Customer Reviews for

Dangerous

Average Rating 4
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 27, 2014

    ¿Danger is my middle name.¿  Maisie Danger Brown can actually sa

    “Danger is my middle name.”  Maisie Danger Brown can actually say that. Maisie is not a typical teenager. She’s been pretty sheltered.  She lives in Salt Lake City and she’s home schooled. Being raised by two scientists’ parents makes her very book smart. Her only friend is Luther, a boy from her neighborhood. She always dreamed of being an Astronaut. When an opportunity to attend Astronaut summer boot camp in Texas comes along she jumps at the chance.  She wants to get out and see more of the world. Maisie was born with one arm and her prosthetic arm she lovingly calls pincher. When she arrives at boot camp she decides to not wear uncomfortable pincher.  Maisie isn’t use to all the people staring at her. She doesn’t let the mean comments bother her. In fact, she makes a joke when some boys gross out about her missing limb. A very good looking boy named Jonathon Wilder acts like her missing arm is no big deal and he flirts with her. Maisie is hooked.  She experiences her first crush and first kiss. And she can tell you the exact number of kisses it was too. She’s paired off with a group of super geniuses and they are told whoever scores the best will take a ride into space.  Of course Maisie’s diverse group is picked along with Wilder to go into space.  Wilder suddenly dumps Maisie and she’s left sad and dejected.  But she doesn’t let that stop her from enjoying the dream of a lifetime— going into space. This is when Maisie’s world turns upside down.  
    I’ll try not to give more away about the story because you just need to read it for yourself with no spoilers.  There are many twists and turns you’ll never predict. You won’t know who the bad guys are and who is good. Things seem so bleak and dark at times you can’t imagine how anything good will turn out. 
    When I first heard about this book I was excited to read about a female superhero. This story wasn’t what I expected. I thought it would be more comic book style. You know a lot of “POW!” “BANG! “ “KA-POW!”  I was pleasantly surprised the story was even better. It has a realistic scientific feel to the process of becoming a superhero.  Maisie is my new favorite main character. She’s a normal teenager with flutters in her stomach when a certain boy is near. But for her age she’s smart and takes the responsibility of the world on her shoulders. 
    If you read Sci-fi books like “Ender’s Game” or enjoyed the movie you’ll love this book. It sort of reminds me of the 1986 movie “Space Camp.”But only at the beginning of the book, this story takes on a whole new original twist. I loved Luther and his usage of “Frak.” (It made me think of Battlestar Galactica. The old and much better one. My husband doesn’t agree. But turning Starbuck into a girl was detrimental in my eyes.) Dangerous even has a great romance. This is my kind of story— a mix of Superheroes, Sci-fi, Romance, and all wrapped nicely in a YA novel.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    REALLY GOOD!!!

    This book is amazing. I loved all the characters, all the twists, and all the adventure. The romance in this book is kinda mature, so I recommend this book for girls ages 14+. I was surprized when I realized that Shannon Hale wrote this book, because she only really writes fairytale-like stuff. However, I give this book 5 out of 5 (10 stars if possible x)) Read this book NOW!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Beautiful

    I thought it was beautiful and one of the best books shannon hale has ever written . I will read evvery single book that she writes . Her stories are amazing and I'll remember them forever. read dangerous and you'll be more than happy you did

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Gorgeous

    Loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Just as good

    Its just as good as princess academy

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2014

    Dangerous is a book with incredible potential, and there were a

    Dangerous is a book with incredible potential, and there were a number of elements I really enjoyed. But this book as a whole ended up being a hard sell for me, and I was left unconvinced by the story and its characters.




    Reason to Read:




    1. Plenty of space, science, and superpowers:




    As soon as there is a book that has a description which mentions space, I jump all over that - it's almost a guaranteed way to get me to read a book. I loved that Dangerous had a space story heavily influenced by science, because that made Maisie stand out to me as a character I could readily envision as a real person. The fact that Maisie is also missing a hand made her a really great character, too - we don't see this very often in YA, and I think it's so important to read about different characters with their own life hurdles (although I wasn't a fan of how this was shown).




