great read, but as I mentioned... I was tired of the Daenarys chapters, and found myself thinking... who gives a crap. Either she needs to get across the water and join the game of thrones, or only be alotted one chapter that says.. "she still sits in Muereen doing nothing" And then finally, tell us why and how she is moving on to Westeroes.. All four of the other books would receive an A+, because of the boring Daenarys chapters this book gets a C+

    24 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    BOOOORRRRRING

    Save your time and money. Filled with uninspiring characters that do nothing to move along the now totally lost plot. It really seems like Martin just needed a pay day here.

    21 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Ugh! Waste of time

    I am sick to death of authors who simply drag a story out for no good reason. Instead of tying up loose ends in Dance with Dragons he introduced new storylines in this book. And the old questions remain unanswered. I'm done with these books. I love the world he has built, but I can't believe that reading 1000 pages failed to advance the story AT ALL.

    18 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    Still not completed

    Disappointing after such a long wait. Still not all resolved - another 5 years for the end?

    18 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    I will wait.

    Let me be brief but clear. I thought the first volume of this series was the best book of this fantasy genre I had read since Tolkien. Conversely, I found the fourth volume to be the most self absorbed, sexually uncertain, stream of conscientiousness junk I had ever read. I really came to believe that this was an author who was fulfilling a contracted mandate to produce a book he neither wanted to write nor had in any way clear in his head. I will wait until the reviews are out on this book before perhaps buying the paperback or Nook version.

    18 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    NEW READERS WARNING

    DON'T BUY IT UNTIL MARTIN STOPS TRAVELING THE WORLD AND FINISH THE STORY. YOU OR HIM MAY BE DEAD BEFORE IT HAPPENS AND BE FOREVER DOOMED AT THE ICE AND FIRE LIMBO

    17 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    waste of time

    Waited years for this and it was a waste of time.The story did not progress at all,just added more characters no body will care about.

    15 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    The first four books were good, but the author provides no sense of closure - frustrating.

    Great character development and story line. However, the lack of closure is wearing on me.

    15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Worthwhile series, but this book is not on par with the first few.

    First off, let me say that I have thoroughly enjoyed A Song of Ice and Fire, even though it is not exactly the type of fantasy that I crave. I generally prefer more magic, less politics, and less total destruction of MANY likable characters. I have also been a bit perturbed with the huge number of unnecessary side characters who make the story so convoluted and would require you to read the series 10 times with a huge chart to be able to finally figure out the historical and present connections between all of them.

    That being said, I very much enjoyed the first four novels. I really enjoy his writing style. It flows smoothly, is descriptive enough and has great characterization, and his dialogue and humor are top notch. That being said, I always felt like I was waiting for some major things to happen and every time something did happen, it seemed to me to send the story backwards instead of forwards.

    A Dance with Dragons was enjoyable to read, but I felt like nothing happened. You could jump from the first page to the last and here is where you would be ****spoilers**** Danaerys is still in Mereen, Jon is still a the wall, the North is still held by the Boltons, Arya has barely progressed with the assassin priests, Greyjoy is sailing to the East, Cersei is ruined, Jaime is in the riverlands twiddling his thumbs.

    Tyrion is the only character that really advances in the story.

    So, did I enjoy it while I was reading it? Yes, but I felt very unsatisfied when it was finished. Of course, that may be the sign of a good storyteller, as I will be looking forward to the next.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3241 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 163