BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dancing on the Edge of the Roof

Average Rating 5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Callie to v

    What was the name of the first book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Sad girl

    Im all alone in this world and i dont have a bf to hug in tough moments like this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Jade

    Lmao wyd?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Elise

    Awe

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Joel

    Goodmorning*hugs both...sowwy gtg bbl ttyl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    NEW PARTY

    At geavanna. All res. Its gonna be awesome. Just use your imagination and add whatever you want to my party. ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Love It!!!!

    This was my second time reading this book. I have read all four of her books and love them all. This is a feel good and relax in bed type book. Makes me want to go on my own adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Very good bedtime read

    This book is written in such a way as to make you want to read and learn more bout all of the characters. Very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2010

    Very Fun Read for a Lazy Afternoon

    I downloaded this e-book weeks ago to my Nook, but I am so glad that I waited until this past weekend to actually read it. A dark, rainy Sunday afternoon curled up in pillows and quilts was the ideal way to enjoy this short, fun book (167 pages).

    Don't choose this book if you're looking for something profound from the best sellers' lists, but this book is definitely above the norm of the mass market paperback market. Regardless of your race, middle age women (and maybe men) can all relate here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Running Away

    Juanita, a mother and grandmother, has worked hard providing for her family, while neglecting to have a life of her own. Everyday she does the same old thing. When Mrs. Berman, a patient at the hospital where Juanita works, passes away. While helping her daughter pack her things, Juanita comes across some books. Instead of throwing the books out, she takes the books home and begins reading them. All of a sudden, Juanita has a new attitude.

    Juanita leaves her job, her grown spoiled children, takes the few pennies she had and decided to travel. She winds up in Paper Moon, Montana, a small town with people who seemingly welcome her right in. Jesse Gardiner, the owner of the diner, is the most helpful in Juanita's journey of self discovery.

    I picked up "Dancing on the Edge of the Roof" and was able to finish it in one sitting. It's an inspiring read that challenges you to try something different. I highly recommend it!!!!!!

    Reviewed by: Carmen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2006

    I don't what's wrong with Kirkus

    I read this book in 6 hours!! Started on the subway home from work and finished in time for bed. I was transported into Juanita's world. It's a great story for those of us needing a push to do something different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Teriffic second chance at life

    In Columbus, Ohio forty-two years old African-American Juanita Lewis is disappointed with her two sons and daughter. Rashawn is a drug dealer; Randy is doing time; and Bertie does the clubs ignoring her baby. To flee from her belief that she failed at parenting 101, Juanita escapes into romance novels where she fantasizes of a different life for her and her family, and when she is honest with herself, just her.--- Unable to cope with the latest disenchantment and encouraged by her novels, Juanita quits her nurses aide job and takes a bus to escape from her dismal home life. The name sounds romantic and her bus companion mentioned it, so she gets off in Paper Moon, Montana. At the local diner Juanita defeats owner Jess Gardiner in a cook off by providing a simple menu rather than his upper crust bill of fare for the patrons. Soon everyone wants to eat at the diner. Juanita enjoys rustication even conversing with her landlady¿s cats. Jess begins courting her and they fall in love.--- DANCING ON THE EDGE OF THE ROOF is a fantastic contemporary romance with an insightful family drama that actually comes alive though the perceptions of the heroine. Though the metamorphosis of Juanita from nurturing care-taker to strong ¿I am woman¿ seems impossible yet Sheila Williams makes it believable as if Juanita ¿snapped¿ in a positive way as she realizes that there is got to be more to life than this and decides to find it. The story line is amusing with its serious message to respect yourself while the J duet fuss, fight, and fall in love within this fine second chance at life.--- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2003

    The Best Damn Novel I Read In A Long TIME

    This is a book I read in three days sharp. The story of Juanita and her journey for self discovery and different scenery is a story any person who feels trap can relate to. Sheila Williams wrote a compelling novel and created a character that is as memorable as any other person I have read in previous books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2003

    LOVED IT!!!!!!

    Juanita was a quirky single mother who was tired of her life and decided to run away. She ran away to Paper Moon, Montana. Of all places in the country...world even...to go. We got to see barely literate Juanita develop into an exquisite writer while she managed to fall in love. Her falling in love was just a surprise to her and a lucky surprise to me as well. She has difficulty finding the right words to describe her bland gray surroundings of Ohio, but her descriptions broaden as she adventures to Montana. This book was an excellent read! I couldn't put it down. Juanita reminded me of my mother, grandmothers, aunts, cousins....all of us surreal Black women...justa livin'. I appreciate Sheila weaving a light hearted tale with other interesting supporting characters. The writing was superb! Thank you! I'm recommending this book to my English Professor at Miles College, in Alabama. Thank you again and I can't wait for your next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1