    The problem is that this sounds like a dream, right? The problem was that the story just didn't deliver for me. I had the absolute hardest time with the romance, and it seemed to completely take over the book. It was present on every page, and it felt too forced me to buy into it and care. 




    But most importantly, the story was far too convoluted. I felt like I had whiplash trying to keep up with the fast pace and how quickly the story would change. It jumps around from one idea to another, and some characters seem to be stuck in the story for no apparent reason. 




    I actually found some of the jokes to be funny (or "punny" hehe) because I sometimes share that cheesy sense of humour. It was quirky, rather than annoying to me, but it wasn't enough to save the book. And I found Maisie's relationship with her parents to be remarkably touching. 




    Overall, Dangerous was a disappointing read for me because it felt like too much story in one little book, and I was completely unable to relate with the book or enjoy some of its most important plot points. 




    ARC received from Penguin Canada for review; no other compensation was received. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I didn¿t know what to expect from Dangerous by author Shannon Ha

    I didn’t know what to expect from Dangerous by author Shannon Hale. I haven’t read any of the author’s previous works and the description that I read for the book was pretty vague. Still, I was curious and I was interested in seeing what the novel would be about. What I anticipated from the novel was nothing like what I got (pretty shocking in my opinion). There’s action, sci-fi and alien technology among other things. Pretty intense, guys.

    Dangerous tells the story of main character Maisie Danger Brown, the daughter of two scientists who can only dream about going into space. So when the opportunity arises in the form of a contest Maisie eagerly enters and gains acceptance into a special program for a group of teens to experience a space camp. It’s there that Maisie meets kids just like her and gets sent into space where the scientists in charge of her and her group introduce them to alien materials that will change their lives forever.

    After coming into contact with the alien tech Maisie and her friends are suddenly capable of amazing, superhuman feats and become a part of a task force to use their powers seemingly for good. However it doesn’t take long for one member of the team to succumb to her abilities and become a threat. Suddenly the powers that the teens have are dangerous and each of them face coming to terms with it and not letting it control them. As Maisie delves deeper into the mystery behind the technology and people who gave her her abilities it becomes devastatingly clear that the fate of not just everybody she loves but the very world might all be resting in her hands.

    Dangerous has a somewhat slow start. After reading the first chapter I was a bit hesitant to get reading because it seemed like the novel would have a slow pace and be pretty dull. At a first glance I wasn’t very interested in Maisie’s character. She’s a braniac teenage girl who has one arm and half of the other but I felt like her character was going to be a total Mary Sue from how she’s portrayed in those first few chapters. But once Maisie goes to ‘space camp’ everything about her changes and she (in a fashion similar to what happened to The Fantastic Four) gains superhuman abilities.

    The plot for Dangerous does jump around a lot. At the start there’s a clear consistency that does give the novel a bit of a thrilling atmosphere but after a member of Maisie’s team dies the novel begins to get random. There are certain scenes that felt realistic considering the situation that Maisie finds herself in and then there were some others that just had me furrowing my brow and going huh? I had high hopes for the story after what happened in the beginning but my interest began to wane halfway through.

    Apart from that, the romance in the novel really wasn’t working for me. It was very forced and made no sense. The love interest (who I won’t name because spoilers) comes off as sweet in the beginning but turns out to be a scheming jerk. That alone should have made Maisie kick him to the curb however later on in the novel she excuses all of the insane, unforgivable things that he does all for a romance that was more lust than love.
    While Dangerous didn’t work out very well for me any readers who are looking for a Fantastic Four-esque sci-fi read should give Dangerous a shot. Any readers who are interested in novels with a superhero theme to it or just want a very unique story should look at getting their hands on Dangerous.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Don't get the sample!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I have a better review on my ipad!!!!!! Good book thought!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1