Customer Reviews for

Danger in the Shadows (O'Malley Series Prequel)

Average Rating 4
( 645 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(302)

4 Star

(161)

3 Star

(102)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Worth reading!!!

The story is a prequel to the O'Malley series. I read this book after starting the series and it was still ok. It introduces Sara as a woman who is trying to survive being kidnapped as a child. She is always on edge and nervous (as the kidnapper is still out there) a...
The story is a prequel to the O'Malley series. I read this book after starting the series and it was still ok. It introduces Sara as a woman who is trying to survive being kidnapped as a child. She is always on edge and nervous (as the kidnapper is still out there) about starting any new relationship. Great story, good suspense, twists and turns.
Her brother David is the character that starts in book one of the O'Malley series. I have read this book over and over and it is still good everytime I read it.

posted by texas_fan on January 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Poorly Written and Lacking emotion

I was so disappointed because the premise was promising. The author tried too hard to make it a Christian Book. Throwing in scripture references doesn't do it. There was no correlation between choices made by the characters and divine inspiration. I wanted to see how...
I was so disappointed because the premise was promising. The author tried too hard to make it a Christian Book. Throwing in scripture references doesn't do it. There was no correlation between choices made by the characters and divine inspiration. I wanted to see how the spiritual guidance let the characters to make correct choices, how it kept them safe or directed them from danger.
The author didn't develop the relationships in a realistic way. They met, they fell in love - without knowing each other. It is not believable that two people fall in love after one small chance meeting without some character development. I wanted to see and feel the attraction taking place not just be told it did.
I also was distracted by all the moving about, characters reacting as if they were being scared without really showing anything scary, changing locations and "filler" material. The book would have been much better if the antagonist had been closer to the main characters and the suspense had of built up slowly and steadily.
I'm deleting the book from my Nook.

posted by VictorianaJD on April 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 302 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Worth reading!!!

    The story is a prequel to the O'Malley series. I read this book after starting the series and it was still ok. It introduces Sara as a woman who is trying to survive being kidnapped as a child. She is always on edge and nervous (as the kidnapper is still out there) about starting any new relationship. Great story, good suspense, twists and turns.
    Her brother David is the character that starts in book one of the O'Malley series. I have read this book over and over and it is still good everytime I read it.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Best Series Ever Written

    Best Series Ever Written!!! Wonderful Christian Writer. Please read her O'Malley and Badge of Honor Series if you like Chrisian Suspense.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    Wonderful

    First series i read from her. Just enough romance with just enough touh guy with just enough God. Highly recommend

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVE

    I love the O'Malley Series! This is the Prequel and doesn't have much to do with the rest of the books. You do not have to read this one first in order to understand what happens in the rest of the series, but it does give you more information on Dave. This series is great for preteens - adults. I would not recommend you read this book late at night unless you plan on finishing it!

    Dee Henderson is a great author. Her books touch on mystery, suspense, and clean romance.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Amazing Story - Must Read

    This story is phenomenal. I recommend you read this one even if you do not ready the O'Malley Series. I read them all and I believe this one is the best by far.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Really Good

    I really like this storyline. Good Reads.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    LOVE

    I Love this book I even have it in paperback!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    This book is one that I will read over and over again. It has y

    This book is one that I will read over and over again.
    It has you hooked from the very first chapter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    fantastic

    Loved it will read again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    It is very very good

    Very interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Loved this series! Dee Henderson has a way of drawing you into t

    Loved this series! Dee Henderson has a way of drawing you into the story. Would highly recommendany of her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Amazing

    I absolutely loved this book. The suspense and mystery was expertly written, the romance side was so tender and not at all raunchy, and the religious side was very well incorporated. As someone that has a lot of experience with ptsd, i think the author did a very good, accurate job of representing what it is like through her writing with Sara. I cannot wait to read the series itself since this is the prequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Awesome

    This book got me hooked on Dee Henderson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    highly recommend

    i really enjoy reading Dee Henderson books. it is really easy to get caught up. if you like mystery i would highly recommend her book series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Excellent

    This book keeps you guessing the whole time. It was very nice to be able to read a great mystery that was christian based. I would recommend the entire O'Malley series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Awesome read!

    I love this book. I have read it three times. Twists and turns You feel the fear of the characters and cant put the book down. Romance and mystery make it a thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Great suspense!

    I've read this several times. It 's got intrigue, love, suspense, danger, no foul language, no explicit sex. Very well written. My friend read it while at the pool...someone came up & spoke to her, & she screamed, she was so into the story. I love the O'Malley series...I liked this prequel the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    Excellent Read, Highly Recommended

    Just finished reading "Danger in the Shadows" and have to tell you it was an excellent book. The story grabbed me in the first few pages and did not turn lose until the very end. So nice to find good Christian stories that relates to relationships with our Lord. Ms. Henderson did an excellent job. Can't wait to get another of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    What a wonderful book it has it all great characters suspence an

    What a wonderful book it has it all great characters suspence and a love story that can be enjoyed by all ages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    Exciting!!!

    As usual, Dee Henderson, writes an exciting, fast paced mystery. It's a very fascinating story with highly suspense-filled action. I love her books when you're looking for something mysterious yet decent reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 302 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16