Customer Reviews for

Dancing Naked in Dixie

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2015

    Loved it! Can't get enough of this book. Hoping for a sequel!

    Loved it! Can't get enough of this book. Hoping for a sequel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2015

    Charmed by Dancing Naked in Dixie

    A highly enjoyable read with lots of humor, romance and small town Southern charm.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    loved it

    Having been through eufaula many times, toured the shorter mansion, I loved the book just for the great descriptions. The story line was great as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    A Must Read

    This was a great book, the kind you don't want to put down but are sorry when you have finished it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very interesting and entertaining. Very good book. finished it v

    Very interesting and entertaining. Very good book. finished it very quickly

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    Lauren Clark is a former TV anchor and journalist bringing her s

    Lauren Clark is a former TV anchor and journalist bringing her second novel, Dancing Naked in Dixie, to readers. This contemporary women’s fiction (dare I say chick lit?) is a cute novel in which her heroine undergoes every imaginable problem just to meet her own problems.

    Julia is a magazine travel writer living in fast-paced New York City. She is accustomed to traveling the globe when her editor suddenly sends her to the whopping town of Eufala, Alabama. Yep, you heard it here folks. Paris and Rome have fallen to the Deep South. Oh wait! Did I tell you who her editor is? I think you should find out on your own (yes, I’m laughing slightly wickedly).

    Upon her arrival, the problems begin. Who would think travel to a southern town would be so problematic? Well, Julia found out. She gets to experience a unique B&B, sweet tea (if you don’t drink it, you really don’t understand the requirement for the South). She meets a few colorful characters during her trip, and finds out about herself as well.

    Dancing Naked in Dixie is a read that you won’t want to miss. Enjoyment, light-hearted humor, and a little self-discovery on the way leads to a great read.

    I give this a 5 of 5, and add a “Please write more” plea to Lauren Clark

    DISCLAIMER: I purchased this book with my own funds.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Dancing Naked in Dixie is a really fun read. I was laughing out

    Dancing Naked in Dixie is a really fun read. I was laughing out loud in the first chapter! Being born and raised in Alabama this book brought so many people, places and things to me that seemed familiar, made me feel right at home. Having also lived in New York I could totally relate to how Julia felt about all those “strange” southern things. I was truly impressed with Ms. Clark’s ability to weave lots of southern charm into this book. In the end Julia realizes the hustle bustle of the big city and always being on the go is not all there is to life. After I read Stay Tuned I became a fan of Ms. Clark’s books but this one is even better. I love this book, my favorite book so far this year. Ms. Clark is great with character building and her ability to build a scene is superb. Grab a big glass of sweet tea and plop down in the porch swing and enjoy this great story!
    This book was provided to me by the author for review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Julia has just gotten home from Italy for a job assignment, hasn

    Julia has just gotten home from Italy for a job assignment, hasn't seen her boyfriend yet, and has to go meet the new editor AND meet her deadline. After nearly breaking her toe on a stack of books, she rushes to her meeting and gets a shock of a lifetime. Who she finds behind the doors of the editor's office not only sends her reeling...but sends her packing...to Eufaula, Alabama that is! What she finds there in the quaint little town changes Julia forever; the people, the homes, and the lifestyle. Yep, this is a far cry from the hustle and bustle of New York. But who she finds there is even more spectacular. And he changes her more than anything else, and it scares Julia. Will spending time in Eufaula become a dream come true or will it turn into a nightmare that sends her running back to New York?

    Dancing Naked in Dixie was a cute read that ended before I knew it. I got so immersed in the story I didn't even realize I was coming up on the ending. And I will admit that at first I got a little scared the author was going to go into a 'Lets Bash the Southern Rednecks' rant; making fun of everything us Southerners do. But it was nothing like that at all. It's actually kinda funny. But come on...who doesn't love sweet tea?

    Characters were really well written and I loved how they all grew on me. Especially Julia ...'bless her heart'...the girl is one big accident waiting to happen. What could go wrong on that trip did go wrong. The romance was sweet...but not overly abundant. In fact, it's not until the end that you really get any. Yeah a few sparks here and there, but the author saves the best for last. I did love the suspense of the storyline; letting me play detective right along with Julia, seeking out all the players to the mystery.

