Customer Reviews for

Dandelion Wine

Average Rating 4
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Better than Expected

When I started reading Dandelion Wine, I didn't really like it. In fact, I started to regret choosing it, and I wasn't sure if I would be able to get through the rest of the book. The style of writing wasn't what I normally read, and I felt like a lot of the des...
When I started reading Dandelion Wine, I didn't really like it. In fact, I started to regret choosing it, and I wasn't sure if I would be able to get through the rest of the book. The style of writing wasn't what I normally read, and I felt like a lot of the descriptions and scenes just dragged on too slowly. I also didn't care about the characters, and this made the stories less intriguing. I was irritated that many of the stories didn't seem to connect with each other. However, once I got further into the book, I enjoyed the stories to a greater extent. Once I read more, I could get more involved with the characters and feel their emotions, whether it was happiness, grief, or anger. I got used to Bradbury's descriptive style, and the action of the stories made reading the book more enjoyable. The more I read, the more I saw that the stories were weaved together, so that even if one story was unrelated to another, they all contributed to the overall theme of the book. Bradbury's stories were thoroughly original, and the characters were all unique and memorable. It was fun to read about happiness machines, time machines, and childhood games. I liked that Bradbury's stories always seemed to have a 'moral' included. His overall message seemed to be that we should enjoy our lives, our families, and the time that we have to be happy. By the time I reached the end of the book, my initial take on Dandelion Wine was completely turned around. I would definitely read this book again, and I would recommend it for others to read as well

posted by Anonymous on April 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Do NOT buy this VERSION!!

Dandelion Wine is one of my favorite books and I read it every summer. I bought this one for my husband to listen to traveling to work. This is a dramatization; an old radio show type format; it is not "unabridged" (only 90 minutes) as stated in the summary, nor is it...
Dandelion Wine is one of my favorite books and I read it every summer. I bought this one for my husband to listen to traveling to work. This is a dramatization; an old radio show type format; it is not "unabridged" (only 90 minutes) as stated in the summary, nor is it the original text/book. Very disappointing; the write up is obviously not correct. I have just purchased another one from here - big difference 7 CD's, 8 hours. This makes more sense!! Again, LOVE the story, but this is an entirely different format than stated.

posted by 1330560 on August 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    Better than Expected

    When I started reading Dandelion Wine, I didn't really like it. In fact, I started to regret choosing it, and I wasn't sure if I would be able to get through the rest of the book. The style of writing wasn't what I normally read, and I felt like a lot of the descriptions and scenes just dragged on too slowly. I also didn't care about the characters, and this made the stories less intriguing. I was irritated that many of the stories didn't seem to connect with each other. However, once I got further into the book, I enjoyed the stories to a greater extent. Once I read more, I could get more involved with the characters and feel their emotions, whether it was happiness, grief, or anger. I got used to Bradbury's descriptive style, and the action of the stories made reading the book more enjoyable. The more I read, the more I saw that the stories were weaved together, so that even if one story was unrelated to another, they all contributed to the overall theme of the book. Bradbury's stories were thoroughly original, and the characters were all unique and memorable. It was fun to read about happiness machines, time machines, and childhood games. I liked that Bradbury's stories always seemed to have a 'moral' included. His overall message seemed to be that we should enjoy our lives, our families, and the time that we have to be happy. By the time I reached the end of the book, my initial take on Dandelion Wine was completely turned around. I would definitely read this book again, and I would recommend it for others to read as well

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Best book Ever

    This book will take you back to childhood b4 electronics to a time when bicycles ruled and new sneakers meant you could run faster and jump higher. One of the best literary works ever.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Incredible. Bradbury captures the feelings of childhood that you

    Incredible. Bradbury captures the feelings of childhood that you had forgotten you had or weren't old enough to appreciate at the time. An amazing book and one that I'm sure to read every couple years.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    Beautiful Writing!

    Some books pull you in and don't let you out, until they end and even sometimes after. This book didn't hold you hostage like some, but that doesn't mean it was boring. The writing was very beautiful and vivid. I could see everything; the words were so descriptive. In some ways, it actually did draw me into the world of Dandelion Wine because the writing was so clear, but the exit to reality was always clear.
    This book is a coming of age book. The main character, Douglas, is exploring life and if you love or even like books like that, you will enjoy this book. Also if you enjoy books that describe the earlier twentieth century, you would enjoy this book.
    This book is almost like a bunch of short stories, but they all tie into the themes of the book, which is accepting life but also death, enjoying the now, living life, and looking to the future. The view flirts back from person to person, but always returns to Douglas; to tell his story.
    The lesser characters also help tell this story. They are so individual, but they all teach you the same lessons, or themes, from this book. They are suspecting, wise, thoughtful, charming, foolish, frightened, brave, happy, regretful, hilarious, positive, inventive, hateful, and brilliant. From the inventor Mr. Leo Auffmann and his happiness machine, to wise Mr. Jonas and his "no ordinary junk" wagon, these characters show how much personality a little town can have.
    I also enjoyed the symbolism in here, because there were quite a few examples, the dandelion wine, grandma's kitchen, the "colored window panes on the little round windows", the happiness machine, Colonel Freeleigh and even the green machine, are parts of the story, but also more. These "symbols" delve into the reader's imagination and they also invite the reader to look deeper into this charming little world titled Dandelion Wine.
    Sadly there are some parts that I didn't like, very few, that were a bit to morbid for me. I didn't enjoy some parts towards the end, but on the whole I really enjoyed this book.
    I think you should read this book if: you love books that describe a coming of age, the 1950's roughly,(like I said above,) beautiful writing inspires you, exquisite characters make you laugh, you need to laugh, you enjoy thinking, a book you can put down sounds good write now, wise catch phrases or quotes, (because you can get many from this book,) you have read way to many sad books and you are in a rut because of that, or you need to come to peace with death and living, because this book will help you in all of this.
    You shouldn't read this book if: you hate reading, you hate books, you hate paper because it kills trees, you love fantasy, that includes dragons and swords so much that, that is all you can read. Seriously I don't really think a lot of people would hate it, but some might find it a little boring. I definitely don't though. I seriously recommend this book to anyone who is willing to hear my opinion.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is now one of my FAVORITE books!

