Customer Reviews for

Danger in the Shadows (O'Malley Series Prequel)

Average Rating 4
( 643 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(301)

4 Star

(160)

3 Star

(102)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Worth reading!!!

The story is a prequel to the O'Malley series. I read this book after starting the series and it was still ok. It introduces Sara as a woman who is trying to survive being kidnapped as a child. She is always on edge and nervous (as the kidnapper is still out there) a...
The story is a prequel to the O'Malley series. I read this book after starting the series and it was still ok. It introduces Sara as a woman who is trying to survive being kidnapped as a child. She is always on edge and nervous (as the kidnapper is still out there) about starting any new relationship. Great story, good suspense, twists and turns.
Her brother David is the character that starts in book one of the O'Malley series. I have read this book over and over and it is still good everytime I read it.

posted by texas_fan on January 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Poorly Written and Lacking emotion

I was so disappointed because the premise was promising. The author tried too hard to make it a Christian Book. Throwing in scripture references doesn't do it. There was no correlation between choices made by the characters and divine inspiration. I wanted to see how...
I was so disappointed because the premise was promising. The author tried too hard to make it a Christian Book. Throwing in scripture references doesn't do it. There was no correlation between choices made by the characters and divine inspiration. I wanted to see how the spiritual guidance let the characters to make correct choices, how it kept them safe or directed them from danger.
The author didn't develop the relationships in a realistic way. They met, they fell in love - without knowing each other. It is not believable that two people fall in love after one small chance meeting without some character development. I wanted to see and feel the attraction taking place not just be told it did.
I also was distracted by all the moving about, characters reacting as if they were being scared without really showing anything scary, changing locations and "filler" material. The book would have been much better if the antagonist had been closer to the main characters and the suspense had of built up slowly and steadily.
I'm deleting the book from my Nook.

posted by VictorianaJD on April 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    spectacularly bad

    rarely have i encountered a book that i felt deserved less than one star. this one is it, and mostly because i gave it time and consideration when i could have been reading something else. the story line is totally implausible, the male character is probably the wimpiest i've seen bar none, and our star character here has not only herself but everybody around her freaking out about pretty much nothing. and the amount of filler material i.e. 'fluff' used in this piece of garbage is absolutely outstanding. just when you start to think that something exciting is going to happen... oh.... and this book lands flat on its face again... be forwarned...

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    Poorly Written and Lacking emotion

    I was so disappointed because the premise was promising. The author tried too hard to make it a Christian Book. Throwing in scripture references doesn't do it. There was no correlation between choices made by the characters and divine inspiration. I wanted to see how the spiritual guidance let the characters to make correct choices, how it kept them safe or directed them from danger.
    The author didn't develop the relationships in a realistic way. They met, they fell in love - without knowing each other. It is not believable that two people fall in love after one small chance meeting without some character development. I wanted to see and feel the attraction taking place not just be told it did.
    I also was distracted by all the moving about, characters reacting as if they were being scared without really showing anything scary, changing locations and "filler" material. The book would have been much better if the antagonist had been closer to the main characters and the suspense had of built up slowly and steadily.
    I'm deleting the book from my Nook.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Danger in the Shadows


    this book could have been written by a high school kid, it just went on and on... I skipped pages and it was still on the same conversation which I had read previously.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    Save your money! Don't do it!

    I thought I'd enjoy a book with a "spiritual" component but this book is a really bad, predictable and silly love story that should be classified as Christian romance. It's not spiritual, it's Christian with bible versus thrown in it seems as an after thought. The characters should be wearing halos! Her with her damsel in distress persona "please everyone save me" and him as unrealistically perfect as any angelic hero saving his damsel should be. Yuck! The characters were completely unbelievable. Absolutely no depth whatsoever! I mean really... When is the last time a man was attracted to a woman because of her weakness... Except when she was being strong despite her horrendous burden! Oof! This was awful. Don't waste your money. And by the way, what does it have to do with the O'malleys (whoever they are) anyway? I for one don't care to find out.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    dissapointment

    i would not reccomend this to anyone. this book was so boring. it was a huge waste of time to read.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    Awful book! What a waste of time!

    This was one of the dumbest books I've ever read! The characters were weak, the climax was dull and lasted about half a page, and it seemed like a platform for the author to preach Bible verses at the reader. I will NEVER make the mistake of reading anything by Dee Henderson again!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2007

    Cheesy

    I borrowed this book from my sister at her recommendation, but had to force myself to finish it. It was predictable, un-suspenseful, repetitive, and hard to stomach. The characters were melodramatic and contrived. I found Adam to be the least believable. He seemed to have no flaws other than being too much in love. So cheesy! I will say that it had a good message about becoming free from fear through Christ. But why that had to be portrayed through such horrible characters and tedious story line is beyond me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2