Customer Reviews for

A Dance with Dragons (A Song of Ice and Fire #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3219 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2063)

4 Star

(561)

3 Star

(273)

2 Star

(131)

1 Star

(191)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

74 out of 129 people found this review helpful.

One of the best series ever written.

I'm seriously disappointed in all the impatient people posting bad reviews. So what if he took a long time to write a book? Art takes time, folks. Be mature and be patient. George R. R. Martin has obviously spent alot of time on this book, so it's bound to be wonderful....
I'm seriously disappointed in all the impatient people posting bad reviews. So what if he took a long time to write a book? Art takes time, folks. Be mature and be patient. George R. R. Martin has obviously spent alot of time on this book, so it's bound to be wonderful. I'd rather he spent alot of time writing the book and making it as good as he can instead of rushing it and turning it into a disappointment. Martin has stated himself that he's a slow writer, so have a little compassion for the man. A writer shouldn't have to tailor to his fans, that's not how writing works. Martin is obviously taking the series in the direction he wants it to go. And why not? By writing these books for the populace, he's doing you a service. Stop complaining. Martin's work is absolutely wonderful. I'm a big fantasy fan myself, and I always have been. Martin lays out an intriguing world with grey characters and a plotline that will pull you in and not let go. This is a world where no characters are safe, a world where anything can happen. This is a world where the bad people usually triumph and where good people suffer great losses. This series is not for people who want a "safe" story with characters riding bunny rabbits and using foam swords, but it is for people who want a story that makes them keep guessing. It's for people who want realism along with those fantasy elements we've all grown to love. If you want a book where your favorite character can die on the next page and be completely unexpected, read this series. This is truly some of the best fantasy literature ever written, don't miss it.

posted by Revolver on June 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

137 out of 186 people found this review helpful.

Sadly Disapointed

I picked up the first book in this series after watching the show on HBO. Needless to say the first book is spot on to the TV show and pretty amazing. Books 2 and 3 were still great and then I started book 4 and was lost. I started to read reviews on line and understoo...
I picked up the first book in this series after watching the show on HBO. Needless to say the first book is spot on to the TV show and pretty amazing. Books 2 and 3 were still great and then I started book 4 and was lost. I started to read reviews on line and understood that book 4 and 5 were split into 2 novels so on the day A Dance with dragons was released I had just finished A Feast For Crows and was more than ready to move on. Sadly, that never happened. I am the type of reader that will read anything and I mean anything Cereal boxes, Shampoo bottles and Junk mail just because I love to read and yet I had a difficult time focusing on this book.
There are way too many non essential characters that bring less than nothing to the story line and whole chapters that leave you feeling that you just picked up another book entirely. You find yourself reading through them hoping to get a snippet of information that will pull you back into the story only to end up with nothing. In the first the books you saw a beginning, middle and end to some of the trials that each person was experiencing even though it was not the end of that persons story. In this book you're left with the feeling that nothing they did was ever completed it just dragged on and on and on. If you're looking to answers to any question that the first 4 books raised you're going to be Highly disappointed.
This book is like season 3 or 4 of Lost. Lots of story that makes no sense. The writing is beautiful, the character and scenery descriptions are amazing but the story got lost. I am all for anything that gets people to read, but I would not recommend this series to anyone because I would hate to have them to end up disappointed.
Also B&N should remove the star ratings from any review created before the release of the book. Most the the 5 stars were giving by people who could not have read it.

posted by 2755962 on July 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 131 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    While I've enjoyed this series, Book 5 became confusing at times

    While I've enjoyed this series, Book 5 became confusing at times with many unnecessary characters who had little to contribute to the story line. Overall, Mr. Martin has created an enticing world -- I loved the first 3 books; however, I found this one boring and tedious most of the time. The character development of strong leadership in two main characters that was instilled in the first books leads to out-of-character choices by both protagonists which results in the murder of one of them in this book! Really?! We've got to lose another one of the few likeable characters in the story?! I was disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Confusing

    A little fragmented. Hard to follow the plethora of characters, locations, and plots.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    I AM GOING TO WRITE THE 6TH BOOK. I WILL CHANGE THE CHARACTERS

    I AM GOING TO WRITE THE 6TH BOOK. I WILL CHANGE THE CHARACTERS FROM GEORGE'S TO THE SOPRANOS. YOU WILL LOSE SOME FAVORITE CHARACTERS BUT THEIR FATE WILL COME TO A CONCLUSION. IT WILL BE ABOUT THE FIVE FAMILIES AND COMPETITION FOR THE ROLE OF THE BIG "DON". PUZO WILL BE REINCARNATED. OR DIDN'T YOU GET IT IN THE FIRST PLACE? THE DRAGONS WILL BE REPLACED BY AK47s and BAZOOKAS. WHAT A COMPLETE BUNCH OF DIMWITS.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    T

    I could not get past the first few chapters. This book drags on in places and when you finally get to a semi- exciting part with a certain character you have to wait for several chapters to get to that character's chapter again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Don't waste your money...

