Customer Reviews for

Danger in the Shadows (O'Malley Series Prequel)

Average Rating 4
( 640 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(300)

4 Star

(160)

3 Star

(101)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Worth reading!!!

The story is a prequel to the O'Malley series. I read this book after starting the series and it was still ok. It introduces Sara as a woman who is trying to survive being kidnapped as a child. She is always on edge and nervous (as the kidnapper is still out there) a...
The story is a prequel to the O'Malley series. I read this book after starting the series and it was still ok. It introduces Sara as a woman who is trying to survive being kidnapped as a child. She is always on edge and nervous (as the kidnapper is still out there) about starting any new relationship. Great story, good suspense, twists and turns.
Her brother David is the character that starts in book one of the O'Malley series. I have read this book over and over and it is still good everytime I read it.

posted by texas_fan on January 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Poorly Written and Lacking emotion

I was so disappointed because the premise was promising. The author tried too hard to make it a Christian Book. Throwing in scripture references doesn't do it. There was no correlation between choices made by the characters and divine inspiration. I wanted to see how...
I was so disappointed because the premise was promising. The author tried too hard to make it a Christian Book. Throwing in scripture references doesn't do it. There was no correlation between choices made by the characters and divine inspiration. I wanted to see how the spiritual guidance let the characters to make correct choices, how it kept them safe or directed them from danger.
The author didn't develop the relationships in a realistic way. They met, they fell in love - without knowing each other. It is not believable that two people fall in love after one small chance meeting without some character development. I wanted to see and feel the attraction taking place not just be told it did.
I also was distracted by all the moving about, characters reacting as if they were being scared without really showing anything scary, changing locations and "filler" material. The book would have been much better if the antagonist had been closer to the main characters and the suspense had of built up slowly and steadily.
I'm deleting the book from my Nook.

posted by VictorianaJD on April 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 160 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Loved this series!

    The O'Malley series is one of my top 3 favorite series. I read as often as I have time and this series is a keeper. Thank you Dee Henderson - please keep them coming.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    Prequel keeps the high standards

    Danger in the Shadows is an exciting book from beginning to end. Dee Henderson keeps the twist coming. I will reread again and again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Full of Suspense and Desire

    This was the first book I read in the O'Malley series and it was very engaging. It kept you guessing as to what was coming next, and it was just as exciting to read about the journey as it was to find out who did it in the end.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Great story

    Prequel to the O'Malley series

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    I love Dee Henderson┬┐s writing. This is another great Christian

    I love Dee Henderson’s writing. This is another great Christian
    suspense. I read it after the Negotiator and enjoyed Dave’s sister’s
    story. Fast paced with lots of twists and action.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Engaging Book

    A very good read. The story line is intriguing and kept me wondering what would happen next. The resolution to the mystery was not drawn out and I appreciated that. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Tense reading!

    This is a great story, the prequel to the O'Malleys series. Sarah has been stalked by a the man who kidnapped her as a child, and lives a life on the run, albeit a luxurious run. She struggles with fear and faith. While the setting is a bit extreme, the emotions Sarah deals with are universal, and I appreciated the story. When Sarah finally decides to not run any more but to try to confront and identify her stalker, she faces some truths about herself she had never realized before, too. There is a romance in the story, too, which I enjoyed very much, but the most important point of the story is Sarah's realization that what she thought was trust was really just barely hanging on, that there was a whole wealth of grace and strength from God she had never tapped. It is not a peaceful story to read at night, the suspense really builds, but it is worth your time, especially if you are going to read or have already read the O'Malley series, which I also recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Drama

    Although short it was a pretty good crime/drama. Enjoyed it and I am looking forward to reading more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Enjoyed very much

    Was nice to find a book with a sweet romance, some suspense and not loaded down with sex. Would like to have seen the ending expanded a little more. Overall thought this was a wonderful, sweet book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    Worth the read! I was excited to read this book based on the re

    Worth the read! I was excited to read this book based on the reviews I read. I stand by that this was a wonderful prequel to what hopefully is a good series. I have not read the rest of the books in the series yet, but hope to soon. I was a little disappointed in the references to God. Don't read that wrong. The scripture verses were wonderful, but I wish there could have been more involvement between the characters and their struggle with their faith and trust in God and His word. The characters themselves I thought were very well-rounded. I wish there had been more time for the relationship between the two main characters to grow and evolve. Otherwise, this was a very well-written story and it kept you guessing. I enjoyed this very much. It's nice to see a book of this genre, mystery and suspense, put together by Christian writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Duh?

    Zilch to do with o'malleys

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Enjoyed.

    Good, easy read. Interesting and tragic story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    good story

    Pleasant, light read. Unlike what has become common with other current books where every detail is explicitly presented, I enjoyed that this author chose to allow readers the use of their imaginations and intelligence to infer details. Some proved correct, others not, but the opportunity was refreshing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    Great quick read!

    The book was a great, quick read. I enjoyed it from beginning to the end. I can't wait to read others by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    Good book - Recommend it!

    The reviews were mixed and I feel everyone made very valid observations. After reading the book myself I found I enjoyed it anyway. The story was thought provoking and emotional. It allowed me to escape from my reality and remember others are going throuh so much more. Maybe not as depicted in this story but it took me out of self. Any book that can entertain and motivate you gets my vote. As for the romance, society teaches us that love is a feeling, God teaches us love is a choice. I love how the main characters depended on God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED - LOVED THE ENDING

    I LOVED THIS BOOK AND READ IT EVERY MOMENT I GOT. I GUESS I SOME WHAT UNDERSTOOD THAT THEY WENT THROUGH AS A FRIEND OF MINE DID. LOVED THE ENDING!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    Great Book!!!

    I loved it!!! Suspensful and great story!!! I recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    EXCELLENT SUSPENSE

    I tought was top notch. You really can't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    Highly recommended

    This is the first book I have read by is author, and I couldn't put it down. Will definitely read another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    Recommend

    This book kept my interest all the way through. It had suspense and humor.I would read other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 160 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8