Customer Reviews for

Dangerous Angels: The Weetzie Bat Books

Average Rating 4.5
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Visceral.

    I didnt just read this book....I tasted it, touched it, smelled it, saw it, and heard it. Poetry that is oddly sensory- every be-bop and slinkster word delectable. In other words.....I adored every magical word of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    d ng r s ngl s

    Dangerous Angels is possibly my most favorite book in the whole wide world. Francesca Lia Block's slinkster cool fairy tale a go go writing style is maybe the most beautiful and transfixing I've ever stumbled across. Not only that; her characters are not only are totally relatable, but they're also ridiculouslyfabulouslywonderfully cool. I want to -be- them. In a way, they're almost TOO dreamperfect & cool, but that makes them all the more magical. And really, you don't even notice any of that when you're reading because you're so wrapped up in the stories. Dangerous Angels is made up of the whole series & I was afraid that after reading them all out of order I wouldn't like them as much one afer the other, in chronological order, as one story. But since Block has literary powers beyond my feeble imaginings, I should have known that you could read them separately or as one & they'd still be just as if not more breathtaking.<BR/><BR/>After reading this book, you will want to move to California & change your name to something as gnarly as Block's characters (Weetzie, Duck, Cherokee, Witch Baby, Angel Juan & My Secret Lover Man among others).

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2006

    my bible

    Ever since I discovered Weetzie Bat when I was 10 I have cherished Fracesca Lia Block's work, and reread all of her books until they fell apart. Her writing is so poetic and beautiful, you can easily lose youself in her world. She also shows Los Angeles in a very uinique unique light. It's a pleasure to have a complete book of all the Weetzie Bat tales.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2006

    I FREAKING LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!

    It make me want to laugh, cry, sing, dance, anything creative and raw, anything to come out of my heart alone. I related to Witch Baby most, and I wasa really a 'clutch pig'.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    This series is really good!

    The weezie bat has had one of the best impacts on my life(besides harry potter). Ms. Block has the writing style to have you hooked til the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    I cant even.....e.o

    This was(Lord knows why) in my " Books recommended for you" so I clicked it and ,after reading the summary and reviews, I got the sample and I .... I dont even know what to think •_• The writing style was as though someone gave a six year old child Twilight and asked them to try and replicate it. I mean 'Dirk did this and Weetzie did that' thing was annoying and offered little viewpoint on the situation and charcters feelings. Not to mention it was a horrible writing style for this type of story!! And the story was sooooo confusing and tended to go off on rabbit trails. First Dirk was super popular and weetzie was an outsider(i think) and then the became besties and then he was gay and then they both started acting like whores and then they went to hang with her father and then they went to a random convo with dirk and weatzies mother and how weird her name was and then <---- yeah thats a basic summary of the sample the way the book was written. It felt like one big, terribley written crack trip. Hated the characters, the writing style and the cliche story. I DO NOT RECOMMEND- AMAI

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Amazing

    I have loved this series since I first read it as a teenager and it is just as wonderful now as then. It was the style of the writing that first drew me to this author's books, and keeps me coming back for more now. This is a long-time favorte of mine and a collection Ihighly recommend. Magical, lovely, and filled with fun and unique characters, this is a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    DANGEROUS ANGELS BY FRANCESCA LIA BLOCK

    I BOUGHT THIS BOOK FOR MY DAUGHTER. SHE LOVES THIS SERIES, IT'S HER FAVORITE. EVEN THOUGH IT IS JUST FOR FUN, THAT CAN HAVE AN IMPACT ON SOMEONE. SO I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS BOOK TO ANY YOUNG PERSON LOOKING TO ESCAPE REALITY FOR AWHILE WITHOUT THE USE OF CHEMICALS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    a must read

    When I first read this book I was mesmerized. Not only by the initial story, but by the characters and setting. The entire time I was reading this I felt like I was watching an amazing, out of this world movie. The characters are all so relatable. While the book has a very magical element to it, the characters are so real. It makes be want to drop everything and move to Los Angeles. The imagery that Francesca Lia Block creates is nothing I have ever experienced before. There are just so many wonderful elements to this book that every time I re-read it (which I do very often) I find something new in it, and I never get bored of reading it. Not only is it fun to read, but it really makes you think. This is a book that will make you cry, laugh, and just stare at the page with your eyes wide and your chin hitting the floor. Hands down: the best book I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2005

    Bizarre and Beautiful

    Wow. An amazing, beautiful, mysterious, raw, emotional, colourful book. Unlike anything I have ever seen before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    Block is the greatest!

    This is the first book I ever read by Block and I've read everyone I could get my hands on since. I read this book the summer before my second year in High School and it was truly inspiring in a creative be who you are kind of way. Everyone should read it no matter how old you are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2004

    One of the best books I've evr read

    I loved fairytales a a child. 'Dangerous Angels' puts a dark twist on fairytales. I have read this book 3 times. After I finished it the first time, I had to find more by this author. So far, I've read 3 of her other books and loved them as much. I highly recommend this book for anyone with a dark imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2004

    How Can You NOT Love This Book From Just The Title

    I love this book, its so different from everything else. It's unique, and you know that by just the first page, you're gonna get hooked on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2004

    How can you not love a book with a character named 'My Secret Agent Lover Man'?

    I've had to read this class for several of my adolescent lit. classes. My professors are always impressed by the use of imagery and Block's unique style of writing. It's a refreshing break from 'Are You There God, It's Me Margaret?' Some of the content is a bit racey for middle schoolers, but it's perfect for a highschool aged kid. Block is a magnificent writer and it is a pleasure to read her stories over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2003

    If they had ten stars I would give this book ten stars!!!!!

    Any person of any age will love this book. There is so much to love about. You can tell that the auther had a great time writing this book and put alot of tima and effert into making it this good. I have told everyone I know at least 3 times to read this book. Boys and girls have fallen in love with it as much as I did. I hope you buy it at love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2003

    eee! my favorite!

    im 14 and i just started reading books. i know it sounds silly.. but this is my favorite series thingy! i love the authar lady and i have read i was a teenage fairy and the hanged man.. and eee! im reading Nymph next and i just wanna say this is my favorite book. AGAIN..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2003

    great

    this book makes you look at the world differently..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2003

    Dangerous Angels is the greatest

    This book plays with a person's mind. When reading this book you look at things with different perspectives. Dangerous Angels makes you want more. Thank you for writing this book it helped me get through a hard break up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2003

    4 thumbs up

    This was one of the few books I have read from cover to cover. I couldnt put it down. I love the way its written and how everything has a sort of magical sense to it. If there is one book in the world that I could read over and over again, it would be this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2002

    Dangerous Angels: The Weetzie Bat Books

    i thought this book, or the five in one, was just amazing! i bought individually "Witch Baby" but, realized it was book #2 and wanted the rest! i LOVE Francesca's books! she's so entertaining and she's so talented and amazing! ALL her books are AWESOME!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4