Customer Reviews for

Dandelion Fire (100 Cupboards Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 131 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Allison Fraclose for TeensReadToo.com

Only a couple of weeks have passed since Henry York and his cousin, Henrietta, had their adventure in the mysterious cupboards adorning the wall of Henry's attic room.

Since he'd come to live with his aunt, uncle, and cousins in Kansas, Henry discovered the hidden wa...
Only a couple of weeks have passed since Henry York and his cousin, Henrietta, had their adventure in the mysterious cupboards adorning the wall of Henry's attic room.

Since he'd come to live with his aunt, uncle, and cousins in Kansas, Henry discovered the hidden wall of cupboards accidentally, and learned that each one leads to a different time and place. Built by their grandfather, who listed the combinations to the different worlds in his journal, the cupboards can only be traveled through via the large cupboard in Grandfather's room, which had been locked tight until the battle with the witch of Endor.

Henry's aunt and uncle receive a letter from his parent's lawyer saying that Henry must return to Boston in two weeks. Henry can't stand the thought of going back, especially now that he might have more of a history in one of the cupboard worlds than he'd ever imagined, and he grows desperate to escape through the door to Badon Hill, which calls to him in his dreams.

Henrietta, who'd stolen the key to Grandfather's bedroom so that she could explore the cupboards on her own, finally relents, and she and Henry go behind the barn to retrieve the key. While Henry keeps watch in the growing storm and Henrietta digs, he spots a curious dandelion that appears to glow. Reaching for it, Henry sees a flash of light and is knocked unconscious, with only a dandelion shaped burn on his hand to indicate what happened.

After a stranger visits him in his dreams, and he awakens blind, Henry knows that he must escape into the cupboards to find a better explanation of what's happening to him. Unfortunately, less compassionate forces are already interested in his growing abilities...

I must admit that I liked this book much better than its forerunner, 100 CUPBOARDS, if only for the fact that I felt much more involved with the characters and that we find out more about the history of the cupboards. Everything comes together in this volume, and, taken as a whole, this original concept makes for an interesting, action-filled story that will keep horror and fantasy lovers on their toes.

posted by TeensReadToo on May 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

SUCKS EGGS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

NO ONE I REPEAT NO ONE SHOULD READ THIS GOSH AWEFUL BOOK! IT IS A TERRIBLE BOOK! I PERSONALLY LOVED ONE HUNDERED CUPBOARDS, BUT THAT WAS A DISGRACE TO THE THREE BOOKS! SO NOW I AM NOT SURE IF I SHOULD EVEN READ THE CHESTNUT KING! IF YOU THINK MY OVERVIEW WAS AGREEABLE T...
NO ONE I REPEAT NO ONE SHOULD READ THIS GOSH AWEFUL BOOK! IT IS A TERRIBLE BOOK! I PERSONALLY LOVED ONE HUNDERED CUPBOARDS, BUT THAT WAS A DISGRACE TO THE THREE BOOKS! SO NOW I AM NOT SURE IF I SHOULD EVEN READ THE CHESTNUT KING! IF YOU THINK MY OVERVIEW WAS AGREEABLE THAN WRITE I AGREE WITH FLOUR01! I HPOE SOME PEOPLE HAVE ENOUGH COMMON SENSE TO UNDERSTAND THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN A GOOD BOOK AND A BAD BOOK!

posted by Cheekey on March 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Allison Fraclose for TeensReadToo.com

    Only a couple of weeks have passed since Henry York and his cousin, Henrietta, had their adventure in the mysterious cupboards adorning the wall of Henry's attic room.

    Since he'd come to live with his aunt, uncle, and cousins in Kansas, Henry discovered the hidden wall of cupboards accidentally, and learned that each one leads to a different time and place. Built by their grandfather, who listed the combinations to the different worlds in his journal, the cupboards can only be traveled through via the large cupboard in Grandfather's room, which had been locked tight until the battle with the witch of Endor.

    Henry's aunt and uncle receive a letter from his parent's lawyer saying that Henry must return to Boston in two weeks. Henry can't stand the thought of going back, especially now that he might have more of a history in one of the cupboard worlds than he'd ever imagined, and he grows desperate to escape through the door to Badon Hill, which calls to him in his dreams.

