BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dangerous

Average Rating 4
( 169 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 169 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    Never saw this trainwreck coming.

    Kilraven as a cad? The stand-up moral guy is a cad, and willing to take advantage of a virgin no less? Also, where was the romance? Kilraven was done a gross disservice in this book. Everything about him that was built up in the previous Jacobsville novels did not come to fruition in this book. It's like a different guy took him over and left the real Kilraven for dead. There also wasn't a danggum thing dangerous, either. And what's with all the crap with Winnie's mother? Taking your newly discovered brother home on your wedding night? I swear, the romance in this was not even a consideration. Diana, get a nom de plume if you want to write crime dramas, and leave all this mess out of your romance novels. It just didn't mesh well. This was a dedication to dispatchers - should have warned me before I spent good $$ for it. Not something I would pay to read if I knew.

    Also, all the garbage about dispatchers and all the criminal procedure ad nausem was over the top. I buy a romance novel for the romance. If I want all this procedure, I'll take a class at the community college or watch New Detectives.

    Please, whateve you do, don't do this to Jon Blackhawk and his secretary (the couple I am assuming is next). If anything, the banter between the two was the most entertaining in the entire book.

    One last thing, Diana. Do you know what it means when all the women in a town are blond haired and brown eyed, and the men are silvery eyed? IT MEANS THEY ARE INBRED! There are lots more combinations, many women have large breasts, and not all women are short and willowy. Not all men are half Native American (I've been to Texas, I know) and and not everyone had a crappy childhood.

    Time to change.

    Folks, you want a great summer read? Linda Lael Miller's 'McKettricks of Texas -Tate, Garrett, Austin'. Fantastic reads, all of them. She doesn't take her characters and play switcheroo on you after you've been reading awhile.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2010

    What a disappointment!

    Thinly plotted, characters poorly developed, and writing style chaotic and inconsistent. This book is not at all what I would have expected from Diana Palmer. This is a book reads as though it were written by a novice, not someone as experience and well-known as Palmer. Shame on her editor for letting this one out the door.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    What happened to Diana Palmer?

    I feel like her writing has changed so much! This book was really boring, it had so many facts about 911 operators, and police life, that you felt like you were reading compiled data! This one just didn't do it for me. I'm glad we got to read about Kilraven and Winnie's story, but I was left feeling short changed! I wish they had more interaction with each other. I understand that Kilraven's past was a huge part in the book, but it was almost too much. I realize that I'm being really hard on this book, but I have read almost every book that Diana Palmer has written, and this was not the Diana Palmer I grew up reading. Her last few books seem like shes digressing in her story telling. I'm not really sure how to explain her style of writing now, I'm just confused I guess.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    Awful*****

    I could not believe this crap what a disappointment thank goodness i borrowed it from the library and did not buy it the mother's story was much better than the main charaters.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    What in the heck happened to Diana Palmer?

    Her recent books have taken a downward spiral, but this one takes the prize for being most uninteresting of them all. I am so upset that I paid the hardcover price. Whatever made her publisher think she was hard back worthy for this novel is beyond me. I was very disappointed in this Long Tall Texan installment. I had been waiting for Winnie's story to emerge. I read the first few chapters and wanted to put it down, but I gave the book the benefit of the doubt and waited for Romance, nothing ensued. It is full of contradictions. He fought so hard not to have a child and to get an annulment once their sham of a marriage was over. But, in a few weeks he feels differently? And then, all of the sudden, he's totally fine with her being pregnant? Why they had to get married in the first place was weak for the plot. She was grasping at straws and I think she knew that. She filled the book with junk to make the novel long enough to sell. Nothing happens until the last 3 chapters and even then not much concludes this book. I love Diana Palmer, but I'm becoming disillusioned with her writing. It took me forever to read this book, when in the past I could gobble down her new novels in a night. Ugh, I hate when authors show they no longer care about their writing and they are now just publishing to make money and pass time. I am just going to stick with my new favorite author, K.A. Brown. Get Her Man series is phenomenal. To sum up this book, too much filler, not enough romance and chemistry between the couple. I did not believe for a second they were meant to be together. DO NOT waste your money. If you are so intrigued to read it, take a loan from the library.

