Customer Reviews for

A Dance with Dragons (A Song of Ice and Fire #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3328 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2133)

4 Star

(585)

3 Star

(281)

2 Star

(133)

1 Star

(196)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

77 out of 134 people found this review helpful.

One of the best series ever written.

I'm seriously disappointed in all the impatient people posting bad reviews. So what if he took a long time to write a book? Art takes time, folks. Be mature and be patient. George R. R. Martin has obviously spent alot of time on this book, so it's bound to be wonderful....
I'm seriously disappointed in all the impatient people posting bad reviews. So what if he took a long time to write a book? Art takes time, folks. Be mature and be patient. George R. R. Martin has obviously spent alot of time on this book, so it's bound to be wonderful. I'd rather he spent alot of time writing the book and making it as good as he can instead of rushing it and turning it into a disappointment. Martin has stated himself that he's a slow writer, so have a little compassion for the man. A writer shouldn't have to tailor to his fans, that's not how writing works. Martin is obviously taking the series in the direction he wants it to go. And why not? By writing these books for the populace, he's doing you a service. Stop complaining. Martin's work is absolutely wonderful. I'm a big fantasy fan myself, and I always have been. Martin lays out an intriguing world with grey characters and a plotline that will pull you in and not let go. This is a world where no characters are safe, a world where anything can happen. This is a world where the bad people usually triumph and where good people suffer great losses. This series is not for people who want a "safe" story with characters riding bunny rabbits and using foam swords, but it is for people who want a story that makes them keep guessing. It's for people who want realism along with those fantasy elements we've all grown to love. If you want a book where your favorite character can die on the next page and be completely unexpected, read this series. This is truly some of the best fantasy literature ever written, don't miss it.

posted by Revolver on June 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

146 out of 197 people found this review helpful.

Sadly Disapointed

I picked up the first book in this series after watching the show on HBO. Needless to say the first book is spot on to the TV show and pretty amazing. Books 2 and 3 were still great and then I started book 4 and was lost. I started to read reviews on line and understoo...
I picked up the first book in this series after watching the show on HBO. Needless to say the first book is spot on to the TV show and pretty amazing. Books 2 and 3 were still great and then I started book 4 and was lost. I started to read reviews on line and understood that book 4 and 5 were split into 2 novels so on the day A Dance with dragons was released I had just finished A Feast For Crows and was more than ready to move on. Sadly, that never happened. I am the type of reader that will read anything and I mean anything Cereal boxes, Shampoo bottles and Junk mail just because I love to read and yet I had a difficult time focusing on this book.
There are way too many non essential characters that bring less than nothing to the story line and whole chapters that leave you feeling that you just picked up another book entirely. You find yourself reading through them hoping to get a snippet of information that will pull you back into the story only to end up with nothing. In the first the books you saw a beginning, middle and end to some of the trials that each person was experiencing even though it was not the end of that persons story. In this book you're left with the feeling that nothing they did was ever completed it just dragged on and on and on. If you're looking to answers to any question that the first 4 books raised you're going to be Highly disappointed.
This book is like season 3 or 4 of Lost. Lots of story that makes no sense. The writing is beautiful, the character and scenery descriptions are amazing but the story got lost. I am all for anything that gets people to read, but I would not recommend this series to anyone because I would hate to have them to end up disappointed.
Also B&N should remove the star ratings from any review created before the release of the book. Most the the 5 stars were giving by people who could not have read it.

posted by 2755962 on July 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 3358 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 168
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Disappointing

    I was hoping for much and more, but got little and less. Long and drawn out with tedious detail, symbolism rammed repeatedly down our throats. I am a big fan of this series, and am hoping for better next time, with a hopefully shorter wait.

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Long awaited disappointment.

    Lets start with the title. A Dance With Dragons, this book was not about the dragons, but bad, evil characters that left me with a feeling of reading a long winded horror flick, not a novel. "Run, run, your going to die!" This is a very slow plot, with way to many POV's. And whats with the dwarf fascination? The little engine that could? The only "good" character is killed off, or not, cause he didn't actually say he was dead. Probably need 250 pages to detail that plot twist. It was a very weak plot twist.

