Customer Reviews for

Dancing Naked in Dixie

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 35 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Posted June 2, 2012

    This was a pretty good book. I really enjoyed the southern char

    This was a pretty good book. I really enjoyed the southern charm. This author took factual bits of information from a town and turned them into an upbeat romantic comedy.

    The main character Julia, opens the book with her world being turned upside down. She arrives back home only to find that her career has taken her for a loop. Her boss is a part of her past and she isn't sure how to deal with it.

    Her jet set mediocre life gets a facelift as she travels to Eufaula, Alabama for the story that will make or break her career. There, she runs into Shug, PD, Roger and many other eclectic characters from the southern town.

    Julia can't seem to catch a break. Hilarity ensues as she gets stuck in one sticky situation after another. The whole time, she doesn't realize how involved she is becoming in the story she is writing.

    The author does a good job bringing the story to a close and tying up all the loose ends in a neat little bow. The story was organized, efficient and fun.

    The only thing missing in this story was the romance. It was there, but there wasn't that exciting build up and overwhelming follow through. The book could have expanded more in this department.

    All in all, if you are looking for a fun southern charmer, then Dancing Naked in Dixie is for you:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Down Home Dixie Delight!

    This was a really fun read. I enjoyed the writing style of Lauren Clark and the story line really gripped me. Being a southern girl myself, I really wanted to dive into a book that would make feel right at home. Lauren Clark's Dancing Naked In Dixie did just that for me and then some! With great characters, fun-filled plot line, and southern charm, Dancing Naked In Dixie is a fantastic read! Julia Sullivan, a New York-based travel writer, used to the hustle and bustle of life in the writing field, and life in New York, is asked to save her job by completing a southern based assignment. Her assignment? Taking on writing an article about The Pilgrimage, a festival of sorts, in Eufaula Alabama. This isn't your normal assignment. When Julia arrives in Alabama the fun just begins. She meets a very, um, how to put this, "different" set of people than she's used to. Now, when I say these folks are "different" I don't mean crazy different (although, so people have been known to call us southerners crazy, just cause!). I mean she meets people who listen to country music, say ya'll, drink good ol' southern sweet tea, and enjoy the fantastic charm-filled southern life. To that I can relate. We southerners really are a fun-loving bunch! But, along the way, Julia finds out that secrets can be found anywhere, including this small-town Alabama place. Not to mention that sometimes, the host can delightfully yummy! As Julia chases her story, she finds that New York Yankee-fied life isn't all it's cracked up to be. And that sometimes, Dancing Naked In Dixie is just the eye opener one needs to see that being happy in life, isn't always about hustle, bustle and fanciness. It's about being true to yourself. I definitely recommend this novel with 5 Books and hats off! I loved the southern charm that Lauren Clark wove into the story. It made me feel right home. If you are looking for a wonderful story filled with laughter, heartache, and love, then look no further than this small-town USA read. Grab ya'll some sweet tea, sit down on your back porch, and enjoy a relaxing chick-lit novel that will leave you feeling right at home in good ol' Dixie! Well done, Ms. Clark! You've gained a new fan :).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    Dancing Naked in Dixie is the type of novel to have you laughing

    Dancing Naked in Dixie is the type of novel to have you laughing on page one (I really did this, and I was on the train) and pacing that doesn't bore you, or speed past you.

    Dancing Naked in Dixie is a must read for any fans of Jennifer Weiner or Sophie Kinsella. It's a bundle of laughs. Poor Julia is a clutz, to put it mildly. She seems to attract trouble. What I loved about the story is nothing felt forced, and the narrative and scenes flowed.

    It's a light read, perfect for a long drive, a plane ride (hopefully less eventful than Julia experiences), or to cheer up a boring weekend.

    An aspect of chic lit novels are how some characters are shallow -- well I loved all the characters. All varied, and they didn't all mesh into one constant voice. Julia is clutzy, Mary Katherine is cooky and OTT (Over The Top), Shug is a nice guy, Andrew is the too-perfect-boyfriend, PD is someone you'd want to have as a sister-in-law, Ella Rae is a little sh*t of a child ... and it goes on.

    True to Chic Lit, this novel is about empowering Julia. I felt sorry for her as she grew up attached to her mum, never got to know her father, but then her mum died young. When her dad turns up as Julia's boss, I really felt like punching him because he spoke/acted a bit obnoxiously. To Lauren Clark's credit, he was always real and relatable on some level.