    Man it’s crazy how much I am drifting towards Chick Lit lately…and this one was just icing on the cake! So thank you Lauren for asking me to review your book and participate on your tour. I love your writing style and look forward to more of your work in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2015

    So good! Funny, sweet, and clean. A great read for anyone who lo

    So good! Funny, sweet, and clean. A great read for anyone who loves the Deep South. It's clear that Lauren Clark knows Alabama!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    First I would like to give a huge THANK YOU to AToMR tours for a

    First I would like to give a huge THANK YOU to AToMR tours for allowing me to be a part of this tour. This is the first book I have read by Lauren Clark and let me tell you it will NOT be the last.

    Dancing Naked in Dixie was full of humor, suspense, and romance. Julia is a travel Journalist and she goes from story to story reporting back what she can. Then one day her assignment is to report on a historical project from Eufaula Alabama. If any of you readers are familiar with the south you will enjoy this book! Lord Julia is so out of her element because she goes from the fast lane to the slowest of slow lanes when she goes to Eufaula Alabama.

    As she starts to uncover what is happening with the historical project she finds herself in a place as rare a a diamond because everyone knows you and everyone knows each others business. Julia is determined to get to the bottom of this and on her she gets a few lessons in life, love, and happiness. Yes people here seem like they are from another planet but the more time she spends with them and helps them out the more she is impressed by their no nonsense attitude and slow ways.

    This is a summer beach must read. Want a great laugh and more read this book and you will not be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Down Home Dixie Delight!

    This was a really fun read. I enjoyed the writing style of Lauren Clark and the story line really gripped me. Being a southern girl myself, I really wanted to dive into a book that would make feel right at home. Lauren Clark's Dancing Naked In Dixie did just that for me and then some! With great characters, fun-filled plot line, and southern charm, Dancing Naked In Dixie is a fantastic read! Julia Sullivan, a New York-based travel writer, used to the hustle and bustle of life in the writing field, and life in New York, is asked to save her job by completing a southern based assignment. Her assignment? Taking on writing an article about The Pilgrimage, a festival of sorts, in Eufaula Alabama. This isn't your normal assignment. When Julia arrives in Alabama the fun just begins. She meets a very, um, how to put this, "different" set of people than she's used to. Now, when I say these folks are "different" I don't mean crazy different (although, so people have been known to call us southerners crazy, just cause!). I mean she meets people who listen to country music, say ya'll, drink good ol' southern sweet tea, and enjoy the fantastic charm-filled southern life. To that I can relate. We southerners really are a fun-loving bunch! But, along the way, Julia finds out that secrets can be found anywhere, including this small-town Alabama place. Not to mention that sometimes, the host can delightfully yummy! As Julia chases her story, she finds that New York Yankee-fied life isn't all it's cracked up to be. And that sometimes, Dancing Naked In Dixie is just the eye opener one needs to see that being happy in life, isn't always about hustle, bustle and fanciness. It's about being true to yourself. I definitely recommend this novel with 5 Books and hats off! I loved the southern charm that Lauren Clark wove into the story. It made me feel right home. If you are looking for a wonderful story filled with laughter, heartache, and love, then look no further than this small-town USA read. Grab ya'll some sweet tea, sit down on your back porch, and enjoy a relaxing chick-lit novel that will leave you feeling right at home in good ol' Dixie! Well done, Ms. Clark! You've gained a new fan :).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    Lauren Clark has done it again. I loved Stay Tuned, and was exci

    Lauren Clark has done it again. I loved Stay Tuned, and was excited when I found out she had another book out. In both of her books she's been able to truly capture the world the character is involved in.... which in turn captures the reader and pulls them along for the ride. Julia is a lovable character! I love how she has her own little quirks. Big ones too, like adjusting to ADD without medication. Little things like that make her more believable as a character. Julia's life has had some bumps in it, the most recent being the death of her mom, and there's about to be a few more.

    Julia returns in time to meet her magazines new editor. Someone she had hoped not to see, let alone work with. Her father has come out of semi-retirement to shape the magazine, and Julia's lackluster writing, up. This means no more first class trips to Hawaii, the Caribbean, or the Alps.... she's off to Alabama. Luckily the town, and the people, are not at all what Julia expects.

