Customer Reviews for

Dangerous

Average Rating 4.5
( 256 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(172)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

:)

This is the BEST BOOK EVER! Cant wait for part 2. I literally couldnt put it down. Its a must read.

posted by Anonymous on February 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

When I first started reading Dangerous, Book One of the Elementa

When I first started reading Dangerous, Book One of the Elemental Preservers Series, written by Alycia Linwood, I really wanted to like it. The plot idea was original and intriguing and I was excited to have the opportunity to read it. Unfortunately, my desires and expe...
When I first started reading Dangerous, Book One of the Elemental Preservers Series, written by Alycia Linwood, I really wanted to like it. The plot idea was original and intriguing and I was excited to have the opportunity to read it. Unfortunately, my desires and expectations were way off the mark on this one.

Ms. Linwood has the potential to make this a good series. About two-thirds of the way through the novel, the plot finally began to smooth out and become the outstanding novel I knew it could be. Prior to that point, it was a roller coaster of inconsistent writing and too little show vs tell.

For the first two-thirds of the novel, I really wanted to like it. I wanted to be able to write a glowing review. What I got, was a novel set in a high school/junior college, which felt like it was a repeat of high school for me. It was drawn out, tired and just painful at times with cursing, frequent excessive drinking, which of course led to getting drunk. All of these things came together to create a novel that was juvenile and felt forced.

Now Dangerous had its share of issues, I’m not denying that; however, there are positives as well.

The main characters are very likable and easy to relate to. Ria is up-tight, slightly boy-crazy with her priorities in the right order – friends, boys, studies. Her best friend, Paula, is Ria’s polar opposite in every way. Paula is studious, easy going, and while she does set her sights on one boy, she will never be mistaken for a boy-crazy teenager. The only thing I wish I had more of where the characters are concerned was background. I wish I knew more about them – where they came from, what they like, what they don’t like, what makes them tick (besides boys or studying). As much as I liked the characters and could relate to them, I also felt as if I hardly knew them.

Then for that final third of Dangerous, I simply couldn’t get enough. I couldn’t find enough time to read. I wanted more! It felt like Ms. Linwood had finally found her voice and knew exactly what she wanted to say. The dialog became more natural and flowed easily with the context of the novel itself. As if someone had flipped a switch, the novel suddenly clicked. It all came together. In my opinion, the final third of the novel is what saves it from mediocrity. If not for that magical piece (pardon the magic pun), the novel would have been a shell of what it could have been.

As for the sequels, I’ll likely read the next one for a few reasons. First, I want to see where she takes things from here. Most importantly, I’ll read the second novel to see if Ms. Linwood manages to maintain the momentum she found in the end of Dangerous and carry it over into Book Two. If she can carry it over, there is hope for the series. If she loses it, I likely won’t read past Book Two.

If you are looking for a paranormal novel with magic, witches, wizards and all other things magical, then I would suggest you check out the Harry Potter series, if you haven’t read them already. Also if you are an older teen or a young adult (early twenties), then you might enjoy the House of Night series by P.C. Cast & Kristin Cast. It’s also about magic but it tends to have some rather intense situations that aren’t really appropriate for teenagers or younger teenagers. Overall, it’s a fantastic series and I highly recommend it.

posted by EGorski on April 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 256 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    :)

    This is the BEST BOOK EVER! Cant wait for part 2. I literally couldnt put it down. Its a must read.

    25 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Annonymous

    Oh My Gosh, what a great book. Loved everything about it and the ending was such a big cliff hanger. Cant wait for the second book to come out!!!!!!

    17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    When I first started reading Dangerous, Book One of the Elementa

    When I first started reading Dangerous, Book One of the Elemental Preservers Series, written by Alycia Linwood, I really wanted to like it. The plot idea was original and intriguing and I was excited to have the opportunity to read it. Unfortunately, my desires and expectations were way off the mark on this one.

    Ms. Linwood has the potential to make this a good series. About two-thirds of the way through the novel, the plot finally began to smooth out and become the outstanding novel I knew it could be. Prior to that point, it was a roller coaster of inconsistent writing and too little show vs tell.

    For the first two-thirds of the novel, I really wanted to like it. I wanted to be able to write a glowing review. What I got, was a novel set in a high school/junior college, which felt like it was a repeat of high school for me. It was drawn out, tired and just painful at times with cursing, frequent excessive drinking, which of course led to getting drunk. All of these things came together to create a novel that was juvenile and felt forced.

    Now Dangerous had its share of issues, I’m not denying that; however, there are positives as well.

    The main characters are very likable and easy to relate to. Ria is up-tight, slightly boy-crazy with her priorities in the right order – friends, boys, studies. Her best friend, Paula, is Ria’s polar opposite in every way. Paula is studious, easy going, and while she does set her sights on one boy, she will never be mistaken for a boy-crazy teenager. The only thing I wish I had more of where the characters are concerned was background. I wish I knew more about them – where they came from, what they like, what they don’t like, what makes them tick (besides boys or studying). As much as I liked the characters and could relate to them, I also felt as if I hardly knew them.