    Being an Australian, I rely heavily on descriptions in novels to take me to American settings. Few books interest me in this regard, because the place/town hasn't transported me there. I can proudly say, that Dancing Naked in Dixie makes me want to see Alabama, ya'll! And eat all the yummy food, and see all the historic sites, and, and, and.

    Unfortunately, though, there were some aspects that didn't quite satisfy me. One was Julia's constant knack for screwing everything up. Even when I didn't think it was possible! The storyline about the political side of things, I felt, was introduced too late, and then for a chunk it overpowered other aspects of the story, such as the love interest. Also, the ending dragged on for a little too long, with many things "explained" by the characters speaking dialogue to each other -- this felt like it was there for the reader's knowledge more so.

    Overall, this novel has relatable characters, a hilarious thread of comedy strung through the story, and never dulls in pacing.

    4 stars and recommended to ya'll (read the book to get the "insider's" joke).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    When I first saw the title “Dancing Naked in Dixie,”

    When I first saw the title “Dancing Naked in Dixie,” I knew I had to have a copy of this book for my library. After all, who doesn’t want a great book like that in their library, if for no other reason than the great conversation you can start by saying, “So I was reading this book called “Dancing Naked in Dixie…” At that time I just knew I loved the title, now I know that Lauren Clark has written a charming book that is as welcoming as the people in Eufaula, Alabama.

    The story is charming. It is about small town America where values still matter and people still leave their doors unlocked because it is safe enough to do so. The story conveys that we all need to slow down, smell the flowers, enjoy one another, and occasionally get off our roller-coaster rush of life.

    I took a little to get into the story, a chapter or so, but then the story had my total attention. Romance, scheming, quirky characters, betrayal, this story has all that and a few twists besides.

    I give this book 4 out of 5 clouds and whole-heartedly recommend it for your reading pleasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Grab an Iced Sweet Tea and Stay A While What I Loved: Being fr

    Grab an Iced Sweet Tea and Stay A While

    What I Loved:

    Being from Missouri, I enjoy the luxuries of both the busy northern lifestyle and the delicacies of the south. This book was just the perfect combination of the two, though it's funny for me to read about "culture shock" as I am well exposed to both. Julia is a character that I felt sympathy for immediately. Her situation seemed totally sucky, and I just felt bad for the poor girl. Later in the book, I came to really enjoy Julia as a person. While she starts out being the worst of New York City's clichés, she grows into a character that is more aware of others and is able to see past her own past.

    What I Didn't Like:

    Nothing to complain about here.

    My Overall Review:


    I absolutely loved the southern charm of Dancing Naked in Dixie. From descriptions of sweet tea to party dresses, I really felt as though I was there and not just reading a book in my apartment. The plot of Dancing Naked in Dixie was intriguing, and I seriously felt sorry for poor Julie on many accounts. It all works out into a really happy- if not a bit sappy- ending. And as Julia is from New York City, there's a little bit in there that a city-girl can find to love, too, if thoughts about the Deep South make them wish they could dance naked instead of exposing themselves to southern living.

    Disclaimer:

    This book was provided for me at no charge, nor was I given compensation
    of any kind for this review. This review only reflects my personal opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    Lauren Clark has done it again. I loved Stay Tuned, and was exci

    Lauren Clark has done it again. I loved Stay Tuned, and was excited when I found out she had another book out. In both of her books she's been able to truly capture the world the character is involved in.... which in turn captures the reader and pulls them along for the ride. Julia is a lovable character! I love how she has her own little quirks. Big ones too, like adjusting to ADD without medication. Little things like that make her more believable as a character. Julia's life has had some bumps in it, the most recent being the death of her mom, and there's about to be a few more.

    Julia returns in time to meet her magazines new editor. Someone she had hoped not to see, let alone work with. Her father has come out of semi-retirement to shape the magazine, and Julia's lackluster writing, up. This means no more first class trips to Hawaii, the Caribbean, or the Alps.... she's off to Alabama. Luckily the town, and the people, are not at all what Julia expects.

