Customer Reviews for

Dandelion Summer

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    highly recommended..great adventure

    DANDELION SUMMER By Lisa Wingate Epiphany (e.piph.a.ny /i'pif?ne/ Noun)- a sudden intuitive leap of understanding. An epiphany takes place in the spirit of Dandelion Summer. Two people coming from two entirely different places of life, from two different directions, intersect in this story where pasts are brought together. Epiphany, a fatherless teenager has learned from an uncaring mother what it means to be unwanted and branded unworthy by society. J. Norman Alvord, recently widowed, once placed great value upon his work as part of the team that sent rockets to the moon. Now he finds himself aging and a burden as his daughter reluctantly takes over his care. When the daughter, Deborah hired Epiphany to cook for Norman in the afternoons, she has no idea the explosion of discovery that has been set in place. Epiphany and J. Norman find themselves drawn to each other as reluctant allies and co-conspirators. Each has a past with no answers and family mysteries to solve. J. Norm is haunted by dreams of a past has been erased from his mind. Epiphany helps him to find the pieces, and soon they are off on a trip that will astonish you and have you laughing and gasping at once. They make a delightful investigative team as they search for answers for J. Norm. They become not only become friends but family, each a drink of water for the other's thirsty soul. J. Norm and Epiphany will leave you crying with joy. While most hearts will mend in this story, some won't. The end leaves you wanting more of this awesome team as each find the pieces of their puzzles falling into place. You will melt as past becomes present and future. Take the journey with Epiphany and J. Norm, you won't be disappointed!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Wingate Wonderful

    This now my favorite book from my favorite author!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    Highly Recommended, Motivational, Inspirational!

    "Dandelion Summer" by Lisa Wingate is an extraordinarily moving and inspirational book. To those who followed early launches from Cape Canaveral during America's unmanned and manned moon missions, her book brings back many exciting memories. Memories like the Surveyor Spacecraft was launched to the moon on Memorial Day 1966. The Spacecraft successfully soft-landed and transmitted back thousands of pictures. The first American Spacecraft to do so.

    One of the characters in the book, Norman, a retired engineer had worked for Hughes on the Surveyor Project. Norman has just about given up. He lives alone and has heart problems. His daughter hires a young girl, Epiphany, to fix Norman's meals and help with the house work. He doesn't want anyone else in his house and devises ways to get her to leave. She needs the money and is as tenacious as Norman, so she stays.

    Over time they work together to try to solve Norman's mystery. He relates many of his experiences at Cape Canaveral to Epiphany.

    Dandelion Summer has many inspirational messages: "We were young then, certain of our own importance. Convinced that our presence in the world, that our work, was destined to change it."
    "So much of life can pass without a thought of where the journey might end."

    The book also gives the reader an update on Dell Jordan, the young girl from Tending Roses.

    The Conversation Guide in the back of the book is filled with helpful information on America's early Cape Canaveral launches including the Surveyor Program. Additionally really good suggestions for building positive relationships between fathers and daughters are also included.

    Dandelion Summer trips many memories and let's us relive some remarkable moments in America's early space exploration.

    The first two chapters of Dandelion Summer can be found on Lisa Wingate's website.

    Dandelion Summer is a remarkable and exciting book. It is off the charts! In my opinion, it is a best seller and will be an extraordinary movie! I highly recommend Dandelion Summer!

    Please note: Dandelion Summer is special for me. I worked for Hughes Aircraft on the Surveyor Project both in California and Cape Canaveral. I was there on Memorial Day 1966 when Surveyor was launched to the moon. Some of my Cape experiences are in Dandelion Summer. My thanks to Lisa Wingate for writing this wonderful book!

    Ed

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Wonderful

    Wonderful

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Terrific

    Can't wait to read more from Lisa Wingate.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    I normally do not write reviews. But I can't say enough great a

    I normally do not write reviews. But I can't say enough great about this book. I did not want it to end. I wanted to go on reading about these wonderful people. Simply a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    When I first opened Dandelion Summer, I wasn't quite sure what t

    When I first opened Dandelion Summer, I wasn't quite sure what to think. An old white guy and a young "toffee-colored" girl (as she calls herself). What could they possibly have in common? Wow, was I in for a surprise. The characters in this book are so real, so stubborn, and ultimately, so willing to grow, it is a blessing to watch the story unfold. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    The best book I have EVER read

    I read a lot, and I've never read anything like this. I don't know why this book isn't a movie yet. It's that good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    incredible book! I don't know when I've read something so touch

    incredible book! I don't know when I've read something so touching and so well written. If you haven't read Lisa Wingate, you should!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    classic Wingate, never disappoints

    Wingate's continues to weave intricate stories, with twists and turns and always a connection to her previous books (although all her writings are great stand-alone novels). Love the inter-generational/inter-racial aspect of this book...as well as the wealth of history about the US space program which the aging main character was involved in. As always, Wingate's characters find life-change in their experiences...completely inspiring as well as interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    Awesome, fabulous, wonderful. You have to read this.

    Without exception, this is the BEST book I have read since Tending Roses. J. Norm kept reminding me of On Golden Pond in some ways. I loved the charming friendship between him and Epie, who he started out to scare off. I hope to see this in a movie. Wingate is a fantastic writer and I've now read all of her books. You'll want to, too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    Awe-inspiring

    I have all of Lisa Wingate's books, most of which I've read. Dandelion Summer is by far her best. I related so well to the character Epiphany. It brought back so many memories, feelings, and tears from my youth. I was so intrigued by the way she described herself as a dandelion, not necessarily as bad, but as a strength. As a young unwanted misplaced adolescent, Epiphany finds a friend in an elderly gentleman, J. Norm. If only all fatherless girls had a J.Norm to enlighten them in how young ladies should command respect from young men. I cried so many times while reading this book. The letter that J. Norm wrote to his daughter is the something every father should want to say. It's definitely something every daughter deserves to hear. That letter is a pivotal moment in this story. It pulled at my heartstrings. I didn't want his story to end so soon, but I feel there will be more of Epiphany, or at least I am hoping... I have given all Lisa Wingate's books 4 or 5 star ratings, but this deserves 10.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Fabulous read. Hope to see this in a movie!

    Dandelion Summer is a thoroughly enjoyable read. I finished it a couple of days ago almost in one sitting! (I had to take a break and sleep a few hours.) Lisa Wingate's characters are so real to me that they keep popping into my mind like relatives I don't see every day. I wonder what feisty j. Norman is doing? And are he and Deborah doing something special for the 4th of July? I bet J. Norm would like some chicken and low fat franks off the BBQ grill. And Epie...I'll bet she's all in a whirl getting ready for...oops I'd better not spoil the book for you. Enough to say that if two people were ever set up to dislike each other, it was J. Norm and Epie. I can't tell you how pleased I am with how the relationship developed.

    On another level, the father daughter story of j. Norm and Deborah is sooooo true to life. Busy career, not much time for daughter. Daughter resents that, then has to care for him when he is widowed and old. But does it mean they don't love each other? Does it mean they can't enjoy each other? Wingate's sensitive treatment of J. Norm's depression and his emerging memories of early childhood and the evolving mystery about his routes provide plenty of action with a plot that keeps moving.

    Tears came to my eyes in some LOL moments and again as I read J. Norm's sensitive letter to his daughter. I highly recommend it. It will be your best read of the year!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2