    Henrietta, who'd stolen the key to Grandfather's bedroom so that she could explore the cupboards on her own, finally relents, and she and Henry go behind the barn to retrieve the key. While Henry keeps watch in the growing storm and Henrietta digs, he spots a curious dandelion that appears to glow. Reaching for it, Henry sees a flash of light and is knocked unconscious, with only a dandelion shaped burn on his hand to indicate what happened.

    After a stranger visits him in his dreams, and he awakens blind, Henry knows that he must escape into the cupboards to find a better explanation of what's happening to him. Unfortunately, less compassionate forces are already interested in his growing abilities...

    I must admit that I liked this book much better than its forerunner, 100 CUPBOARDS, if only for the fact that I felt much more involved with the characters and that we find out more about the history of the cupboards. Everything comes together in this volume, and, taken as a whole, this original concept makes for an interesting, action-filled story that will keep horror and fantasy lovers on their toes.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Outrageously Creative

    Just like the prequel to this book,"100 Cupboards", it is obvious that N.D.Wilson has worked another miracle. He has used the same amazing techniques that so entranced me when I read "100 Cupboards" in this work of art. Keep writing!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    This is my favorite book.

    I like action packed books,and this is one of them

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Read the book!!!!!

    Flourd01yu are so wrong about it because it is a good book and it doesn't suck eggs like you do so maybe you should stop telling everbody it's a bad series because then they won't read the books now i am here to telll everyon that FLOURD01 is wrong about this book read it BIGG TIME!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    LOVE IT

    I LOVE THE SERIES AND LOVE IT EVEMN MORE BECAUSE ITS FOR ALL AGES. Selina IRwin 12

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Henry Sleeps Next To 99 Portals...

    Henry York sleeps next to 99 otherworldly portals in his aunt and uncle's attic. He owns his own pocket-knife, plays baseball, defeated an evil sorceress and--to top it all off--doesn't have to sleep with a therapeutic bear anymore. So he's disappointed when his adoptive and overly protective parents are rescued from their abductees in South America and send for his return.

    But that was before a certain dandelion messed everything up and the whole world disappears.

    N. D. Wilson is pretty much the most talented author writing Christian YA fiction nowadays. His characters are complex, his wit is hilarious and his world creating abilities are incredible. This is one of those books you'll like more and more with every reread.

    www.hornspoonreviews.webs.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Dandelion Fire

    I loved this book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Really good!!

    This book is great kinda boring in the middle but just get past it and its amazing!! How is the third?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    THE BOOK IS GREAT

    It is good so far

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    SUCHAN AWESOME BOOK

    I love love love loved the free sample. I just wish the book cost less!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Loving it

    Im in the middle of reading this book and its amazing its well written i love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Warriorkits tail: part one

    Warriorkit covered her ears from the screaming and crying of her clan. Victoryclan was attacking. In a corner of the nursery currled up in a ball were her brothers. "Wheres mother warriorkit?" Leafkit, her brother screamed. "She is helping the clan leafkit. Guys everything will be alr........."
    Suddnly a big cat came into the nursery. "Well well.......what do we have here? Rats? Hahahaha" The big shecat said. "You guys are such............" she was cut of by warriorkits dad.....leader of greatclan. " Stop....... stop now deathtail." He said "ahhhhhhh nightstar. What a suprise. Nice to see you............" then the kits mother hollytail ran in and pounced onto deathtail. "Take the kits into the forest nightstar. Hurry!!!!" Said hollytail. So deathtail ran into the forest with three kits in his mouth. He set them down in a tree trunk. "Stay here. Im so sorry."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful! Wonderful!

    I am certainly not young but I loved it anyway and plan on getting the whole series for any kids I know (young or old) that will like it also. It was totally unexpected after the first, which I liked, and the third was even better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Is this book good?

    I have read the first book "100cupboards" and i can't wait to get this book on my NOOK SIMPLE TOUCH im 12 and i have discovered that this series is for all ages! i cant wait to read ths i luved the first one and i hope that like the rest of this series this is a MUST READ SERISE!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Amazing

    ¿¿¿€¿^_=[

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!?

    I love this series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Best

    I

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Fun!

    I had a great time reading this book and the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Amazing

    A book you will never want to put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Awesome book and series

    This book is great full of mystery and suspence, so is the series of 100 cupboards

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4