Customer Reviews for

Dane (Lords of Satyr Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    wonderful late Victorian romantic fantasy

    In 1880 Rome, the Council orders tracker Dane Satyr to marry a human immediately. He would prefer not to, but understands what the Sickness does to his kind. Thus he puts aside his mission to hunt down illegal demonic immigrants crossing the barrier from ElseWorld; in order to visit the marriage broker who has found human spouses for some of his seemingly happily married peers. Thus Dane plans to hire Eva Delacorte to find him a wife.

    Dane and Eva are instantly attracted to one another. However, she has a secret that if revealed could cause death to both of them. As they fall in love while she seeks the ideal mortal for her beloved, he searches for a sex slave mob buying and selling in European high society while enemies plot to use his Achilles' weakness to destroy his heart and ultimately him.

    The latest Lords of Satyr historical romantic fantasy (see Nicholas, Raine, Lyon) moves forward the era from Regency to late Victorian with a refreshing female satyr. Fast-paced as always, the love and passion between the fully developed satyrs may prove lethal to both. Elizabeth Amber provides a wonderful brisk entry that expands her ElseWorld mythos.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    DEF. Recommended

    This is my favorite so far, it started off a little slow but def. picks up as you continue reading, I enjoy how the ones who want to do them harm Always end up dieing, what can i say, i love when evil dies and love always wins, hope there is going to be a book on Sevin and Lucien

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    Very graphic

    This book is very graphic. I did not care for it. Waste of space on my nook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    Well worth a third and fourth reading!

    The last time I visited the world of the Satyrs in Italy, I thought it would be exactly that: the last time. Imagine my delight to learn that Elizabeth Amber had started another set of Satyr books set several years after the first books, but in a different part of Italy. Again, I was pulled into one of Ms. Amber's books until the last page was turned and I kept tapping the next button on my e-reader hoping for just a few more words and a few more hints as to what would happen next.

    Dane Satyr and Eva Delacorte were absolutely wonderful to get to know. Ms. Amber has a way of painting a picture of her characters that brings them to vivid life. So much so that you feel you are standing next to them speaking to them and learning all about them. Furthermore, the two characters are rather mysterious. At first I wasn't sure exactly what was going on, but as usual with Elizabeth Amber I couldn't put the book down and had to see what all would be revealed.

    Dane was definitely a tortured hero, not unusual for Ms. Amber, but I wasn't sure at first why he was so tortured. As more was discovered it made more sense. Heck, I felt tortured for him. And yet, all the way through I felt he was incredibly strong of will and mind to have made it through what he did. I seriously wanted him to find who he was looking for and to realize how much he needed a certain woman in his life, not just any woman to appease the ElseWorld Council. I was rooting for him, hoping for him and wishing I could reach into the book and poke him in the right direction. I loved how he made his stand and let the woman who owned his heart help to heal him.

    Eva was an interesting, and incredibly complex heroine with her own secrets. One of them I knew almost from the start, but there were more to be uncovered that just added layer upon layer to this multifaceted woman. She had great reason for turmoil, but also realized that she has great reason for joy. That was something I adored about her; her capacity to find the joy in those in her life. I did get upset with her a few times. I wanted her to stand up for herself and find her own happiness, not the happiness others felt she needed to seek out. At the same time I realized that you can't just throw years of teachings and indoctrinations out the window, especially if promises were made. When she did step out of her comfort zone to find the one man who could give her everything her heart desired, I cheered and hunkered down for the fireworks.

    I did have one issue with the book, but it was only one of personal curiosity. Nothing that pulled me from the book, just something that lingered in the back of my mind anytime I had to put the story down to attend to everyday matters. To this moment I'm still unsure who exactly the brothers are. I kept hoping that more light would be shed on their lineage - if they were from parents that we met in previous books or if they were simply a different set of Satyrs. I understood to a point that this book was apparently set fifty years after the first four books, but I wanted to know how they were related or unrelated to the first books. It didn't diminish my enjoyment at all, and doesn't even warrant a deduction in rating, it was simply my insane curiosity rearing its devious head.

    As was typical of a tale by Ms. Amber, the secondary characters brought a multitude of emotions to the mix. From the requisite evil-doers to the girls Eva has saved, we run the gamut.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Emh

    Loves this series!!!!Great read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Great book

    This book keeps you on your toes. Has nice surprises that I didnt see coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    series keeps getting better

    Dane may be my favorite so far. I like the multiple personality aspect of Dane--it's done well and makes him very interesting and tortured throughout. Eva is a matchmaker who has to match him with a human wife, but they fall in love during the process. She is hiding the fact that she's a female satyr--the only female satyr there's ever been. And she's trying to find out who her father was (she assumes he was satyr) and why he abandoned her pregnant mother. The governess, pixie, and two girls are good side characters that enrich the story without being annoying. Meanwhile, Dane is trying to find his missing fourth brother, and we meet his two other hottie brothers Bastian and Seven. A very good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Dane - Dante - Daniel

    Once again a great Satyr read. Ms Amber has the uncanny ability to match such complementary heroes and heroines without making them contrived. The Dane/Dante struggle snares you and does not let go. Dane's want to show Eva the things she most wants is the perfect medicine for his supposed insanity and prepares him for what is to be revealed by the introduction of Daniel. As always, I got swept away in the sensual erotic delights of watching a Satyr male hunt and catch his love. These men effortlessly maintain their family commitment while getting the woman who speaks to their soul. Each knowing just what it is their partner needs and delivering without fail. Dane is no different. The erotica is explicit without being distasteful. My only gripe would be Gaetano's involvement but nevertheless, it detracts little from the story. As with the previous books, I found it hard to put down once I started reading. Kudos Ms Amber and I eagerly await Bastian!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3