Customer Reviews for

The Dangerous Book for Boys

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

If gender means so little to you...

This is an amazing book. I realize it is targeted more towards my little brother, and I will probably buy it for him. I intend to buy the author's book for girls for my sister. I have no problem reading a book that says 'boys' on the title. I am interested in stars, ...
This is an amazing book. I realize it is targeted more towards my little brother, and I will probably buy it for him. I intend to buy the author's book for girls for my sister. I have no problem reading a book that says 'boys' on the title. I am interested in stars, and wars, and navigation... but instead of having a tantrum, I'll just read the book. Actually, I'll read both. :)

posted by Anonymous on November 28, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

the gender binary: not your friend

As a self-identified woman, I find books like this insulting. Why should I miss out on all of these tips/insights/stories for boys? This just reinforces a gender binary that never should have been imposed in the first place. If I don't conform to the stereotype of 'femi...
As a self-identified woman, I find books like this insulting. Why should I miss out on all of these tips/insights/stories for boys? This just reinforces a gender binary that never should have been imposed in the first place. If I don't conform to the stereotype of 'feminine' or 'woman,' well, that's life. I'm not sorry. Likewise, 'boys' shouldn't have to conform to what western society thinks 'boys' should be like. Who fits those definitions? No one really does. So break free of the gender binary and realize there's more to life than gender roles, because gender is a societal construction- I can change how I am perceived simply by binding my chest. Does that make me a man? What is gender? Start asking questions!

posted by Anonymous on November 5, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2007

    If gender means so little to you...

    This is an amazing book. I realize it is targeted more towards my little brother, and I will probably buy it for him. I intend to buy the author's book for girls for my sister. I have no problem reading a book that says 'boys' on the title. I am interested in stars, and wars, and navigation... but instead of having a tantrum, I'll just read the book. Actually, I'll read both. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    Rainy day book

    On so many levels this book is worth its weight in gold. Popular in our family was the treehouse and go-cart how-to pages. Now that it's winter, the inside activities are used quite a bit. On our wish list: the Dangerous book for Girls.

    It's not just for kids, the uncles and aunties have borrowed it too. It makes a wonderful gift, easy to buy and send right here on this site.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    FANTASTIC BOOK!!!!

    I've given this book as a present to many boys and they've loved it! I have one at our home for child guests to read and often find my 70+ year old husband reading it! He loves it! There's so much information in it - it's like a Boy Scout handbook 100 times bigger! It even has a section on "Girls" in it and it's well done! I love to read it myself!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Getting my cousins into plenty of trouble!

    My cousin has 3 kids - 6, 8, and 9, girl, boy, girl. For Christmas I got them The Double Daring Book for Girls, The Dangerous Book for Boys, and The Daring Book for Girls respectively. The boy was hooked as soon as he saw a project that included a Swiss Army Knife. The girls immediately sat down with me and we looked through both books in their entirety. They can't wait to try out the projects and activities and kept calling out to their dad and uncle all the things they're going to do. There was also a bit of "Girls rule, boys drool" flying back and forth as they compared books. I'd say they were definitely a hit!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    Truly Perfect for Boys 8-80!

    I bought for my son (5), my nephew (9) and my grandfather (80). They all loved it. Great general fun. Pirates! Building go carts! Girls! Games!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    Great Book -- Lots of things to do and learn!

    I really enjoyed this book. Lots of things to learn and things to do. Great for Cub Scouts, etc. Great way to spend some time with your boys.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2007

    A Piece of Reality...Mom knows best

    What a wonderful book for young boys! A collection of fun and exciting activities that strengthen friendships, stretch the imagination and get them outdoors! And for those gender sensitive girls...get a grip..like all those super chick shows/movies aren't gender twisted?? I'm one female who says let the boys be boys, and if once in awhile they don't want to play with the girls..its okay!! Thanks for one for the boys!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My 8-yr-old loves it!

    I got this book for my son and it is a big hit with him! He got very enthusiastic about it, which made me buy him the other books related to the subject. Absolutely recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    great book

    Has a lot of neat & interesting facts for all ages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This is one of those rare books you want to recommend to everyone you know, especially is they have a son or a grandson.

