Customer Reviews for

A Dance with Dragons (A Song of Ice and Fire #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3318 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2129)

4 Star

(582)

3 Star

(280)

2 Star

(133)

1 Star

(194)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

77 out of 132 people found this review helpful.

One of the best series ever written.

I'm seriously disappointed in all the impatient people posting bad reviews. So what if he took a long time to write a book? Art takes time, folks. Be mature and be patient. George R. R. Martin has obviously spent alot of time on this book, so it's bound to be wonderful....
I'm seriously disappointed in all the impatient people posting bad reviews. So what if he took a long time to write a book? Art takes time, folks. Be mature and be patient. George R. R. Martin has obviously spent alot of time on this book, so it's bound to be wonderful. I'd rather he spent alot of time writing the book and making it as good as he can instead of rushing it and turning it into a disappointment. Martin has stated himself that he's a slow writer, so have a little compassion for the man. A writer shouldn't have to tailor to his fans, that's not how writing works. Martin is obviously taking the series in the direction he wants it to go. And why not? By writing these books for the populace, he's doing you a service. Stop complaining. Martin's work is absolutely wonderful. I'm a big fantasy fan myself, and I always have been. Martin lays out an intriguing world with grey characters and a plotline that will pull you in and not let go. This is a world where no characters are safe, a world where anything can happen. This is a world where the bad people usually triumph and where good people suffer great losses. This series is not for people who want a "safe" story with characters riding bunny rabbits and using foam swords, but it is for people who want a story that makes them keep guessing. It's for people who want realism along with those fantasy elements we've all grown to love. If you want a book where your favorite character can die on the next page and be completely unexpected, read this series. This is truly some of the best fantasy literature ever written, don't miss it.

posted by Revolver on June 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

145 out of 194 people found this review helpful.

Sadly Disapointed

I picked up the first book in this series after watching the show on HBO. Needless to say the first book is spot on to the TV show and pretty amazing. Books 2 and 3 were still great and then I started book 4 and was lost. I started to read reviews on line and understoo...
I picked up the first book in this series after watching the show on HBO. Needless to say the first book is spot on to the TV show and pretty amazing. Books 2 and 3 were still great and then I started book 4 and was lost. I started to read reviews on line and understood that book 4 and 5 were split into 2 novels so on the day A Dance with dragons was released I had just finished A Feast For Crows and was more than ready to move on. Sadly, that never happened. I am the type of reader that will read anything and I mean anything Cereal boxes, Shampoo bottles and Junk mail just because I love to read and yet I had a difficult time focusing on this book.
There are way too many non essential characters that bring less than nothing to the story line and whole chapters that leave you feeling that you just picked up another book entirely. You find yourself reading through them hoping to get a snippet of information that will pull you back into the story only to end up with nothing. In the first the books you saw a beginning, middle and end to some of the trials that each person was experiencing even though it was not the end of that persons story. In this book you're left with the feeling that nothing they did was ever completed it just dragged on and on and on. If you're looking to answers to any question that the first 4 books raised you're going to be Highly disappointed.
This book is like season 3 or 4 of Lost. Lots of story that makes no sense. The writing is beautiful, the character and scenery descriptions are amazing but the story got lost. I am all for anything that gets people to read, but I would not recommend this series to anyone because I would hate to have them to end up disappointed.
Also B&N should remove the star ratings from any review created before the release of the book. Most the the 5 stars were giving by people who could not have read it.

posted by 2755962 on July 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    Sadly Disapointed

    I picked up the first book in this series after watching the show on HBO. Needless to say the first book is spot on to the TV show and pretty amazing. Books 2 and 3 were still great and then I started book 4 and was lost. I started to read reviews on line and understood that book 4 and 5 were split into 2 novels so on the day A Dance with dragons was released I had just finished A Feast For Crows and was more than ready to move on. Sadly, that never happened. I am the type of reader that will read anything and I mean anything Cereal boxes, Shampoo bottles and Junk mail just because I love to read and yet I had a difficult time focusing on this book.
    There are way too many non essential characters that bring less than nothing to the story line and whole chapters that leave you feeling that you just picked up another book entirely. You find yourself reading through them hoping to get a snippet of information that will pull you back into the story only to end up with nothing. In the first the books you saw a beginning, middle and end to some of the trials that each person was experiencing even though it was not the end of that persons story. In this book you're left with the feeling that nothing they did was ever completed it just dragged on and on and on. If you're looking to answers to any question that the first 4 books raised you're going to be Highly disappointed.
    This book is like season 3 or 4 of Lost. Lots of story that makes no sense. The writing is beautiful, the character and scenery descriptions are amazing but the story got lost. I am all for anything that gets people to read, but I would not recommend this series to anyone because I would hate to have them to end up disappointed.
    Also B&N should remove the star ratings from any review created before the release of the book. Most the the 5 stars were giving by people who could not have read it.