    Throughout this book, I kept getting the feeling that George RR Martin was procrastinating on writing about what I wanted to read about, which was the original characters from the first book, instead new ones were created and boring to boot, or you read about the same terrible characters that basically do the same things they did in the previous books. The original characters felt like another teaser to so you would buy his next book.

    I won't read the next book or books, I'm done reading about lies, cruel torture, cheats, incest, back stabbing, filthy evil in general. I need a long hot shower with lots and lots of soap.

    I wish I could have my time and money invested in this book series back.

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Too Little in Too Much

    I love Martin's series more than any other fantasy author, so I am coming from a very positive place. However, unlike his other books, I thought little in his 5th book moved the plot along at all. There's so much the book could have done without. So much detail, so many people, but what did it really add to the main story? I have enjoyed everyone of Martin's side tracks to date. This time, not all of them helped the reader get anywhere. I wish he could have took out chunks of this book and made it a 6 book series instead of 7. Truly, if you read book 5, you only need to read the last chapter on each character to see where book 5 gets you between 4 and 6.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    George R. R. Martin Does it again

    I have been reading the serise since the begining. It took a long time for the Book to come out, but it definately didn't disapoint. It picks up right where it left off and seamlessly continues the saga of the 7 kingdoms. What a page turner I couldn't put it down. Definatley a must have for your collection.

    10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Everybody died or was killed

    I read the books and loved them albeit I had a problem with the fact that everyone was killed, maimed, enslaved ... The plot goes from glimmer of greatness to black like a picture that has been scribbled over. I loved the huge volume of characters and they were externally active not just interior conversations. Place and scene descriptions are fabulous, climate, color, scene setting great. Towards the end of the last book I was beginning to lose interest because all the characters that had taken 4 books to develop were being murdered, slaughtered, obliterated, no hope, huge psychological changes and I was becoming convinced by the end of the next book there would be just cold snow and mud. I will probably buy it but read it with trepidation and anticipation of a fall off a cliff with no conclusion I can have peace with.

    10 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    Read Martin's 'Not a blog' for accurate release info

    Like everyone else, I'm hoping the release date is true. But GRRM hasn't said it on his site, as he promised he would do when finished. Don't hold your breath, but keep checking his site for updates. You know it's worth the wait!

    10 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    highly disappointed

    This was the worst book in the series. I wasted money buying it and wish I could have a refund. The character's stories were not compelling, except for Tyrion's. Tyrion saved this book somewhat. I would have liked to hear about Sansa and Catelyn.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    Great writer, needs an ending already

    Ugh! How long must we wait for the end to this story? Do not buy it yet!! Wait til he finishes the series if you havent readany of the books. This book was a very good one compared to the rest of the series. Please finish the series already!!!

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    The finale?

    after reading the first four books i have to read this one also, hoping it is the last. This series is not anywhere equivalent to anything written by Tolkein, I'm not sure why anyone would put that in a review, and as for the fantasy classification for this piece of work, well, there's not much fantasy here. Most of the fantasy lies in the female characters sexual response to the male characters behavior. Please Mr. Martin, most women want a lot more than just shotgun sex. This series is filled wih graphic, graphic brutality, both sexual and non sexual. against women and children. While it could be said that Mr. Martin has captured the essence of the terrifying nature of mans inhumanity that is not why I would choose to read fantasy. If you suffer from depression or PTSD you should not be reading this series. After having said all these negative things about this series one positive comment is that the characters are rich and real. You can physically hurt for them. I'm hoping for a good closure to this or else i may need to get some therapy.

    9 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    a big let down

    I couldn't wait to read this book and purchased it the day it came out. I was hoping the lives of some of the characters I had grown to love would be wrapped up in this book but that didn't happen. It left me feeling empty........I have no idea what happened to Sansa, Catelyn, Arya, Bran.............and many more characters. Is there another installment to follow? What happens to Tyrion, Cersei, Jamie...........so many questions, no answers in this book....disappointing. I am afraid that if there is another book by the time it comes out, I won't care. The other books were beautifully written but this one seems to have dropped in storylines for no reason.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    This story drags on forever

    I started reading this series this year when Game of Thrones first came out. I was hooked on books 1 through 3. By book 4 I apwas seriously fatigued at the authors inability to advance this story. Just finished book 5 which may be the most bloated book I have ever read. 1100 pages and the story barely moves forward. This is likely my last book, I don't have the energy to allow him to finish the story at the pace he moves it along.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    thanks reviewers

    thanks to the reviewers who pointed out that this author is dragging out his series. I tried to read Robert Jordan and the first couple of books were quite good.....but as the series got longer and the books got bigger and bigger, they also got ridiculous; he lost all semblance of interesting characters and story. I appreciate knowing that this is another belabored series and will not waste my time reading it. Thanks.

