Customer Reviews for

Dancing on Broken Glass

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Anonymous

    If I could give this book more stars, I would! I absolutely loved it! A wonderful story beautifully written. It's not very often a book like this comes along, but I'm glad it did. I'm also glad that that the author is working on another book. I'm already looking forward to reading her next story. Also, not one time did I have to skip over the F word. Proof that you don't need dirty language in a story. Read this one. You will not be disappointed!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    Lucy and Mickey both have bad genes--in Lucy's family runs breas

    Lucy and Mickey both have bad genes--in Lucy's family runs breast cancer and Mickey has Bipolar Disorder. So beside all the other rules they have in their marriage, they decided not to have children and Lucy was sterilized. What a surprise to find out after 11 years of marriage that Lucy was pregnant! A pregnancy with complications, but the choices that were made were admirable.

    Ka Hancock beautifully writes Lucy and Mickey's story from the time they met, their wedding, Lucy's first battle with cancer, Mickey's battle with his mental illness. Both characters are so easy to love--and never to forget. I really felt for Mickey. He really wanted to be a good man and husband and then seeing him battle his demons broke my heart at times. I felt respect for Lucy that she was not afraid to love Mickey.

    I had the privilege to read this book a couple of months before it was published, but I still haven't forgotten Lucy and Mickey. I read many books and forget most of what I read, but this story has left a lasting impression.
    This is an author to watch!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Good Read!

    Could not put it down! Felt so realistic & like you were right there with the characters! Had me at the very first page!
    Could see this becoming an very good movie, too!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Emotionally devistating

    By far the most wonderful book I have ever read. I cried thru the entire last 100 pages. In fact, I couldn't read it in public because I couldn't keep it together! perfection

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have to say I loved this book and it was bitter sweet ending b

    I have to say I loved this book and it was bitter sweet ending but I could never get enough of the book... It was sad and happy... LOVED IT.. I would recommend it to anyone who loves a good read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    This is one of the most intruiging books I have read. I never w

    This is one of the most intruiging books I have read. I never wanted to put it down. It shows what real love is. That it is not just a warm, fuzzy feeling but a choice and committment. If I could give it ten stars I most certainly would. I pray she graces us with more wonderful stories.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Wow

    I really enjoyed this book really tugged on all of my heartstrings

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Loved this book

    This is by far one of the best books i have read in ages. It makes you step back and think of what it is to truly love. Read it ...you won't be sorry. You wont want it to end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    True love at its finest. I loved the realness of this book, love

    True love at its finest.
    I loved the realness of this book, love is not perfect. This story showed the many unfair obstacles that life sometimes puts in our paths and how two strong individuals fought through them for the love of one another. This book will bring tears to your eyes as well as many smiles. This is one book you will not regret reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    HIghly recommend

    I found this book to be a most compelling read. The character development by this first time author was simply amazing. The story was poignant, moving, and completely unforgettable. An absolute MUST read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    Highly recommend! A must read!

    Such a wonderful love story. Took a few chapters to really get interested and fully develop the characters. I cried so much my eyes hurt for two days.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    One word describes this book . Wonderful!

    This is such a well written book .
    The emotions it evokes are limitless .
    The characters are wonderful,and although I have been married to a man with a bi-polar disorder Dancing On Broken Glass gave me so much insight as to what he goes through .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    What a wonderful book! It is so well written. I highly recomme

    What a wonderful book! It is so well written. I highly recommend this book to everyone. I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    This story was amazing , couldn't put it down.

    You might think the love story of a bipolar man and a woman with a history of cancer would be depressing and morbid. NOT. The author makes these characters so real and believable. I loved them with all their issues. Reading this book made me a better person and enriched my faith in love and the afterlife.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Loved it

    This book moved me like no other has in a long time. I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    Beautiful. Absolutely stunning!

    I consider myself an extensive reader, and it is rare that a book comes along that is so significant and powerful as Dancing on Broken Glass. This book kept me captivated on every single page. It is artfully written with truly memorable characters and an absolutely heartbreaking but beautiful story. I fell in love with Brinley and wanted to move right in! I felt true compassion for Lucy and Mickey--I wish I could meet them in real life! I loved that this book made me look inward and examine my own life, ideals, and priorities. It is a truly talented author that can do that, and I look forward to much more from Ka Hancock!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    Loved it

    Loved the characters, loved the story...cried like a baby......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    Great Book

    Beautifully written story about unconditional love,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Don't sweat the small stuff...

    First of all you will need to read this book with a box of Kleenex handy, most nights my husband would have a look of worry on his face wondering if he did anything wrong. This novel, really gave us some late night discussions and though this book is fiction you still wonder what if this was happening to me? What would I do?

    The reader is introduced to a wonderful couple Lucy and Mickey who turns out not to be the usual couple. They both come from backgrounds filled faulty genes. Enough so that they both have a contract to prove it. You wonder why they even decided to spend their lives together. The two of them have such an admiration and love for each other that you don't know what would happen if the other one wasn't around. Life happens even when you have it planned out, just sometimes not the way you expect. This novel is about life's decisions and how you coupe with them. It really makes you stop and take a look around and enjoy the small things in life and don't stress over the things you have no control over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    This book could receive 10 stars! It was that amazing! It was wr

    This book could receive 10 stars! It was that amazing! It was written so beautifully as you were engulfed in Lucy's life growing up and her peaceful encounters with death who have taken her parents. It is beautiful how broken Mickey Chandler is and the chance that Lucy wants him to take on her. Their marriage is a creation of promises and trust between Mickey's condition, and Lucy's tolerance. It is a fantastic book with many twists and turns that keeps you hooked the entire time.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2