    Then for that final third of Dangerous, I simply couldn’t get enough. I couldn’t find enough time to read. I wanted more! It felt like Ms. Linwood had finally found her voice and knew exactly what she wanted to say. The dialog became more natural and flowed easily with the context of the novel itself. As if someone had flipped a switch, the novel suddenly clicked. It all came together. In my opinion, the final third of the novel is what saves it from mediocrity. If not for that magical piece (pardon the magic pun), the novel would have been a shell of what it could have been.

    As for the sequels, I’ll likely read the next one for a few reasons. First, I want to see where she takes things from here. Most importantly, I’ll read the second novel to see if Ms. Linwood manages to maintain the momentum she found in the end of Dangerous and carry it over into Book Two. If she can carry it over, there is hope for the series. If she loses it, I likely won’t read past Book Two.

    If you are looking for a paranormal novel with magic, witches, wizards and all other things magical, then I would suggest you check out the Harry Potter series, if you haven’t read them already. Also if you are an older teen or a young adult (early twenties), then you might enjoy the House of Night series by P.C. Cast & Kristin Cast. It’s also about magic but it tends to have some rather intense situations that aren’t really appropriate for teenagers or younger teenagers. Overall, it’s a fantastic series and I highly recommend it.

    16 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Awesome

    This book was amazing! At first I thouht Adrian was a major pain, but now I'm so conflicted! I do not particulately like like him, and I like Michael waaay more, but I do not want Michael to get hurt! Even though Adrian is a better match for her.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    I love this book!!!!

    I can't wait for book 2 to come out. I would not recommend this book for kids under 12. But it is such an awesome book, that I strongly suggest that you buy it.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Unique

    I enjoyed it very much. Adrian is swoonworthy and I hope next book answers my questions. Too bad it's written in 1st person cus I'd like to know what were Paula and Michael thinking at the end and how much truth there is in conviction that Adrian slept with many girls. I'm very suspicious of those pills that cause memory loss. ;) Loved how Ria starts to change throughout the book. I didn't like her in the beginning, but development of a relationship between her and Adrian is awesome. The concept of magic disease is unique and unlike anything I've read before. You should give this book a try.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Anonymous

    I love this book!!!!! I sat and read it in four hours it is a must read!!!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Loved it!

    Okay. So it might have some foul language, but besides that, it was really good. It shows how a girlvis trying to figure out her life while tryin to decide between the two most perfect guys... a total must read.


    (Be warned, it end in a flippin cliff hanger>:( )

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    Best book I ever read!! I cant wait till Runaway comes out!!!

    Best book I ever read!! I cant wait till Runaway comes out!!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Great

    This book was amazing:D i CANT eait for the next in the series

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Wow!

    This was an amazing book! I loved that it was so long and i finished it in less than one day. As for the grammar that everyone hates I myself only found one mistakes and every book has one of those. It may have been because I was so immersed in the book! At one point i was ready to jump into the screen to tell Ria that she needed to get a clue. But to get down to the point, I think this was an amazing book and everyone should read it! The only down side is book number two isn't free and I finished it at like one in the morning so I couldn't ask if i coul buy it! Being a early teen myself I really don't feel this is inappropriate considering we may hear worse our own school. I really can't wait until i can buy the second book and I'm hoping it's got some thing about Ria and Adrian they would be cute together!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Wow, amazing book!!!

    This book is so awesome!!! I realy want to get the second one now!!!! This is deffinately a book that every teenager should read!!! Its like the best book in the history of books!!! READ IT NOW!!!!! Whats stopping you???? Its free for crying out loud!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    I loved it

    I loved it i love adrian and micheal please tell me when theres going to ne a second book i loved it it is a must read

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    I what # 2!!!!!!!

    I really wish they had the secound book as n ebook I really want it!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    SUPER DUPER AMAZING

    I stayed up ALL night finishing this book. For the SECOND time! I love everything about this book, save for the ending! What happens?! I know, I know, " wait for the second book" WELL I DONT WANT TO WAIT!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Fabulous book! Loved the plot and the characters! I can't wait f

    Fabulous book! Loved the plot and the characters! I can't wait for the second book!!!! :)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Great read

    Loved it. I cant decide who id rather have her be with. Bad boy adrian or nice guy michael. And i cant decide if i want to slap her or high five her. Just the right amount of drama, romance, and suspense to keep you interested. Definitely recommended.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    FAN-FREAKIN-TASTIC.!!!! ^_^

    It was soooo good. A must read to anyone who love mystery, adventure, romance, super-natrual, and suspenseful books. Really good plot and rising climax throughout the story. Granted it did have several spelling errors but what book doesnt sometimes. Not terrible grammer like some people are saying (Over eggzagerated -_-)but at the same time not written well but it really didnt take away from the book that much, you just had to read some sentences again because some would be missing words but it reallly was hard to put the book down because of the crazy turn of events. I really loved this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Love it

    That was a good book cant the the number 2book runaway

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Fabulous!!!

    Loved this book. Unsure at first, but I could not put it down. Excited for book 2!!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 256 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13