    Got this one at the library online after reading the Nook sample. Glad I did as the other reviews here have proven to be quite accurate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Not worth the wait.

    I started reading books because of martins book a game of thrones. I was in high school at the time and the first three books were already out. I figured he'd be done withthe series by now because i started reading his book 11 years ago. I thought a feast of crows was lame and after waiting years he finally decided to throw his fans a bone and finished a dance with dragons. Considering i waited 11 years for this book to come out i was expecting a great book. This book was almost as bad as feast. If martin wants to make us wait years for his book, he should at least make it worth it for his fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Disappointed After the First Three Books

    When I first started A Game of Thrones series I admit I was drawn in and enraptured with the story. But the books seem to have evolved into more trivial detail than pertinent information in each chapter. It makes it difficult for me to read without 'skimming' to the parts that hold my attention. My other frustration is that it seems to me central characters keeping dying off or getting killed, while all these secondary characters that contribute little in any interest to the story continue on. It's like never ending clutter. I was just disappointed, I had hoped for an improvement after a Feast for Crows but it didn't happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Disappointing

    I was hoping for some completion on the myriad plots and subplots but instead we are left hanging books four and five were lengthy but created more new issues than theysolved and we have characters hangingin limbo all over the place i am a little tired of the whole thing books 4 and5 were boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    I have never been so glad to finish a book and so disappointed.

    I have never been so glad to finish a book and so disappointed. Most the readers here have already summed up my feeling of disappointment. My husband and two daughters read this series and we all had mutual feelings about it. Books 1-3 were great, but books four and five were so tedious to get through. Everything and everyone we loved in the first few books he abandons and instead creates new characters we could care less about their story. So frustrated I wasted so much time on this series and yet I will still read book six when it comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Somewhat disappointing

    Book #3 of the series has been my favorite by far. This book (#5) just didn't "do it" for me, and I seriously doubt that I will purchase Book #6.

    Far too much time was spent "setting the scene" and, even though the book is over 1,000 pages, not enough of the story line was moved along.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    REALLY

    I loved the first thre and the fourth was ok but this is wayyyyyy to slow. It's like it could be written in just three hundred pages

    VERY dissapointing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Waste of money

    Yet another book about characters I don't care about. This book isn't any different from the fourth book which I already read. Do not waste yuor time or money on this book. It was extremely disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    A long road to no where...

    A waste of time.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    What

    This was a great series except for the last of the last book the ending was very disapointing left every thing open no true ending to anything was very dissapointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    Read if you have sufficient memory in your brain

    I am going to have to read every book in this series again for I can not remeber the major players and what they have done. By the time that I have read those and A Dance With Dragons the next will be ready for print. Perhaps the editors of this book prepare a hundred page synopsis of the series to date.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    These books are not novels

    These excruciatingly slow books are barely edited chronicles with too little movement. Martin probably has one quite fine novel in these five but refused to tame his material into a narrative arc with rising and falling action, climax, denoument and so forth. The HBO series will pat it into shape. I will not read another of these big messy stupid tales. Martin needs an editor with a strong whip hand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    A little chapped

    Why oh why didnt I listen to the 247 readers who didnt like this book? They are correct. It was as if the characters went around and around and around virtually finishing up where they started. Fifteen dollars and a thousand pages later, nothing was resolved, nothing changed. The fourth and fifth book were a waste of time, energy and money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Depressing

    Will there be any of the original characters left alive???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Why I won't be reading any more Martin

    Character development is limited to the acquisition of permanent injuries and mutilation. Plot is a wandering confusion of page-filling episodes meant to delay the predictable finale. Creativity is focussed on each chapter's own atrocity. Everyone dies but turns out later to not really be dead (or zombified). Martin's series has devolved into a pointless meat grinder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Question

    Does bran walk again

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 131 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7