    In Eufaula Julia finds friendship, love, murder and intrigue... and herself. This book is a great romantic read, with enough giggles and intrigue to make the plot thicken and reader reading on! I love Lauren Clark's reading and highly recommend you pick up both books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Reviewed by Alice D. for Readers Favorite Julia Sullivan, "

    Reviewed by Alice D. for Readers Favorite

    Julia Sullivan, "Dancing Naked in Dixie’s” narrator, is a travel writer for Getaways magazine and loves her work as she travels all over the world. She has received awards for her articles, believes in what she's doing, but then she meets the new editor of Getaways, her estranged father, David Sullivan. David Sullivan says Julia's writing needs improvement and he sends her on assignment to Eufaula, Alabama to cover the local historic commission's progress. Julia is not happy with her father's attitude towards her work and says she'd rather "dance naked" than go on this assignment. But Julia armed with her bee sting medicine, heads off to Eufaula and finds its old antebellum architecture charming and handsome native son Shug Jordan quite a bit more than charming. Shug heads the Historic Chattahoochee Commission which tries to save old Southern homes in Eufaula from the wrecker's ball of construction companies hoping to build new condominiums in their place. But Shug has a beautiful girlfriend, Mary Katherine, and Julia has faithful boyfriend Andrew back in New York City. And Julia's father David has a few secrets of his very own.

    "Dancing Naked in Dixie" is an upbeat and well-written story with good dialogue to boot. The story's characters are believable as the storyline proceeds to the delightful but not quite expected conclusion. Author Lauren Clark offers a fresh and intriguing version of the traditional boy-girl romance and chick lit fans everywhere will be dancing, but not dancing naked in Dixie. The reader's guide at book's conclusion along with one of PD's recipes helps make "Dancing Naked in Dixie" a cut way above above the typical romantic novel. Readers everywhere will love this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Reviewed by Trudi LoPreto for Readers Favorite “Dancing N

    Reviewed by Trudi LoPreto for Readers Favorite

    “Dancing Naked in Dixie” is the story of Julia Sullivan. Julia is a journalist living and loving life in fast paced, exciting New York City. Julia’s writing assignments take her all over the world until one fateful, unwanted assignment sends her to the Christmas Pilgrimage in Eufaula, Alabama. She will be the guests of long-time residents Shug Jordan and his family. We feel Julia’s pain as she arrives in the slow moving “South” and she finds herself with people very different from any she knows or has ever written about. We laugh as at her first stop her windshield is broken by a tantrum-throwing four year old little girl. We scratch with her as she inadvertently walks into a nest of fire ants. We feel her pain as she is taken to the hospital for a bee sting, that causes a severe allergic reaction. We root her on as she slowly learns to appreciate the slower pace. We smile as she slowly forms special bonds with the planners of the celebration, especially Shug.

    Lauren Clark has captured the real life personalities of the hip New Yorker and the caring southern ladies and gentlemen. I became emotionally attached to each of the characters both the good people and the bad. Ms. Clark pulls you into the story and makes it very hard to put “Dancing Naked in Dixie” down. This book is a must read for all romantics, young and old. Lauren Clark has definitely been added to my list of favorite authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Author Anna del C. Dye. for Readers Favorite What a

    Reviewed by Author Anna del C. Dye. for Readers Favorite

    What a fun ride "Dancing Naked in Dixie" has been! I wondered about the name and almost didn’t pick it up. I am glad I did. If not I would have missed out on an excellent, clean tale. I really enjoy the witty and exhilarating scenes that seem to leave you without breath until you turn to the next page. It is a well-done tale, written in a very fun and fast pace. The given descriptions and history are quite complimentary to this story and are delivered nicely.

    Reporter Julia Sullivan lives a hurried life in the middle of New York. The fact that she is attention deficit doesn’t help. Her pace has doubled since her mother died two years before. Her father had left her mother after she was diagnosed with a terminal illness. Julia will never forgive him for that, nor that he packed up her mother’s apartment after she died and before Julia could look at it. Now this man has become her new boss and she is furious, especially when he sends her to a small town in Alabama. The Southern hospitality almost kills her when it takes her from one big plight to another. These range from killer bees that attack her to the manicured nails of the town’s Barbie who sets herself to keeping Julia from taking away her boyfriend. Each problem brings new people into her life and many possibilities for her news article.

    This is a very well-written story that will thrill you to the last page. You will find action, secrets, love, and more in every chapter of this tale. It is great entertainment for any reader from late teens to adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1