    I bought this book for my teenage grandson and have recommended it to everyone who has a son, a grandson or a male in the family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Dangerous Book for boys helps with Family time

    I bought this book for my 8 yr old son for a Christmas gift and we have all loved it thus far. It has given me a place to go for those curiousity questions that young boys love to ask. and the topic he wondered about is usually expanded upon more than I would've expected. Our family time has greatly increased as well due to using the book with the Dangerous Book for boys board game which I found at Walmart and Toys R us. We look up stuff in the book that the game is asking questions about like constellations. The game however seems to be fading away becasue I found the game on clearance at both locations. The book is both informative and experiential. Lots of things to learn and do like tying knots and building things. Highly reccommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    Great Review By:Gideon C. Brown

    I think it is filled with great, also I made my dream tree house thanks to that book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2008

    Almost like special forces

    I bought this book and read it. Then I gave it to my son and told him that if he learned all that is in this book he would be almost like a mountain man or a green beret. This book shows a boy all different ways to have fun in the woods as well as ways to survive in case of some kind of catastrophy while camping. I can't write enough good things about this book, so buy it for your sons and allow them to impress you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    Every boy should have this book...

    Every boy should have this book. Do you know why? Because it's awesome! It has everything from making a battery, to latin phrases every boy should know. Being a professional reader myself makes this review even more true. Remember, every boy has to have this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2007

    Way excellent!

    This book not only shows you how to do cool stuff your dad and grandfather did when they were kids, but explains a lot of things that kids everywhere wonder about. It's like a boy scout manual, but without all the meetings and uniforms. Some of the stuff is silly but cool, but other things are really useful to know, especially the first aid information. (You could save somebody's life!) On the other hand, a few things are somewhat dangerous like the book title says, such as the slingshot and bow and arrow. Oh well- at least you'll know first aid to treat any wounds! (Just kidding!) I would say all kids should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2007

    A must for any boy age 8 - 80!!!

    This is a wonderful book. I just got it for my 5 year old son and 9 mo nephew. While they are too young to appreciate it now, I certainly expect the cover to be well worn as they grow. The book is very easy to read, and has a little bit about most everything. Every little boy (or big boy!) needs this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2007

    Needed this for my boys years ago!! Never too late to give it now.

    I wish I would have had this for my boys that are now Men, even though I know there would have been some interesting science projects that could have run amook,at least they would have learned how to handle them in the book as well! The 1st purchase was for a Grandson, but kept it for our home instead! I am giving this to all of the males and females in our extended family-no matter what the age! I am 57, my Mother is 78 and when I brought home the 1st copy, we both read the entire book-relating different sections to each other as we read of things that inspired us, such as:pg 73 had us making crystals,or where it answered many questions, such as:pg.16-17 How to Make a Battery,or brought us to fits of laughter 'Girls'pg 109-110. Much to Everyone's thumbs up, it helped broadened our library with the list of books 'Every Boy Should Read' and settled the WHO or Whom challenge once and for all!! Please add this to your list for anyone you love. I promise you will be as happy as those that recieve it will be. My heartfelt Thanks to the Authors! I must say I was saddened to read the direction that some of the reviews took. I honestly believe that we all have the ability to rise above 'gender' accusations and be enriched by what this book truely offers. My Grandmother always said 'You recognize who you are in those you seek to learn from'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2007

    My favorite gift for baby showers

    I absolutely loved this book. I bought one for each of my son's. When my father in law saw it, he wanted one as well. Lots of useful facts and fun stuff to do. Stuff I always wanted to know. I now give this as a main staple to anyone of my friends having a baby shower. I have probably bought at least 30 copies so far as gifts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2007

    The norm

    I believe that this is a great book for the 'normal' boys in todays society. Perhaps most of the things in this book will become a lost art in the years to come, which is another reason this book is innovative and one of a kind. This book IS gender specific, and if there is any problem with that, then maybe you should get one of your female activists to write a 'Dangerous book for girls'. I truly love this book, and will most definitely share it with my children as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2007

    Excellent!

    This is the kind of book young boys, and all, should be reading nowadays, especially couch potatoes, computer geeks and video game drones. Get out and do something exciting and healthy like this book reads!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3