    145 out of 194 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    What happened???

    Let me start by saying I am an avid reader of this Genre and believed the first 3 books of this series as 3 of the best ever; however, the books have now started to move at a snails pace (much like the WoT). Quite frankly I am disgusted with this most recent entry in the series. I am not sure any significant plot lines advanced. I am sure G.R.R's reader will remember as well as I when A Feast of Crows was published and the author stated he split the manuscript in to 2 books because it was too much for 1 novel, and lo and behold a mere 3 years later this is what we get. I can only hope enough people complain about these foot dragging authors that they will wake up and stop sacrificing the pace of a story to make a buck. I am done with this series and author. I no longer care what happens, I will now give my money to authors who care more about their readers and less about HBO's dollars (as soon as I find one, any suggestions?)

    55 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Disappointment

    There was so much talk in this book if I could sleep while reading I would of, its like the Author was so busy looking for things to make the book bigger instead of getting to the point or getting to the characters in the previous books. Waiting for this book for years was a waste and I suggest you wait for all the books to come out and read it all at once maybe then it might make a better read.

    31 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Too Little in Too Much

    I love Martin's series more than any other fantasy author, so I am coming from a very positive place. However, unlike his other books, I thought little in his 5th book moved the plot along at all. There's so much the book could have done without. So much detail, so many people, but what did it really add to the main story? I have enjoyed everyone of Martin's side tracks to date. This time, not all of them helped the reader get anywhere. I wish he could have took out chunks of this book and made it a 6 book series instead of 7. Truly, if you read book 5, you only need to read the last chapter on each character to see where book 5 gets you between 4 and 6.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    This story drags on forever

    I started reading this series this year when Game of Thrones first came out. I was hooked on books 1 through 3. By book 4 I apwas seriously fatigued at the authors inability to advance this story. Just finished book 5 which may be the most bloated book I have ever read. 1100 pages and the story barely moves forward. This is likely my last book, I don't have the energy to allow him to finish the story at the pace he moves it along.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    Like Tolkein if Frodo had his head chopped off and Gollum won

    The first book was fascinating but the character flaws--pride and ignorance, and lack of family loyalty, of the daughter leads to death and destruction of all she loves. You know, like how in the Narnia series the White Witch leads Edmund astray, but then he gets saved by Aslan, only this book has no Aslan and the White Witch is kind of angelic compared to the humans who lead the daughter astray. Then you think, okay, the rest of the family is going to win out and this interloper will pay for the injust atrocities that have occured. But think again. This series is like Tolkein if Saul of Mordor caught Frodo and beheaded him and Sam was raped and sold into slavery and all the hobbits were killed or tortured except Gollum, and Strider, i.e. Aragorn seemed like a hope only to be gutted and thrown in a swamp with his head severed and his horses head also severed, and their heads switched. Don't be fooled into thinking the good will triumph in the end, cause they don't come close in the first 4 books. I kept getting sucked in to buying the next book, thinking the author has to make up for the bad sometime, but not so. It's ludicrous to never let the good guys win anything!!! The story sucks, though the writing is great. He could write something worth reading if he didn't seem to relish the unjust triumphing, and endurance leading to death. I could see him writing a World War II novel where Hitler wins.

    7 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    People die when George gets bored or writers block.

    I do not mind that these books are not rosy, and that the good guys die. It makes for interesting reading. Howevr, when the author gets bored of some characters in later books, he just kills them. I suspect that He just couldn't figure out how to continue their stories and took the lazy route. If you haven't read any of the books, wait until the last is published. The story is great, but like so many of us you'll be left hanging waiting for the rest of the books.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    If he's ACTUALLY finished it, will it be any good?

    Been waiting so long for this thing to come out, I've decided to wait to see if he lives long enough to finish the finale. That way I won't have to invest the time it takes to reread the entire series. This author takes SO long between books, I can't see how he'll live long enough to finish.

