Customer Reviews for

A Dance with Dragons (A Song of Ice and Fire #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3241 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2079)

4 Star

(564)

3 Star

(275)

2 Star

(131)

1 Star

(192)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

75 out of 130 people found this review helpful.

One of the best series ever written.

I'm seriously disappointed in all the impatient people posting bad reviews. So what if he took a long time to write a book? Art takes time, folks. Be mature and be patient. George R. R. Martin has obviously spent alot of time on this book, so it's bound to be wonderful....
I'm seriously disappointed in all the impatient people posting bad reviews. So what if he took a long time to write a book? Art takes time, folks. Be mature and be patient. George R. R. Martin has obviously spent alot of time on this book, so it's bound to be wonderful. I'd rather he spent alot of time writing the book and making it as good as he can instead of rushing it and turning it into a disappointment. Martin has stated himself that he's a slow writer, so have a little compassion for the man. A writer shouldn't have to tailor to his fans, that's not how writing works. Martin is obviously taking the series in the direction he wants it to go. And why not? By writing these books for the populace, he's doing you a service. Stop complaining. Martin's work is absolutely wonderful. I'm a big fantasy fan myself, and I always have been. Martin lays out an intriguing world with grey characters and a plotline that will pull you in and not let go. This is a world where no characters are safe, a world where anything can happen. This is a world where the bad people usually triumph and where good people suffer great losses. This series is not for people who want a "safe" story with characters riding bunny rabbits and using foam swords, but it is for people who want a story that makes them keep guessing. It's for people who want realism along with those fantasy elements we've all grown to love. If you want a book where your favorite character can die on the next page and be completely unexpected, read this series. This is truly some of the best fantasy literature ever written, don't miss it.

posted by Revolver on June 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

138 out of 187 people found this review helpful.

Sadly Disapointed

I picked up the first book in this series after watching the show on HBO. Needless to say the first book is spot on to the TV show and pretty amazing. Books 2 and 3 were still great and then I started book 4 and was lost. I started to read reviews on line and understoo...
I picked up the first book in this series after watching the show on HBO. Needless to say the first book is spot on to the TV show and pretty amazing. Books 2 and 3 were still great and then I started book 4 and was lost. I started to read reviews on line and understood that book 4 and 5 were split into 2 novels so on the day A Dance with dragons was released I had just finished A Feast For Crows and was more than ready to move on. Sadly, that never happened. I am the type of reader that will read anything and I mean anything Cereal boxes, Shampoo bottles and Junk mail just because I love to read and yet I had a difficult time focusing on this book.
There are way too many non essential characters that bring less than nothing to the story line and whole chapters that leave you feeling that you just picked up another book entirely. You find yourself reading through them hoping to get a snippet of information that will pull you back into the story only to end up with nothing. In the first the books you saw a beginning, middle and end to some of the trials that each person was experiencing even though it was not the end of that persons story. In this book you're left with the feeling that nothing they did was ever completed it just dragged on and on and on. If you're looking to answers to any question that the first 4 books raised you're going to be Highly disappointed.
This book is like season 3 or 4 of Lost. Lots of story that makes no sense. The writing is beautiful, the character and scenery descriptions are amazing but the story got lost. I am all for anything that gets people to read, but I would not recommend this series to anyone because I would hate to have them to end up disappointed.
Also B&N should remove the star ratings from any review created before the release of the book. Most the the 5 stars were giving by people who could not have read it.

posted by 2755962 on July 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2079 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 104
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best series ever written.

    I'm seriously disappointed in all the impatient people posting bad reviews. So what if he took a long time to write a book? Art takes time, folks. Be mature and be patient. George R. R. Martin has obviously spent alot of time on this book, so it's bound to be wonderful. I'd rather he spent alot of time writing the book and making it as good as he can instead of rushing it and turning it into a disappointment. Martin has stated himself that he's a slow writer, so have a little compassion for the man. A writer shouldn't have to tailor to his fans, that's not how writing works. Martin is obviously taking the series in the direction he wants it to go. And why not? By writing these books for the populace, he's doing you a service. Stop complaining. Martin's work is absolutely wonderful. I'm a big fantasy fan myself, and I always have been. Martin lays out an intriguing world with grey characters and a plotline that will pull you in and not let go. This is a world where no characters are safe, a world where anything can happen. This is a world where the bad people usually triumph and where good people suffer great losses. This series is not for people who want a "safe" story with characters riding bunny rabbits and using foam swords, but it is for people who want a story that makes them keep guessing. It's for people who want realism along with those fantasy elements we've all grown to love. If you want a book where your favorite character can die on the next page and be completely unexpected, read this series. This is truly some of the best fantasy literature ever written, don't miss it.

