Customer Reviews for

Dance with Me

Average Rating 3.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 19 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2004

    Truly one of the best books I've read in a while...

    One of the best parts of this book was the way the author developed each of the characters. The relationship(s) between Jan and Chloe, Chloe and Mona, Jane and Dylan, etc. were all extremely real and heartwarming. I loved everything about it and would highly recommend it to others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Batman

    Did u ask ur friends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Rose

    "I really....Really.....Do not fe like being here right now."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Reenelle

    Psh. Yea. Mabe tomorrow. Todays Saturday. So of course ppl r out. N plus its spring. So its getting hotter...so they're definitley out. Sunday. More ppl are usually on. Especially night time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    I loved it!!!!!

    its my new favorite. it is romatic, sad, and a nice ending.i could not put it down. a stayed up all night reading it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2005

    Family, Love, Understanding, Sharing

    This is my first Luann Rice book to read -- and definitely not my last! Ms. Rice really draws the reader into the story, sharing the sadness or joy of the circumstance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2005

    Adoption professional reviews book

    The book, Dance With Me, has the potential to be a significant read for both birth and adoptive parents. Luanne understands the emotions both sides experience, and could be a valuable resource in the field of adoption. As an adoption professional who works with both adoptive parents and birth parents, I am especially sensitive to the way words affect these vulnerable people. The term, ¿real parent(s)¿, referring to a birth parent, is extremely offensive to adoptive parents. They see themselves as the REAL parents, as they are raising the child. (If birth parents are real, would the adoptive parents be the artificial parents?) The accepted term would be ¿birth parent(s)¿, for those mothers and fathers who gave birth to the child. The other area that struck me as hurtful was when she spoke of ¿giving away a child.¿ That expression implies the need to rid oneself of something one no longer needs. (like a worn out piece of clothing or an old car). It is much kinder to use the expressions, ¿make an adoption plan¿ or ¿to place a child for adoption.¿ In the book, the family chose to ¿grow their family through adoption.¿ Most adoptees struggle enough with feeling that they were discarded. They worry that they were ugly or that they did something wrong to cause their mothers and fathers to ¿give them away.¿ I am always looking for resources for my adoptive parents to read, books with which they can identify. I believe that Luanne has true sensitivity towards what birthparents and adoptive parents are feeling. If she can update your language, I know many social workers would highly recommend the reading of Dance With Me. I know that I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2004

    Return to a past... and a hometown...

    Author Luanne Rice is known for her writings of life and relationships. In Dance With Me, main character Jane Porter returns to her hometown of Twin Rivers, Rhode Island, to be with her sister and ill mother. Jane has been away from RI for years, escaping her past, living in New York City's Greenwich Village and founding a successful bakery business. Her motives to return aren't just for her mother and sister, but also to search out a teenager named Chloe, whom she gave up to adoption at the time of the baby's birth. Not a day has gone by that she hasn't thought of her daughter. She meets Chloe under secret circumstances, hiding the fact that she is her birth mother. Jane unexpectedly finds love with Chloe's uncle... but when she reveals that she is Chloe's birth mother, the news is not welcomed but vehemently rejected. After assisting her sister in settling mother in a much needed constant-care nursing home, Jane reluctantly returns to New York to reopen her bakery to escape the pain of Chloe's and the uncle's rejection. Does forgiveness come out of love lost, to be regained? Rice's book has a realistic premise, but soft on character development and depth of the plot lost in the repetitiveness of 'will she love me?', 'will she accept me?' 'will he understand?' If you are a reader who enjoys a no nonsense, light romantic read, then Dance With Me is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2004

    heartwarming

    I loved this book. I would love to see the author write a follow up to this story and find out more about Chloe's real father. I had tears in my eyes more then once when reading this. I pictured Chloe looking like katie in Elizabeth Berg's three books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2003

    deep contemporary family drama

    In Twin Rivers, Rhode Island, former high school Principal Margaret Porter slides in and out of senility. Her youngest daughter Sylvie takes a leave of absence from her job as the local high school librarian to care for her mom. Margaret¿s oldest daughter Jane, a successful New York baker, comes home to help, but brings with her a very sweet cake that her mom the diabetic should not eat. Though her mother seems to have forgotten the secret they shared, Jane feels guilt over the hush-hush that drove her out of town. Jane meets and befriends young Chloe, the child she gave up at birth under pressure from her own mother. The Chadwick brood adopted Chloe and love her as if she was biologically one of their own. Soon Jane and Dylan Chadwick, a former US Marshal whose wife and child died in a shootout, fall in love. However, she has the Chloe secret and he still feels guilt over what happened to his previous family making anything permanent seem impossible. <P>Fans of contemporary romantic family dramas with deep relationships will appreciate the latest Luanne Rice entry. The story line is solid due to a realistic cast struggling with interrelating with one another. The two siblings and the Chadwick crew seem so genuine while Margaret¿s condition comes across so real and adds depth as to what is best for an aging parent and for their caretaker. Though the reconciliation ending seems to easily done even if Chloe ¿named¿ herself, fans will enjoy this delightful <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 19 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1