    Here is her book, please take your time to read this novel!!
    http://search.barnesandnoble.com/Vanessa-Gets-Her-Man/K-A-Brown/e/9781608139965/?itm=10&USRI=vanessa+gets+her+man

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    911 operator & FBI agent romance

    Kilraven is an undercover FBI agent stationed in smalltown Jacobsville, Texas. In previous books, he was investigating a kidnapping ring, but now he's looking into a murder that has ties to the cold case homicides of his wife and 3-year-old daughter, who were shot seven years ago. Winnie Sinclair is a young 9-1-1 operator and dispatcher with the Jacobsville county emergency services, and she's totally in love with Kilraven. Winnie's deceased drug-using uncle may have had something to do with the recent shady killing, (and her estranged mother who works in law enforcement also knows something about it--it's complicated), but that's a side issue, because what Kilraven really needs in order to solve the case is a woman who can talk to a crooked senator's frightened wife, who's hiding out in the Bahamas. And wouldn't you know it? Winnie's family owns the property next to where the senator's wife is staying. Wonder who he'll pick to take with him. Hmm...

    The book starts out with Kilraven's POV, and he's grinching about how he hates Christmas parties, especially emergency services Christmas parties, especially emergency services Christmas parties in Jacobsville, where he's guaranteed to receive a no-brainer gift like a tie. Little does he know that Winnie Sinclair has drawn his name for anonymous gift-giving and she's made him a classy, unique painting of a raven. And little does she know that he'll hate it because the last thing his preschool daughter ever drew was a picture of a raven. (Side note: it could easily be true, but I have a 3-yr-old baby sister, and we're all just thrilled when she draws a vague colored blur, forget actually outlining and filling in a recognizable bird. But I digress.) Kilraven glares, Winnie feels sorry, and it looks like they've come to a stalemate. But then he connects the dots between some senators and some drug runners and some homicides and some other people, and figures he can avenge his daughters' death (he doesn't really miss the wife--she was a wild one) if he gets a few more facts nailed down.

    Getting the facts means talking to the senator's wife, which will require a woman's touch, so Kilraven decides that he needs to marry Winnie so they can travel together without damaging her reputation. He makes it clear that he doesn't love Winnie, doesn't want a relationship or a future with her, so they will get an immediate annulment when they get back from grilling the senator's wife. Sweet, quiet, angelic little Winnie turns him down flat. (YAY!) Then she changes her mind. (Nooo...) She decides that a couple of weeks of sham marriage to the man she loves, and the opportunity to help him avenge his daughter's murder, is worth the toll it'll take on her heart.

    So, in this neat genre-blend of contemporary western romantic suspense novel, there are a few issues. The dialogue feels slightly stilted because characters often discuss their feelings out loud when it's not entirely natural to do so. Or they'll deliver explanatory lines about things that are well known to both parties, and which could probably go unspoken. I wish there were more editing for repeated phrases in the book, for example, in respect to Winnie and Kilraven's ages the phrase "she was 22 to his 32" is repeated three times, by my count.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    This is actually the first book of Diana's that I have read. While it wasn't one of my favorites it did have a good plot and fun characters. There were some corny parts but that's in every romance book. Overall, I would give it 3 out 5 stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    Average everything- a vanilla experience

    This is not a difficult read but one could get confused by the overlapping characters and plot lines that are slightly touched upon but never really developed or hold your interest. There are no doubt families out there that resemble this hodge podge of familial relations -half-siblings, estranged relations and newly discovered relations and I can honestly say I am thankful it is not my family. The plot is convuluted- relying on snippets of what occurred in the past and the baggage left from that event and how it ties in to the current events surrounding the sinister murders and recent attacks on the investigators. I didn't wholly dislike the book- I just don't put it in the - must read- class.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2010

    Great Story but you have to wade through lots of terminology to get there!

    I've read nearly every Diana Palmer novel published. this one was a good book, but very slow going in the middle. As other reviewers have stated, the terminology use and overuse got very annoying. THe storyline however, was good, so I did finish the book and would say it was not a total bust.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Not her best

    I have read many of Diana Palmers book buts this one was not one of her best. I had to stop and keep coming back to it just to finish

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Terrible. 

    Terrible. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Firegod

    He runs in with the shekit. He closes the den with mud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Kit

    Res3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Da flop?

    What da flop is this clan thing and can i join oh and is there an age limit? Cuz im only 13 oh and im also a guy sooo yeah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Great Sphynx

    A large cat emerges from the dark abyss of a shadow mighty and full vof power.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Octostar

    I wage war on your clan im from oomo result 1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    A young kit stumbles in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Anonymous

    Is this clan evil?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Lolcat

    Lolololololololololololololol lol :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Petalrose

    Anyone on?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 169 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9