    75 out of 130 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    "Never going to be published"!!??

    All you crybabies that have been ripping on GRRM for the past several years can all go find something else to cry about now. Sure it was a long, long wait but it was worth it!! This could well be the best volume in the series so far! Tyrion and Jon have large roles and in my opinion they are the best and the strongest characters in the entire cast. Things pulled together, and even wove together, nicely from volume 4 and sets the stage for the final two books to include all the main characters in each book. I wait patiently for the next volume and if it is a few years so what! I'll read something else in the meantime and leave the crying to the usual suspects.

    31 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    George R. R. Martin Does it again

    I have been reading the serise since the begining. It took a long time for the Book to come out, but it definately didn't disapoint. It picks up right where it left off and seamlessly continues the saga of the 7 kingdoms. What a page turner I couldn't put it down. Definatley a must have for your collection.

    10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    Read Martin's 'Not a blog' for accurate release info

    Like everyone else, I'm hoping the release date is true. But GRRM hasn't said it on his site, as he promised he would do when finished. Don't hold your breath, but keep checking his site for updates. You know it's worth the wait!

    10 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended!!!!

    George R.R. Martin has done it again! Byzantine politics and plots, thrilling adventure, mystery and suspense, all found here in the fifth installment of A Song of Ice and Fire. Five books and counting, yet he still manages to leave the reader wanting more. The depth and complexity of his characters are just breathtaking. Whether rogue or hero, so often they are not what they first appear. Such a rousing good story I can even forgive him for killing off yet another of my favorite characters...or did he really? I'm keeping my fingers crossed that he somehow made it out alive and will grace the pages of The Winds of Winter when it comes out!

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    An official publication date!

    Yes we have been waiting a LONG time for this book. Yes there are two more after it that he has yet to publish. But this series will be one that people will be THRILLED to read for years and years to come. And the release date is very solidly set. The publisher would no longer guarantee us, the die-hard fans, a date without being absolutely sure that they could deliver. If you have not started the series, I would suggest stocking up on the available books, but maybe waiting til the last two are published (fwiw, he wrote this one and most of the next one together because they are two parts of the same timeline, so book 6 *should* follow relatively quickly) so you can read it all together. If you, like me, have been waiting for 5+ years for this, well now would be a great time to go back and re-read the first four to refresh your memory for this epic. That is my plan. I am certain it will be as amazing as the entire series has been so far!

    4 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Every review on here seems to be about how the novel is full of

    Every review on here seems to be about how the novel is full of "fillers".......... It isn't. Its full of information we are going to need for the next book when everything starts coming together. Its still interesting and clever, and it still gives us information we other wise would not have known. If you want too, skip it and read the next one. But how much are you willing to bet you're gonna be lost because there is key details in DWD are what will hold together the next book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Nook preorder - force refresh to download

    For some reason the Nook preorder version of this book will not download unless the book is forced to refresh. Syncing the Nook will not refresh properly. Archiving and unarchiving or logging out of your B&N account and logging back in will do the trick. Hopefully B&N will fix their technology soon. This should have unlocked automatically at midnight without jumping through such hoops. So far the book is outstanding. Well worth the wait.

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    I found this book to be amazing. I picked it up just after readi

    I found this book to be amazing. I picked it up just after reading A Feast for Crows and couldn't put it down. The first third of the book was extremely good, especially because I found I missed the characters so much after reading A Feast fo Crows. Martin does a good job of pulling you into those characters even though its been an enitre book since there was a chapter on any of the characters in the beginning. The middle third of the book was the major downfall of the book, if there is one. While I found the middle to still be good it slowed down with many of the chapters only being there so the event at the very end of the chapter could happen, which makes the book drag a bit. The last third of the book however redeemed itself. The book picks up the character from A Feast for Crows and the character exclusively in A Dance with Dragons begin to pick up again. I literally could not put the book down after I reached the last third, I read it all in one sitting, I only stopped for a few shot breaks. Overall the book is very good, the first and last thirds being some of the best things I've ever read, and the middle portion being of lesser quality that the first and last it is still very good, making for one of the best books out there.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Eat Your Heart Out

    George R R Martin has managed to rip out my soul and tear it to pieces which I didn't think was possible after the death of Ned Stark and the Red Wedding. I am now awaiting the release of The Winds of Winter on pins and needles.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!

