Customer Reviews for

Danger in the Shadows (O'Malley Series Prequel)

Average Rating 4
( 645 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(302)

4 Star

(161)

3 Star

(102)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Worth reading!!!

The story is a prequel to the O'Malley series. I read this book after starting the series and it was still ok. It introduces Sara as a woman who is trying to survive being kidnapped as a child. She is always on edge and nervous (as the kidnapper is still out there) a...
The story is a prequel to the O'Malley series. I read this book after starting the series and it was still ok. It introduces Sara as a woman who is trying to survive being kidnapped as a child. She is always on edge and nervous (as the kidnapper is still out there) about starting any new relationship. Great story, good suspense, twists and turns.
Her brother David is the character that starts in book one of the O'Malley series. I have read this book over and over and it is still good everytime I read it.

posted by texas_fan on January 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Poorly Written and Lacking emotion

I was so disappointed because the premise was promising. The author tried too hard to make it a Christian Book. Throwing in scripture references doesn't do it. There was no correlation between choices made by the characters and divine inspiration. I wanted to see how...
I was so disappointed because the premise was promising. The author tried too hard to make it a Christian Book. Throwing in scripture references doesn't do it. There was no correlation between choices made by the characters and divine inspiration. I wanted to see how the spiritual guidance let the characters to make correct choices, how it kept them safe or directed them from danger.
The author didn't develop the relationships in a realistic way. They met, they fell in love - without knowing each other. It is not believable that two people fall in love after one small chance meeting without some character development. I wanted to see and feel the attraction taking place not just be told it did.
I also was distracted by all the moving about, characters reacting as if they were being scared without really showing anything scary, changing locations and "filler" material. The book would have been much better if the antagonist had been closer to the main characters and the suspense had of built up slowly and steadily.
I'm deleting the book from my Nook.

posted by VictorianaJD on April 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 648 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Worth reading!!!

    The story is a prequel to the O'Malley series. I read this book after starting the series and it was still ok. It introduces Sara as a woman who is trying to survive being kidnapped as a child. She is always on edge and nervous (as the kidnapper is still out there) about starting any new relationship. Great story, good suspense, twists and turns.
    Her brother David is the character that starts in book one of the O'Malley series. I have read this book over and over and it is still good everytime I read it.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Loved this series!

    The O'Malley series is one of my top 3 favorite series. I read as often as I have time and this series is a keeper. Thank you Dee Henderson - please keep them coming.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Best Series Ever Written

    Best Series Ever Written!!! Wonderful Christian Writer. Please read her O'Malley and Badge of Honor Series if you like Chrisian Suspense.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    Wonderful

    First series i read from her. Just enough romance with just enough touh guy with just enough God. Highly recommend

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVE

    I love the O'Malley Series! This is the Prequel and doesn't have much to do with the rest of the books. You do not have to read this one first in order to understand what happens in the rest of the series, but it does give you more information on Dave. This series is great for preteens - adults. I would not recommend you read this book late at night unless you plan on finishing it!

    Dee Henderson is a great author. Her books touch on mystery, suspense, and clean romance.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    Prequel keeps the high standards

    Danger in the Shadows is an exciting book from beginning to end. Dee Henderson keeps the twist coming. I will reread again and again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Amazing Story - Must Read

    This story is phenomenal. I recommend you read this one even if you do not ready the O'Malley Series. I read them all and I believe this one is the best by far.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Really Good

    I really like this storyline. Good Reads.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Full of Suspense and Desire

    This was the first book I read in the O'Malley series and it was very engaging. It kept you guessing as to what was coming next, and it was just as exciting to read about the journey as it was to find out who did it in the end.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    LOVE

    I Love this book I even have it in paperback!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    spectacularly bad

    rarely have i encountered a book that i felt deserved less than one star. this one is it, and mostly because i gave it time and consideration when i could have been reading something else. the story line is totally implausible, the male character is probably the wimpiest i've seen bar none, and our star character here has not only herself but everybody around her freaking out about pretty much nothing. and the amount of filler material i.e. 'fluff' used in this piece of garbage is absolutely outstanding. just when you start to think that something exciting is going to happen... oh.... and this book lands flat on its face again... be forwarned...

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    Poorly Written and Lacking emotion

    I was so disappointed because the premise was promising. The author tried too hard to make it a Christian Book. Throwing in scripture references doesn't do it. There was no correlation between choices made by the characters and divine inspiration. I wanted to see how the spiritual guidance let the characters to make correct choices, how it kept them safe or directed them from danger.
    The author didn't develop the relationships in a realistic way. They met, they fell in love - without knowing each other. It is not believable that two people fall in love after one small chance meeting without some character development. I wanted to see and feel the attraction taking place not just be told it did.
    I also was distracted by all the moving about, characters reacting as if they were being scared without really showing anything scary, changing locations and "filler" material. The book would have been much better if the antagonist had been closer to the main characters and the suspense had of built up slowly and steadily.
    I'm deleting the book from my Nook.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Great story

    Prequel to the O'Malley series

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    This book is one that I will read over and over again. It has y

    This book is one that I will read over and over again.
    It has you hooked from the very first chapter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    I love Dee Henderson┬┐s writing. This is another great Christian

    I love Dee Henderson’s writing. This is another great Christian
    suspense. I read it after the Negotiator and enjoyed Dave’s sister’s
    story. Fast paced with lots of twists and action.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    fantastic

    Loved it will read again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    good for a mindless read, nothing more.

    The first time I read this book I loved it. I was also sixteen. The second time I tryed, I couldn't get through it. The characters in all the books are too cut and paste and you can't get in touch with them. Also, the plot is more forced than let happen. Things happen (such as the guy stalking the girl and the overprotective brother not seeming to be bothered by this fact) which would not happen in real life but are used to advance the plot.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    It is very very good

    Very interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Loved this series! Dee Henderson has a way of drawing you into t

    Loved this series! Dee Henderson has a way of drawing you into the story. Would highly recommendany of her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Amazing

    I absolutely loved this book. The suspense and mystery was expertly written, the romance side was so tender and not at all raunchy, and the religious side was very well incorporated. As someone that has a lot of experience with ptsd, i think the author did a very good, accurate job of representing what it is like through her writing with Sara. I cannot wait to read the series itself since this is the prequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 648 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33