    4 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    I loved the first 3 books the 4th book is so disjointed it is al

    I loved the first 3 books the 4th book is so disjointed it is almost seems written by some one else. I'm almost afraid to read the 5th, but I will read it. then I will review it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    VERY disappointing

    The story drags on and on at a snails pace; filled with characters and descriptions that actually take away from the story. The first three books were a fascinating orgy of vivid images and interesting subplots. This book is none of those things.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    I just finished A Dance with Dragons, and unless I'm very much m

    I just finished A Dance with Dragons, and unless I'm very much mistaken,
    the plot moved forward at the same pace as the Earth's crust. The book
    was like shooting the breeze with people you know. Nothing important
    really happens and considering that the book is almost 1000 pages there
    should have been some major plot advancements! Yes, I enjoyed the
    earlier books, (although A Feast for Crows did start the trend of lots
    of words for not much development) and I will read the next one, but I'm
    not expecting much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    borring

    the series got less interesting as it went on ... this book seemed like he was just trying to put as many words on the page as possible in order to fill some kind of quota

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Books get worse and worse

    Nothing happens in book 4 or5. This author is dragging a good trilogy into untold numbers of books for pure profit and ruining his series as a result. Wrap it up already.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    I'm done

    I don't ordinarily write reviews. I read them, but I guess I normally expect that there are enough folks out there with like opinions that there's no need for me to voice my slightly different one.

    This is a case where I'm so upset, I have to. So I have loved this series for years. I've defended it to the naysayers and complainers who don't appreciate the time in between books and the wandering plots at times (I also defend WOT, what can I say). I now find myself ready to walk away.

    Why you ask? I'm a simple person, not big on the literary aspects or the intrinsic values of blah, blah, blah. My requirements are simple. I need to be entertained and I need to care. The primary way an author does that is by creating characters that I care about and can relate to. If you don't do that, then I won't enjoy your work. This series has had many characters I've cared about and slowly but surely, they've all been killed off.

    Is it well written, complex, inventive? Yes, yes, and yes. Has the last character I gave a flip about been killed off? Almost.

    I'm sure I'll get to wait several years before having to make this decision for real, but if the next book were released tomorrow, I would not be waiting anxiously for it and it's doubtful I'd buy it without some redeeming reviews.

    At the end of the day, remember your audience. Just because you have the power to take your story where ever your artistic sense tells you it should go, doesn't mean that there won't be ramifications in your fan base. And we are the ones that ultimately pay the bills.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Dragging...

    I wonder how much more Martin can drag out the story here. I am 600 pages into this book and I have lost all interest. I do not believe that I will purchase another in this series. I can't take the plot nor the large amount of characters anymore.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    It Does Not Wrap Up Any Story Lines.

    I was under the impression (and I am not sure where I got the idea) that this book would be the last. Not so. Apparently there are at least two more books in this series. "The Winds of Winter" and "A Dream of Spring" are the rumored titles. I have loved these books for a while. I have not seen the HBO series. I was very excited about this book, even though I was slightly disappointed in "A Feast For Crows", the fourth book in the series. This book also disappointed me. I felt there was too much time put into unimportant characters and story lines. If I had it to do again, I would wait until the final book, and then read them all at that time. Because now, since I have been so disappointed in the last two books, I can't help but wonder if it will be worth waiting for the final story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Skip this one and wait until the next one comes out - if you live long enough that is.

    This was tedious, at times boring and more frustratingly, the plot went no where. I could have skipped this 1000 page book entirely and most likely not missed any thing. Is there a plot? At times it appears the author gets side tracked and then bogged down with details, details and more details. Nearly all the characters are in exactly the same place and situation as they were in the previous book. The author lost my interest at about page 500 when I realized this series has become another Robert Jordon string-it-out-forever type series. The author is at times a masterful writer. However, his obvious delight in describing horrific acts of torture and brutality gets old. After providing the reader with the initial "shock and awe" of reading such events it then becomes mundane and does not lend much to the character development. Disappointed sums it up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    pass....

    so I was excited when this book finally came out. So that being said, Im afraid that Mr Martin must be focusing on his tv show and not the story. This book is a very big let down. It basically is all over the place. Someone tell mr Martin to focus please???

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    What A Drag!

    Martin seems to have lost his focus. There are way too many POVs for this to be a coherent story. Getting through this volume was a chore. A long wait for very small reward and way too much money.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    Rating the pre-order

    Hmmn, a 20-1 did win the Kentucky Derby. It is certainly possible that THIS pre-order of book #5 may prove to bring home the dragon-charred bacon, but it's only low interest rates that have prevented booksellers from making a mint on previous pre-orders of this book.
    It is useful to remember that it was the publisher who insisted on halving the previous book, but it is Martin's fault that he chose the manner he did (only proceeding with certain characters, then adding their parts into cliff-hanger sequences) to cope with the publisher's wishes.
    That being said, i suspect the discount price on the pre-order is still inadequate to recomend it. Wait until the book actually comes out. Tho it probably will sell quite well, and get great reviews from those reviewers who do rate epic fantasy (as well as countless authors on contract with the publisher), retailers will over-order this book by such a wide margin, that it'll soon be on remainder tables.
    Moral of this story, folks? read your contracts with publishers, and allow yourself latitude.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7