    I just finished, "A Dance with Dragons," and I was sad to put it down. The book was definitely worth the wait and I will be waiting as patiently as possible for the next installment. Martin, is as most of his loyal readers know an exceptional author, and I can't wait to learn more about the fate of Westeros and beyond. I couldn't put the book down as my family has noticed and pointed out to me frequently since I downloaded it to my Nook. Martin's plots are so twisted and unexpected at times, that it is no wonder that it took him awhile to produce this book. I am hoping that he will be flooded with inspiration and his next book will be out soon, so I can devour that one as well.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    12:54 still waiting 7/12/11

    Want book now......

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    Right. . .

    I started reading the Fire and Ice series in April 2009-- not too long ago compared to many others. Since finishing the 4th book in the series, about a year ago, I have watched the "New Release Date" change from Sept. 2009 to Jan. 2010 to Oct. 2010 and now to Dec. 2012--Wow! Wow. I'm not holding my breath and I'm not buying the new date or the new book until the COMPLETION of the series because; the wait between releases has been torturous, who knows how far apart the next dates will be since this one has been 'almost ready' since 2007 and it seems Mr. Martin has better things to do than work on or finish this series even though he has thousands of fans who love the series and have been eagerly awaiting the next installment for years. Needless to say I still love this series- it's wonderful and completely absorbs me, heart & soul, into the world of Westeros cover to cover. I also read the two Hedge Knight stories to get back into Westeros just for a moment, no matter how brief.
    I am sadly reminded of Stephen King's Dark Tower series which I began reading at age twelve and finally devoured the outcome of at age 31. Only Fire and Ice gets deeper under my skin and I want more of those characters and that world every day. I'd hate to lay it on the shelf for 12 yrs. like I finally did with King's series. . . I do truly hope the new 'new release date' is accurate or that the book is released earlier than predicted, but I'm done trying to reserve copies in advance. I, like Mr. Martin at his website, will return to update my statements when the book(or in my case the series) is completed.

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2008

    This Book Isn't Even Written Yet

    I love the series but everyone should realized that Martin hasn't even finished this book yet. It's not being released in September. Maybe September 2009 but not 2008. Go to Martin's website and see for yourself. He's too busy going to Spain, Portugal and Denver to be writing books. I've never seen an author who is the guest of honor at more conventions while just writing 1 book of his claim to fame series every 5 years. I can't believe that I read a preview edition of a Game of Thrones back in 1993. 15 years later and the series isn't close to being finished.

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2008

    I Cant Wait!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I have been waiting soooooo long to read this last book and i just cant wait!!!! I think i might go CRAZY!!!!! I do kinda hope he has another book after it dont you???!!!!

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2008

    NEWS - FINALLY!

    Wow, I can't believe it. A real publishing date! I have awaited this book since 2005. I'm so excited!

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Great book just like the rest

    I think it was a great book and if you are really into the series you will like it. Everyone that is saying the plot is going nowhere I think its going somewhere great you just don't have the patience to wait for the next book. When all of them are out and the whole story is over this book will be a crucial part of the epic

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Amazing!!!

    I loved this book as much as all the others! I can't wait for the next one!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    I really enjoyed it. I am not even slightly disappointed. Highly

    I really enjoyed it. I am not even slightly disappointed. Highly recommend. Cannot wait for the next one. I understand why people are in such a tizzy, things did not work out as they'd hoped, I simply did not have the same problem. I thought there was some resolution, while introducing new. Don't you have to do that? To keep the story going? This book in no way deserves 1-3 stars. Even if you are disappointed with how the story turned out, it is meticulously edited and the writing is superb. If you compare this book to MOST stuff coming out lately, this book is worthy of 5 stars. MOST of the stuff I've read in the past 10 years, huge waste of my time. Most series, terrible! This series, is the rare exception. I cannot figure out what everyone is complaining about. I loved it. I plan to read it again, and I rarely read a book twice. I'm ready for 6, but I am also willing to wait for a good book. Better to wait, than have an author succumb to pressure and just hammer out garbage.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Loved it!

    I loved it, however i was left with more questions then answers! I don't see this series being wrapped up in two more books, as grrm claims!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2079 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 104