Customer Reviews for

A Dance with Dragons (A Song of Ice and Fire #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3260 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2091)

4 Star

(570)

3 Star

(275)

2 Star

(132)

1 Star

(192)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

75 out of 130 people found this review helpful.

One of the best series ever written.

I'm seriously disappointed in all the impatient people posting bad reviews. So what if he took a long time to write a book? Art takes time, folks. Be mature and be patient. George R. R. Martin has obviously spent alot of time on this book, so it's bound to be wonderful....
I'm seriously disappointed in all the impatient people posting bad reviews. So what if he took a long time to write a book? Art takes time, folks. Be mature and be patient. George R. R. Martin has obviously spent alot of time on this book, so it's bound to be wonderful. I'd rather he spent alot of time writing the book and making it as good as he can instead of rushing it and turning it into a disappointment. Martin has stated himself that he's a slow writer, so have a little compassion for the man. A writer shouldn't have to tailor to his fans, that's not how writing works. Martin is obviously taking the series in the direction he wants it to go. And why not? By writing these books for the populace, he's doing you a service. Stop complaining. Martin's work is absolutely wonderful. I'm a big fantasy fan myself, and I always have been. Martin lays out an intriguing world with grey characters and a plotline that will pull you in and not let go. This is a world where no characters are safe, a world where anything can happen. This is a world where the bad people usually triumph and where good people suffer great losses. This series is not for people who want a "safe" story with characters riding bunny rabbits and using foam swords, but it is for people who want a story that makes them keep guessing. It's for people who want realism along with those fantasy elements we've all grown to love. If you want a book where your favorite character can die on the next page and be completely unexpected, read this series. This is truly some of the best fantasy literature ever written, don't miss it.

posted by Revolver on June 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

139 out of 188 people found this review helpful.

Sadly Disapointed

I picked up the first book in this series after watching the show on HBO. Needless to say the first book is spot on to the TV show and pretty amazing. Books 2 and 3 were still great and then I started book 4 and was lost. I started to read reviews on line and understoo...
I picked up the first book in this series after watching the show on HBO. Needless to say the first book is spot on to the TV show and pretty amazing. Books 2 and 3 were still great and then I started book 4 and was lost. I started to read reviews on line and understood that book 4 and 5 were split into 2 novels so on the day A Dance with dragons was released I had just finished A Feast For Crows and was more than ready to move on. Sadly, that never happened. I am the type of reader that will read anything and I mean anything Cereal boxes, Shampoo bottles and Junk mail just because I love to read and yet I had a difficult time focusing on this book.
There are way too many non essential characters that bring less than nothing to the story line and whole chapters that leave you feeling that you just picked up another book entirely. You find yourself reading through them hoping to get a snippet of information that will pull you back into the story only to end up with nothing. In the first the books you saw a beginning, middle and end to some of the trials that each person was experiencing even though it was not the end of that persons story. In this book you're left with the feeling that nothing they did was ever completed it just dragged on and on and on. If you're looking to answers to any question that the first 4 books raised you're going to be Highly disappointed.
This book is like season 3 or 4 of Lost. Lots of story that makes no sense. The writing is beautiful, the character and scenery descriptions are amazing but the story got lost. I am all for anything that gets people to read, but I would not recommend this series to anyone because I would hate to have them to end up disappointed.
Also B&N should remove the star ratings from any review created before the release of the book. Most the the 5 stars were giving by people who could not have read it.

posted by 2755962 on July 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Huge disappointment

    First three books were amazing. Number four was decent. This one, not so much. The plot evolves at a snails pace, and the thrills are few and far between. The first 90% of most chapters is like wading through mud to reach the final 10%, which is generally pretty good. This book could have easily been trimmed down at least by half. After waiting so long for this to come out, I was hoping for so much more.

    64 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    What happened to the story line?

    I did not start reading this series until it came on HBO. I would rather read the book than watch the movie, so I started on these. Wish I had watched the show on this series. Books one and three were good but dragged myself through two and four. Hoped that GRRM would redeem himself on five, but no such luck. Glad that I did not start these books way back and have to wait the long years that many have. Book five just rambles and the story goes no where. In fact, other than a few places the story has gone somewhere off the board. Does GRRM even have a plan for his characters or the plot? If you haven't started this series yet, my advice is don't start them. Watch the HBO version and save all those thousands of pages of reading time for something more interesting and an author who gives his readers his best.

    54 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Not Recommended

    For this I waited 6 years? I am completely underwhelmed. The story did not advance beyond what could have been written in about 250 pages. Mr. Martin has sadly disappointed this fan. I think you could even skip this volume and still follow the story.
    So much of the writing seemed like filler and did not captivate the way the first three books did (I say 3, because #4 was a bit of a disappointment also). If the next one takes as long to publish, I may be one of many who lose interest.

    46 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No

    I orginally pened a lenghty review, but thought better of posting it and thought I would keep my response short.
    After waiting so many years for this book my hopes were that there would be some closure on many of the characters from the previous books. To my disdain no - just more characters for another 5 year book.

