Customer Reviews for

The Danger Box

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Anonymous on May 26,2013

    I think this is a good book for kids who likes mysteries.My favorite parts in this book are the Gas Gazette Issues.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Kira M for TeensReadToo

    Twelve-year-old Zoomy Chamberlain has poor eyesight, OCD, and craves structure. Left on his grandfather's doorstep, Zoomy has been raised by his grandparents and trained to do things differently. Things get turned upside down, however, when his estranged, alcoholic father shows up and gives Zoomy a mysterious box. Inside this box is a notebook wrapped in a blanket. Coping with life by making lists and keeping notebooks, Zoomy is understandably drawn to the book. While looking through it with his grandparents, he finds clues relating to Charles Darwin. With the help of a summer visitor friend named Lorrol, Zoomy looks into the origins of the notebook. Before the two friends can delve further into the book's history, though, it is mysteriously stolen. Is there someone who doesn't want the origins of the notebook to be discovered? What is the mystery behind the book? What dangers lie ahead for Zoomy and Lorrol? This is a great, action-packed mystery for reluctant readers. The characters are well-drawn, and the plot is unique, well-developed, and does a good job of holding the reader's interest. Those who like mysteries, adventure, and action will enjoy reading THE DANGER BOX.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Balliett fans will love this new mystery

    As a class, we read Blue Balliett's first two books; Chasing Vermeer and The Wright 3 and my 5th graders loved them. We studied art and architecture, used pentominoes and created secret messages! The Danger Box has new characters and a new setting and I believe it will also provide wonderful "teachable moments" in the classroom!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Blue Balliett Does It Again!

    As is characteristic of her previous novels, The Danger Box is a masterfully written piece of fiction. Blue manages to incorporate interesting and believable characters with an intriguing plot and a mystery that includes an historical person about whom the reader can learn. The characters struggle with their own physical difficulties and family problems, as well as emotional and moral struggles the discovery of a marvelous artifact entails. The main character manages to triumph over his difficulties and to discover similar traits within the historical person he has grown to admire. He is also lucky enough to discover his own inner strength and an amazing new friend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Great book!*****

    I absolutely loved that book and i strongly inform you to read the book! In the story, danger box the book is a mystery book and kind of a adventuious book were ziggy ( the main character) meets another girl and they become best of friends and ziggy goes through alot of rough times, like the store burns down and his real father hates his guts so he lives with his grandparets! And the really sad part of the book is when ziggy looks up information about his real dad his dad comes and pushes ziggy down a long staircase and ziggy is special needed and his dad threatens to hurt him and his familly!
    But other than that you should read the book. Also you need to know the main idea of the book while your reading and to understand it, to make the story make sense! So go out there and read, reading is really good for you, like i read 7 chapter books with like 400 pages in each, in two months! But again, you dont have to be like me you can be who ever you want to be but just do what you want to do and make a good living out of it and you could learn how to love your life! Reading is like writing a book you have to understand the book to write the book!!!


    READ the book, ill know you wil love it as much as i loved it! ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    jghffehxjffhfhjffhehxudjdjeudujeyehdfhfhegfh fjfhffjcjfhcyfdf ychrhevdhjrhfhfhfhhfhfghfgfjcgfhfjfdffuebxcrcrcdbxdyshjdeececjjfhhfyflfhuffddfeyfuufjfuffryjeubcjdeeefeieekdfxefffyfchhrcfcfjjc

    Sudwwnwdefshdhdhdgcfjfhchhfgcgfbdhchfgdydgdyfhfhfyfydyfhffhffduffgfgryyeudutdgdhchddccfyufydyjfhfjfjddhfhxhdfhrhfhvgigyggffjjbfhfhfycdhdhhrhehhhcffryfufjhchhjhcf hfvhrjdhxuxhdddd chhjfgfdhcdhffudgdjeucfyeufrhfjfcfjcjfbfhffckcnffrhcjffchchfhcjjjffufdbfjfjfjjfjfjffkfhfhdcddgegfdjufkfdejxfyxhkejd rjffjfjdcfjfhdcxxjjxjncjfckcdddddjdidkddhfydxdjdnjh.djejejdjdhedhchevcb xdhdhxdjjkjfkdhnhhdfbbf

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    I like the aur I like the author and the illustarter

    I like the illustarter becuse he drew pictures of the baudlare chikdren and i love that series also the authir becuse i love the characters petra calder and tommy so can u plz make more of thise books i think there really good and bret helguist keep doing more fantanstic drawing and blue balliet good books plz keep makinv more im only a kid but i like ur stories

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Amazing book

    Loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"!!!!""!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!6!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    Awesome book!!

    One of the things I love about Blue's books is how they treat the young reader with respect by including complexities and layers without constant over explanation and cushioning. The characters in this novel are so incredibly intricate and fascinating. The beginning of the book really takes time laying out the groundwork and then, whooooosh! It takes off and it is quite hard to put it down.

    I ended the story feeling so much for Zoomy and his family. I cannot wait for more children to read and fall in love with this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1