    In Eufaula Julia finds friendship, love, murder and intrigue... and herself. This book is a great romantic read, with enough giggles and intrigue to make the plot thicken and reader reading on! I love Lauren Clark's reading and highly recommend you pick up both books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Reviewed by Alice D. for Readers Favorite Julia Sullivan, "

    Reviewed by Alice D. for Readers Favorite

    Julia Sullivan, "Dancing Naked in Dixie’s” narrator, is a travel writer for Getaways magazine and loves her work as she travels all over the world. She has received awards for her articles, believes in what she's doing, but then she meets the new editor of Getaways, her estranged father, David Sullivan. David Sullivan says Julia's writing needs improvement and he sends her on assignment to Eufaula, Alabama to cover the local historic commission's progress. Julia is not happy with her father's attitude towards her work and says she'd rather "dance naked" than go on this assignment. But Julia armed with her bee sting medicine, heads off to Eufaula and finds its old antebellum architecture charming and handsome native son Shug Jordan quite a bit more than charming. Shug heads the Historic Chattahoochee Commission which tries to save old Southern homes in Eufaula from the wrecker's ball of construction companies hoping to build new condominiums in their place. But Shug has a beautiful girlfriend, Mary Katherine, and Julia has faithful boyfriend Andrew back in New York City. And Julia's father David has a few secrets of his very own.

    "Dancing Naked in Dixie" is an upbeat and well-written story with good dialogue to boot. The story's characters are believable as the storyline proceeds to the delightful but not quite expected conclusion. Author Lauren Clark offers a fresh and intriguing version of the traditional boy-girl romance and chick lit fans everywhere will be dancing, but not dancing naked in Dixie. The reader's guide at book's conclusion along with one of PD's recipes helps make "Dancing Naked in Dixie" a cut way above above the typical romantic novel. Readers everywhere will love this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Reviewed by Trudi LoPreto for Readers Favorite “Dancing N

    Reviewed by Trudi LoPreto for Readers Favorite

    “Dancing Naked in Dixie” is the story of Julia Sullivan. Julia is a journalist living and loving life in fast paced, exciting New York City. Julia’s writing assignments take her all over the world until one fateful, unwanted assignment sends her to the Christmas Pilgrimage in Eufaula, Alabama. She will be the guests of long-time residents Shug Jordan and his family. We feel Julia’s pain as she arrives in the slow moving “South” and she finds herself with people very different from any she knows or has ever written about. We laugh as at her first stop her windshield is broken by a tantrum-throwing four year old little girl. We scratch with her as she inadvertently walks into a nest of fire ants. We feel her pain as she is taken to the hospital for a bee sting, that causes a severe allergic reaction. We root her on as she slowly learns to appreciate the slower pace. We smile as she slowly forms special bonds with the planners of the celebration, especially Shug.

    Lauren Clark has captured the real life personalities of the hip New Yorker and the caring southern ladies and gentlemen. I became emotionally attached to each of the characters both the good people and the bad. Ms. Clark pulls you into the story and makes it very hard to put “Dancing Naked in Dixie” down. This book is a must read for all romantics, young and old. Lauren Clark has definitely been added to my list of favorite authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Author Anna del C. Dye. for Readers Favorite What a

    Reviewed by Author Anna del C. Dye. for Readers Favorite

    What a fun ride "Dancing Naked in Dixie" has been! I wondered about the name and almost didn’t pick it up. I am glad I did. If not I would have missed out on an excellent, clean tale. I really enjoy the witty and exhilarating scenes that seem to leave you without breath until you turn to the next page. It is a well-done tale, written in a very fun and fast pace. The given descriptions and history are quite complimentary to this story and are delivered nicely.

    Reporter Julia Sullivan lives a hurried life in the middle of New York. The fact that she is attention deficit doesn’t help. Her pace has doubled since her mother died two years before. Her father had left her mother after she was diagnosed with a terminal illness. Julia will never forgive him for that, nor that he packed up her mother’s apartment after she died and before Julia could look at it. Now this man has become her new boss and she is furious, especially when he sends her to a small town in Alabama. The Southern hospitality almost kills her when it takes her from one big plight to another. These range from killer bees that attack her to the manicured nails of the town’s Barbie who sets herself to keeping Julia from taking away her boyfriend. Each problem brings new people into her life and many possibilities for her news article.

    This is a very well-written story that will thrill you to the last page. You will find action, secrets, love, and more in every chapter of this tale. It is great entertainment for any reader from late teens to adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 35 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2