    8 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    Like Tolkein if Frodo had his head chopped off and Gollum won

    The first book was fascinating but the character flaws--pride and ignorance, and lack of family loyalty, of the daughter leads to death and destruction of all she loves. You know, like how in the Narnia series the White Witch leads Edmund astray, but then he gets saved by Aslan, only this book has no Aslan and the White Witch is kind of angelic compared to the humans who lead the daughter astray. Then you think, okay, the rest of the family is going to win out and this interloper will pay for the injust atrocities that have occured. But think again. This series is like Tolkein if Saul of Mordor caught Frodo and beheaded him and Sam was raped and sold into slavery and all the hobbits were killed or tortured except Gollum, and Strider, i.e. Aragorn seemed like a hope only to be gutted and thrown in a swamp with his head severed and his horses head also severed, and their heads switched. Don't be fooled into thinking the good will triumph in the end, cause they don't come close in the first 4 books. I kept getting sucked in to buying the next book, thinking the author has to make up for the bad sometime, but not so. It's ludicrous to never let the good guys win anything!!! The story sucks, though the writing is great. He could write something worth reading if he didn't seem to relish the unjust triumphing, and endurance leading to death. I could see him writing a World War II novel where Hitler wins.

    8 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    disappointing

    Horrible ending, if you could even call it a ending. It never finished telling the story. I don't know if he got tired of writing the story or thought he could come back to it. For fans sake he needs to wrap it up.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Meh...

    You can tell this book was written with an eye towards having a long running tv series. Read the first 3, which were epic, and then watch the rest of the series on HBO.

    Hopefully, GRRM smartens up and istens to his fans and gets thecseries back on track.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Two silly books in a row

    After waiting all these years for another great book, I am rewarded with more obscure characters, endless descriptions of every character's ancestors, mode of dress and shoe sizes. I am so tired of this, so here is an ending: Dany and Tyrian get together, fall deeply in love, discover nuclear energy and just blow up the whole world as they sail away with the dragons. After, of course, stopping off to burn to death a certain novelist.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Disappointing

    At 1100 pages this book has very little substance. It is wordy and could tell the same story in less than half of the final cut. For as good as the first three books are, the last two have fallen way below the mark. I had such high expectations for this book but won't be duped five years from now when the next one comes out.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Happily...

    ...I was just loaned the first 4 books 5 weeks ago (never heard of them before the HBO Series) and HAPPILY finished them all in perfect timing for the final book there has been such a wait for!
    I am not a fan of this genre typically, but was pleasantly surprised at how well written they are. The characters relly come to life and I cannot wait to see what happens now! I'm hooked.

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    First 4 books in GAME OF THRONES by George Martin

    This is the worst writing I have ever read, and I am an avid reader of books. I consumed "The Lord of the Rings" complete hardcover book in two days and it was fantastic!

    This author must be on LSD or something. He can't seem to get his characters all together and has to keep separating them by chapters. I found it very tedious reading and not really enjoyable. However, my curiousity has gotten the best of me, and I will buy the 5th book if it is ever available in paperback. Maybe Mr. Martin hasn't even finished it. I think he got a little carried away with the dragons and Danery (really sci-fi). I was looking forward to a good epic novel of knights and wars during a certain period. However, the dragon bit and the characters involved in this part are a little too much for me.

    I do want the 5th book and I hope he ends the story there. My patience is about gone and I have consumed almost a half bottle of Tylenol getting a headache from the tedious reading.

    If you haven't started on these books, my advice is DON'T.

    marilyn in Tampa, FL

    6 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Boring

    The story simply does not move.

    Jon goes on being depressing.
    Danaerys goes on being beautiful and frustrated.
    Theon miserable.

    Thus goes the story for 700 plus pages.

    Huge disappointment!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 3358 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 168