BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dance with the Devil (Dark-Hunter Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 723 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(510)

4 Star

(137)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Very Good

    I love following all the Dark Hunters through Kenyon's books and love when they all get back together throughout the book when they need each other. The only draw back is the sex is too repetitive. Once or twice the full description is fine, after that I got the idea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    good series

    This is a good series to read. If you like Greek Mythology this might be the series for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Love this series

    Once you read the first book you will be hoked. Good vs evil plus they find love. KD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Born 2000 years ago as a bastard child of a Greek Slave and a Ro

    Born 2000 years ago as a bastard child of a Greek Slave and a Roman Senator, Zarek's own mother handed him over as an infant to a servant to receive the fate of death. Stricken with humanity, the servant took the infant to his father who also had no need for him. Zarek's father found put him in use as the noble Roman whipping boy, taking brutal punishments on behalf of his half brothers, one in particular, Valerius, blinding him in one eye after being ordered by their father to beat Zarek.




    Known throughout the Dark-Hunter realm as the psychotic and insane Zarek has spent 900 years exiled to the unforgiving Alaskan Tundra,holed up in the freezing cold and snow and well out of harms way for the most part, since Zarek lives by his own rules, and always has. Even Acheron,the lord of all Dark-Hunter's, can't seem to get through to Zarek but sees something in Zarek no one else does and spared his life which was slated to be lived out as a Shade.
    "So what are you going to do now?" he asked. "Beat him with a stick until he listens to reason."
    With Zarek's life hanging by a thread by the power's that be, Acheron calls up the Justice Nymph,Astrid, to give Zarek his final judgment. Appearing as a blind woman to Zarek, she uses her powers and stirs up a blinding blizzard to hole them up in a shack to give him, testing his insanity. Will Astrid find the humanity within Zarek Acheron claims he still clings to or will she hand him his death sentence to walk among as a Shade for the rest of eternity?




    This book was masterfully written with a very twist from the other Dark-Hunter novels. While the Dark-Hunters in the prior books are more good by nature, Zarek is a deeply tormented soul in part of the treatment he received at the hands of the people he only wanted love from. Now, he spends all his time planning revenge against his brother Valerius. Is Acheron right? Will his visit from Astrid be enough to save his soul from certain death? Find out how S. Kenyon has once again masterfully woven several characters from throughout her Dark-Hunter books to build a beautiful mini-series that just keeps going.




    *This book originally was printed in 2003, but was re-released in Hardcover edition as the author, Sherrilyn Kenyon, has reached the #1 New York Best Sellers sixteen times in the past three years. An incredible accomplish for any author. I highly recommend reading this entire series and all of the branch outs also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    To Josh

    U start;)

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Nessa to all

    Night. Ive got work in the morning. See yall when i see yall. (:

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    good

    great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2012

    This is a go-to series for me. I love how she makes your heart

    This is a go-to series for me. I love how she makes your heart bleed for the characters. I only gave it a four because discrepencies in the story line that I caught. Overall, really good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Excemment book. Wonderful writing.

    This kept me reading and not want to put the book down. As will all Sherrilyn Kenyon's books do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    a great read!

    I didn't think it was possible to root for Zarek after the previous book made him out to sort of be a bad guy. It was hard to like him in this book at first too. Once we have more information about him and Astrid comes into the picture, it is hard not to like him and want him to be happy. This book kept me guessing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another great read!

    I just started getting into the dark-hunter series and I LOVE them! This one was kind of slow paced in the beginning. Found myself skipping a couple of pages just to feel like I was getting somewhere, and it is very repetitive. Felt like the same storyline, boy meets girl, boy and girl can't be together, boy and girl find a way to be together, happy ending. However about midway through, it gets more fast paced, and funnier. I absolutely love the character Simi, and her relationship with Archeon. I also love that in each book, bits & pieces of his past are revealed. In the end, I loved this book & I loved Zarek & Astrid's relationship. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Finally...

    a book in the dark-hunter series that made me not want to put it down! I knew when Zarek was introduced that his story could be really great or really pathetic. Zarek was portrayed as a strong man who survived when anyone else would have given up and truly lost their sanity and will to live. Astrid was a strongly written character that made me believe no one else could have reached in to find the man beneath. First book in the series I can honestly recommend as a great way to do more than just pass time. Of course, can't skip the previous ones or it won't make sense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sherrilyn Kenyon does it again with the novel Dance with the Devil. I never thought I could love the Dark-Hunter Zarek with all of his lesser charms, but once again Kenyon has proven me wrong.

    I do not know how she does it, but every time I pick up a book written by Sherrilyn Kenyon, I am transported into a world that I would love to be a part of. Dance With The Devil was no exception to the rule. Although I thought that this would not be one of my favorite books, because of the character Zarek, I turned out to be wrong. In some of her previous books we see Zarek as this hateful Dark-Hunter who most of the time you just want one of the other characters to get rid of. In this book however I see a side of him that touches my heart and makes me fall in love with him. I found myself wanting to be Astrid and help him with his troubled soul. We can see why Zarek is so hateful and understand why he is the way he is by going back into his past and seeing all of the awful things that were done to him.

    Astrid also plays a big role in the book as well. I enjoyed that she was not the normal female human and rather a goddess sent to help Zarek. This gave the book more of a fun twist. The fact that she could not see him through her eyes so that she could get a better read on him through her other sences was another plot twist I also enjoyed.

    One of the things I enjoy the most is the return of other characters we have met before and the way that they always seem to be there for the others. I like how Kenyon links all the books together in the series. Of course Ashron is always there to help save the day, even if he is secrative about it.

    All in all I loved the book and can not wait to read all the other in the series. Kenyon in my book is an A+.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2008

    Book-work

    Wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2006

    All right read

    The third book in the Dark-Hunter series has some good moments and appealing secondary characters (Sundown sounds divine) BUT the formula for Ms. Kenyon's romances really bog the story. Exiled in Alaska for a very long time, Zarek is a former slave who feeds on human blood (a big no-no in the Dark-Hunter world) and he's crazy, so no one likes him. Pardon me, but if I had been beaten for most of my life and got the lower hand in everything, I'd be crazy, too. Anyway, Zarek is bad, so the goddess Artemis, head honcho of DH, wants him killed, but Acheron, the DH leader, doesn't. So he employs the help of justice nymph Astrid to pass judgement on Zarek before he gets wiped off the planet. So Astrid decides to do it... and she and Zarek fall in love. Of course, Zarek has to act tough and mean because 'that's what he is,' but Astrid feels so bad for him because of his past. This novel has some good moments and a somewhat surprise at the end, but there are millions of people to remember and the usual expectations for the book really hinder my reading pleasure. Call me a hypocrite since I still read the series, but I do it for Acheron, and I know one day Ms. Kenyon will get it right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7