BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dancing in the Dark (KEY News Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    An Entertaining Thriller

    For Diane Mayfield, the last few months of her life have been spent trying to keep her children, Michelle and Anthony, on an even keel. After her husband was sentenced to prison for his part in the financial upheaval of a company who cooked its books, she's been the sole parent and money-maker in a family that once had it all. Her position with KEY News as a correspondent for its Hourglass newsmagazine forces her to give up the family's vacation to the Grand Canyon and instead haul her kids and her 17-years younger sister, Emily, to the New Jersey seashore town of Ocean Grove. Her assignment? Interview Leslie Patterson, a woman who police believe 'cried wolf' about her recent disappearance. Leslie has a past that includes therapies for anorexia and harming herself physically, and the police are reluctant to take her claims seriously. Leslie states that she was abducted by an unknown attacker, and although not raped, was forced to dance with the man over a period of days before a security guard found her, bound and gagged, on the grounds of the Ocean Grove Camp Meeting Association. Orignally a religion-based commune type establishment, the Association meets every year on Ocean Grove's shore to spen the summer in their tents. But as another girl disappears, both the local police and Diane start to believe that something more sinister is at work than a trouble young woman staging her own disappearance. As Diane delves deeper and deeper into the mystery, her own family becomes a target for the disturbed individuals that are harassing the tranquility of this once calm sea-side town. Mary Jane Clark has deftly penned another entertaining thriller. Her characters are all true-to-life and believable, and will have you turning pages until you figure out the mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    Nice read but tons of typos!

    I'm currently reading this book and enjoying the story, but the number of typos in the e-book is amazing! Doesn't anyone proof these things? I am figuring out what words are supposed to be by their context in the sentence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2009

    Hard to put down

    This book had me hooked right away. As soon as I thought I had figured out who had done it, something happened and I changed my mind!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    For Diane Mayfield, the last few months of her life have been spent trying to keep her children, Michelle and Anthony, on an even keel. After her husband was sentenced to prison for his part in the financial upheaval of a company who cooked its books, she's been the sole parent and money-maker in a family that once had it all. Her position with KEY News as a correspondent for its Hourglass newsmagazine forces her to give up the family's vacation to the Grand Canyon and instead haul her kids and her 17-years younger sister, Emily, to the New Jersey seashore town of Ocean Grove. Her assignment? Interview Leslie Patterson, a woman who police believe "cried wolf" about her recent disappearance. <BR/><BR/>Leslie has a past that includes therapies for anorexia and harming herself physically, and the police are reluctant to take her claims seriously. Leslie states that she was abducted by an unknown attacker, and although not raped, was forced to dance with the man over a period of days before a security guard found her, bound and gagged, on the grounds of the Ocean Grove Camp Meeting Association. Orignally a religion-based commune type establishment, the Association meets every year on Ocean Grove's shore to spen the summer in their tents. <BR/><BR/>But as another girl disappears, both the local police and Diane start to believe that something more sinister is at work than a trouble young woman staging her own disappearance. As Diane delves deeper and deeper into the mystery, her own family becomes a target for the disturbed individuals that are harassing the tranquility of this once calm sea-side town. <BR/><BR/>Mary Jane Clark has deftly penned another entertaining thriller. Her characters are all true-to-life and believable, and will have you turning pages until you figure out the mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    Buy it!

    Great book - saw it at the bargain price and glad I took a chance! I will leave the plot summary to the reviewers for you to read-but shame on one of the comments that gives away the ending....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2005

    totally unrealistic

    This was an okay read, but I found that the protagonist Leslie as the kidnapper was very hard to believe. Not as suspenseful as I thought it would be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2005

    Loved it!

    I picked up this book by accident but decided to read it anyways. Boy am I glad I did! Fantastic read!! This was the first time I had read a book by this author and was truly impressed by the writing that I went out and picked up 2 more of her books today to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2005

    A Perfectly Conceived Thriller

    Investigative reporter Diane Mayfield is sent to ¿God¿s Square Mile,¿ the New Jersey shore town of Ocean Grove whose boardwalk ends where the more famous Asbury Park¿s begins. Filming interviews for KEY News¿ 60-Minutes-like magazine show, Hourglass, Diane¿s been sent to shine a spotlight on a young woman who reports having been abducted and held against her will for three gruesome days, her kidnapper having blindfolded, gagged and bound her, and fiendishly and silently having danced with her throughout her captivity. No one in this quaint town wants to believe her -- preferring instead to think she¿s one of those ¿Girls Who Cry Wolf,¿ a phenomenon getting more and more common on the front pages of America¿s daily newspapers. When other victims turn up, and dead, authorities -- and the media -- begin believing the young woman¿s story. But is it too late? With her kids in tow, Diane tries to unmask the killer, but not before she and her family become the next targets. There¿s no dearth of suspects, and every one of them is utterly believable. The last 50 pages present a harrowing race to a finish which is as shocking as it is satisfying. The story is so convincingly written, I didn¿t want it to end -- except, perhaps, to ease the creepy anxiety that Mary Jane Clark creates so effortlessly in this can¿t-put-it-down thriller. I¿ll never feel completely safe at the Jersey shore again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2005

    Brilliant book!

    I've been a fan of Mary Jane Clark since the first time I picked up one of her books. This one though has to be my favorite so far. Her accurate description of Ocean Grove and the shore area, combined with her skill at creating a suspenseful whodunit, gives the reader a book you can't put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Teriffic suspense thriller

    After her husband was jailed for committing a white collar crime Diane Mayfield, an on air news correspondent who works for Keys Network, is the sole breadwinner for her family. They are all looking forward to a vacation at the Grand Canyon when Diane¿s boss assigns her a story in Ocean Grove, NJ. Leslie Patterson disappeared for three days and when she was found nobody believed that the young woman was really abducted. The town feels she staged the whole thing to get attention. Diane is supposed to interview her but when she and her crew arrive a second young woman is also abducted. This time when she is found she is dead because she choked on her own vomit. A former mental patient is arrested and the person who took the second woman never meant for her to die or for anyone to be accused of the murder. A third woman is abducted and Diane¿s son is in the place where the kidnapper brings the unconscious woman. Diane races against time to rescues her son before another life is snuffed out. --- The logic of the kidnapper to shape her abduction to prove that the mental patient is innocent is a great plot device to bring about a dramatic confrontation between the criminal and the reporter. Mary Jane Clark writes a fantastic who-done-it filled with characters who could have committed the crimes because they act in a suspicious manner. There is plenty of action and lots of false leads so that readers won¿t guess who the real perpetrator is. When the audience discovers that person¿s identity, they will truly be shocked. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1