    This book made me remember what being a kid was like. The innocence, the point of view, everything is just absolutely incredible. How he can describe the way he viewed the world as a child is amazing to me. This book is a true inspiration and lets you look at life as if every moment is something to savor. I ended this book feeling as though I haven't lived life to its fullest and made the most of every day as I did as a child. I'd recommend this book to absolutely anyone!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2007

    Wonderful Book

    This book is absolutely amazing!! the imagery is great! This book brought back so many memories. Those who don't understand this book or dont like it, probly didn't open up thier imagination. I highly recommend This book, Dandelion Wine.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    The style of writing in this book is so perfect. I can understand how some people wouldn't like it because it switches to different stories in almost every chapter but that's what makes it so enjoyable. I loved the characters. For me it was kind of hard to get into it but about one third of the way through I started really enjoying it. Everything is detailed in such a unique way. I love Ray Bradbury books but I would recommend this to adults mostly or people who want to relive childhood innocence.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2002

    Boring, then interesting

    I had to read DANDELION WINE for my 8th grade Spectrum class, and I have to admit that is WAS pretty boring for awhile. Doug's supposed to be the main character and hardly anything happens to him. But once you get to The Lonely One's big role, it starts to get interesting. It's not my type of book, but it DOES make you think.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2000

    One of my favorites

    I love reading books about childhood and coming of age because they take me back to the times when everything in my life was an adventure and nothing was taken for granted. This is a truly beautiful book which does just those things and more. I recommend it to everyone. When you read it, pay special attention to the life of the old woman.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2005

    Incredibly different from the rest

    The frist few pages capture you because of its vivid description. After you get a movie on and the momentum builds up then the full effect starts kicking in. it may take a while to appreciate, but trust me it's worth the hours to read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2002

    You can go home again

    I have read this book over and over many times throughout my life and it has never failed to provide some new insight with each reading. Mr. Bradbury has a way of looking inside of the reader and sharing his most personal experiences. The next best thing to actually re-visiting childhood. Highly recommended for any reader with an imagination and a yearning heart.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2000

    #1 book ever

    whoever says this book is boring did not finish the novel. I am 19 and it is the only book throughout high school I was made to read and actually finished. The book is kinda slow in the begining but once it get started, it expands your imagination, the way he descibes things is like no other writing. If u say it was boring its because u did not keep reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    good, but not as good as...

    Some of Ray Bradbury's finest writing appears in Somethin Wicked This Way Comes. Atmospheric...and the use of language and imagery.
    A book to return to time and time again...particularly in October.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    Do NOT buy this VERSION!!

    Dandelion Wine is one of my favorite books and I read it every summer. I bought this one for my husband to listen to traveling to work. This is a dramatization; an old radio show type format; it is not "unabridged" (only 90 minutes) as stated in the summary, nor is it the original text/book. Very disappointing; the write up is obviously not correct. I have just purchased another one from here - big difference 7 CD's, 8 hours. This makes more sense!! Again, LOVE the story, but this is an entirely different format than stated.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Timeless Classic About Life and Death

    Mr. Bradbury must ponder a lot about life and death. In this novel, he covers every facet of the topic through metaphoric characters and objects. The meaning of "dandelion wine" itself parallels Jim Croce's "Time in a Bottle" - the ability save a moment so that we might relive it again. Memorable moments in the book include the sadness of retiring the trolley, and the salesman who tries to sell grass that never needs to be cut. It's the smell of cut grass that signifies the "official" start of Summer. A very entertaining, though philosophical, book that will make you see the World a little differently after you've finished it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2007

    A True Classic

    This is one of my all time favorite books. It truly captures what it is to be 12 in the summertime..The description of Douglas when he buys his tennis shoes is wonderful. The storyline about the 'Lonely One' is reminiscent of all the urban legends of my youth.. This book is a real classic, but perhaps you must be far removed from youth to appreciate it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2004

    It glows.

    Dandelion Wine is a wonderful and beautiful book that should be cherished by both young and old. In reading some of the less enthusiastic reviews, I've noticed that the authors are all somewhat younger. Perhaps they weren't so thrilled with the novel because, being young themselves, its truths seem so obvious, or so abstract- simply because they're living the author's words. I'm young myself, but I can't imagine NOT being able to relate to the revelations contained within. Read it and love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2000

    Love this book

    Such a great book. My mom read it when she was my age and she loved it, so do I! It's a really discriptive and beautifully written book. I recommend it to anyone, and great to read in those long summer months.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2000

    Loved it

    This book was so good. I'm glad my Honors English Teacher made us read it. It makes you feel like a kid again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2000

    Figurative language at its best!

    Bradburys use of figurative language and imagery makes this book a stylistical masterpiece.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4