    Sorry George you lost me

    34 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    BOOOORRRRRING

    Save your time and money. Filled with uninspiring characters that do nothing to move along the now totally lost plot. It really seems like Martin just needed a pay day here.

    21 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Ugh! Waste of time

    I am sick to death of authors who simply drag a story out for no good reason. Instead of tying up loose ends in Dance with Dragons he introduced new storylines in this book. And the old questions remain unanswered. I'm done with these books. I love the world he has built, but I can't believe that reading 1000 pages failed to advance the story AT ALL.

    18 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    Still not completed

    Disappointing after such a long wait. Still not all resolved - another 5 years for the end?

    18 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    I will wait.

    Let me be brief but clear. I thought the first volume of this series was the best book of this fantasy genre I had read since Tolkien. Conversely, I found the fourth volume to be the most self absorbed, sexually uncertain, stream of conscientiousness junk I had ever read. I really came to believe that this was an author who was fulfilling a contracted mandate to produce a book he neither wanted to write nor had in any way clear in his head. I will wait until the reviews are out on this book before perhaps buying the paperback or Nook version.

    18 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    NEW READERS WARNING

    DON'T BUY IT UNTIL MARTIN STOPS TRAVELING THE WORLD AND FINISH THE STORY. YOU OR HIM MAY BE DEAD BEFORE IT HAPPENS AND BE FOREVER DOOMED AT THE ICE AND FIRE LIMBO

    17 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    waste of time

    Waited years for this and it was a waste of time.The story did not progress at all,just added more characters no body will care about.

    15 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Long awaited disappointment.

    Lets start with the title. A Dance With Dragons, this book was not about the dragons, but bad, evil characters that left me with a feeling of reading a long winded horror flick, not a novel. "Run, run, your going to die!" This is a very slow plot, with way to many POV's. And whats with the dwarf fascination? The little engine that could? The only "good" character is killed off, or not, cause he didn't actually say he was dead. Probably need 250 pages to detail that plot twist. It was a very weak plot twist.

    Throughout this book, I kept getting the feeling that George RR Martin was procrastinating on writing about what I wanted to read about, which was the original characters from the first book, instead new ones were created and boring to boot, or you read about the same terrible characters that basically do the same things they did in the previous books. The original characters felt like another teaser to so you would buy his next book.

    I won't read the next book or books, I'm done reading about lies, cruel torture, cheats, incest, back stabbing, filthy evil in general. I need a long hot shower with lots and lots of soap.

    I wish I could have my time and money invested in this book series back.

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    highly disappointed

    This was the worst book in the series. I wasted money buying it and wish I could have a refund. The character's stories were not compelling, except for Tyrion's. Tyrion saved this book somewhat. I would have liked to hear about Sansa and Catelyn.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    Great writer, needs an ending already

    Ugh! How long must we wait for the end to this story? Do not buy it yet!! Wait til he finishes the series if you havent readany of the books. This book was a very good one compared to the rest of the series. Please finish the series already!!!

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    a big let down

    I couldn't wait to read this book and purchased it the day it came out. I was hoping the lives of some of the characters I had grown to love would be wrapped up in this book but that didn't happen. It left me feeling empty........I have no idea what happened to Sansa, Catelyn, Arya, Bran.............and many more characters. Is there another installment to follow? What happens to Tyrion, Cersei, Jamie...........so many questions, no answers in this book....disappointing. I am afraid that if there is another book by the time it comes out, I won't care. The other books were beautifully written but this one seems to have dropped in storylines for no reason.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    thanks reviewers

    thanks to the reviewers who pointed out that this author is dragging out his series. I tried to read Robert Jordan and the first couple of books were quite good.....but as the series got longer and the books got bigger and bigger, they also got ridiculous; he lost all semblance of interesting characters and story. I appreciate knowing that this is another belabored series and will not waste my time reading it. Thanks.

    7 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    disappointing

    Horrible ending, if you could even call it a ending. It never finished telling the story. I don't know if he got tired of writing the story or thought he could come back to it. For fans sake he needs to wrap it up.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Meh...

    You can tell this book was written with an eye towards having a long running tv series. Read the first 3, which were epic, and then watch the rest of the series on HBO.

    Hopefully, GRRM smartens up and istens to his fans and gets thecseries back on track.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Two silly books in a row

    After waiting all these years for another great book, I am rewarded with more obscure characters, endless descriptions of every character's ancestors, mode of dress and shoe sizes. I am so tired of this, so here is an ending: Dany and Tyrian get together, fall deeply in love, discover nuclear energy and just blow up the whole world as they sail away with the dragons. After, of course, stopping off to burn to death a certain novelist.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Disappointing

    At 1100 pages this book has very little substance. It is wordy and could tell the same story in less than half of the final cut. For as good as the first three books are, the last two have fallen way below the mark. I had such high expectations for this book but won't be duped five years from now when the next one comes out.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Boring

    The story simply does not move.

    Jon goes on being depressing.
    Danaerys goes on being beautiful and frustrated.
    Theon miserable.

    Thus goes the story for 700 plus pages.

    Huge disappointment!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 192 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10