BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Dangerous Days of Daniel X (Daniel X Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 369 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(215)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Loved it....

Bought the audio book to encourage my 13 year old son and his friend to read and perhaps fall in love with the character so they will read the next book on their own. It worked...not only did I enjoy listening with them on a long car ride, but they begged me to turn it ...
Bought the audio book to encourage my 13 year old son and his friend to read and perhaps fall in love with the character so they will read the next book on their own. It worked...not only did I enjoy listening with them on a long car ride, but they begged me to turn it on around town on short trips to. They didn't want to get out of the car, but rather sit longer in the garage to listen to the book 'quite unusual for 13 year old boys'. They are anxious to read the next book when it comes out. I thought it was a little Ben 10 meets Men in Black at first, but ended up really enjoying it almost as much as the boys. Great read 'listen' for this age group and funny. Thanks so much James Paterson for starting to write series that young adults really love to read. I love Alex Cross and the Beach-books, etc and just starting on the female murder club books...but Maximum Ride series and Daniel X are great to share my love of reading with my son. Keep up the good work. All those blow hearts that were disappointed should take it for what it was meant to be a fast past fun alien read...you can read a book jacket can't you?

posted by Anonymous on September 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Daniel X

Patterson, J., & Ledwidge, M. (2008). The Dangerous Days of Daniel X. New York: Little, Brown and Company.

0316002925

Poor Michael Ledwidge. I feel bad for him. Patterson's name graces both the spine and the top of the book cover, while Ledgwidge is tacked on in...
Patterson, J., & Ledwidge, M. (2008). The Dangerous Days of Daniel X. New York: Little, Brown and Company.

0316002925

Poor Michael Ledwidge. I feel bad for him. Patterson's name graces both the spine and the top of the book cover, while Ledgwidge is tacked on in smaller font at the bottom. I won't be staging a Show Michael Ledwidge Some Love Protest. For two reasons:

1. I'm lazy
2. Patterson's name will make Mikey-boy a lotta money. He'll probably be able to throw his earnings up in the air and sing The Flying Lizards' "Money. That's what I want."
(I too can throw my money in the air and watch it flutter to the ground. However, seeing a $5 and a $1 bill land at my feet is far from exciting)

First off a warning: The Dangerous Days of Daniel X is (OF COURSE!!!!!) becoming a series. I suppose Daniel X had quite a few dangerous days as an alien hunter (I know I do). I offer this warning because, perhaps, like me you pick up what seems like an interesting book, read it, then discover to truly know what happens to the characters you've become attached to you will need to read a dozen more books. There goes several months worth of reading something better for you.

I'll also give the spoiler-ish warning that a character gets shot, but survives. There is some pain and consequence involved, but it you hate seeing guns in the books you share with children, you may want to avoid this.

So what's this book about? Well, it's about an orphan alien hunter, of course. Daniel must hunt for one of the most dangerous aliens and also face betrayal while searching for a friend or family member. Oh, and he likes elephants.

Now on to the actual review. This is a fun and fast read. Lot's of action, more action (too much action?) and very short chapters. This book would be a good teacher recommendation to a struggling YA reader who needs to build some confidence.

The book include a lot of popular culture references that will date the narrative quickly. (But then, I don't think Michael X's dangerous days were meant to become classics) Overall, the plot feels thrown together. Don't get me wrong, it flows well and is understandable. But it feels quickly written, which then lends itself to being quickly read without much thought.


Activities to do with the book:

Discuss how tension is created and maintained throughout the novel. Create illustrations to accompany the book or used found objects to recreate settings and scenes. Have students design their own alien-write a description and illustrate it.

Also, a teacher could briefly teach on the anatomies of the human ear and brain. (You'll understand why once you have read the book)


Favorite Quotes:

"If this were a movie instead of real life, this would be the part where in a strange, ominous voice I'd say, "Take me to your leader!"
But since you are far more important in making a difference in this world than the earth's leaders, and last time I checked on the Internet those leaders seem to have more than enough on their plates, and for the most part I'm not a total dork, I'll just go with a simple "Hi"" (p. 3).

"Now pay attention, because this is important, and also way out of the ordinary. I suspect you've never seen, or heard about, or read anything like this before" (p. 30).

"And if you think about it, creating is the best superpower of them all. It's a whole lot better than being part spider" (p. 45).

posted by SJKessel on March 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 372 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    Loved it....

    Bought the audio book to encourage my 13 year old son and his friend to read and perhaps fall in love with the character so they will read the next book on their own. It worked...not only did I enjoy listening with them on a long car ride, but they begged me to turn it on around town on short trips to. They didn't want to get out of the car, but rather sit longer in the garage to listen to the book 'quite unusual for 13 year old boys'. They are anxious to read the next book when it comes out. I thought it was a little Ben 10 meets Men in Black at first, but ended up really enjoying it almost as much as the boys. Great read 'listen' for this age group and funny. Thanks so much James Paterson for starting to write series that young adults really love to read. I love Alex Cross and the Beach-books, etc and just starting on the female murder club books...but Maximum Ride series and Daniel X are great to share my love of reading with my son. Keep up the good work. All those blow hearts that were disappointed should take it for what it was meant to be a fast past fun alien read...you can read a book jacket can't you?

    30 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Quick and easy, just the way I like em

    If you are expecting a literary masterpiece, go read something else. This is a quick, easy read that you will probably finish in a couple hours. That being said, I thought it was really good for what it was. It kept me entertained throughout the book and made me laugh at the jokes. I will read the sequels, as I enjoy these kind of books. However, if you enjoy analyzing and picking over every single detail of the story for deeper meaning, you will find it rather shallow. Read it when you have a lazy afternoon and are looking for a few hours to fill, and you will not be disappointed.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Daniel X

    Patterson, J., & Ledwidge, M. (2008). The Dangerous Days of Daniel X. New York: Little, Brown and Company.

    0316002925

    Poor Michael Ledwidge. I feel bad for him. Patterson's name graces both the spine and the top of the book cover, while Ledgwidge is tacked on in smaller font at the bottom. I won't be staging a Show Michael Ledwidge Some Love Protest. For two reasons:

    1. I'm lazy
    2. Patterson's name will make Mikey-boy a lotta money. He'll probably be able to throw his earnings up in the air and sing The Flying Lizards' "Money. That's what I want."
    (I too can throw my money in the air and watch it flutter to the ground. However, seeing a $5 and a $1 bill land at my feet is far from exciting)

    First off a warning: The Dangerous Days of Daniel X is (OF COURSE!!!!!) becoming a series. I suppose Daniel X had quite a few dangerous days as an alien hunter (I know I do). I offer this warning because, perhaps, like me you pick up what seems like an interesting book, read it, then discover to truly know what happens to the characters you've become attached to you will need to read a dozen more books. There goes several months worth of reading something better for you.

    I'll also give the spoiler-ish warning that a character gets shot, but survives. There is some pain and consequence involved, but it you hate seeing guns in the books you share with children, you may want to avoid this.

    So what's this book about? Well, it's about an orphan alien hunter, of course. Daniel must hunt for one of the most dangerous aliens and also face betrayal while searching for a friend or family member. Oh, and he likes elephants.

    Now on to the actual review. This is a fun and fast read. Lot's of action, more action (too much action?) and very short chapters. This book would be a good teacher recommendation to a struggling YA reader who needs to build some confidence.

    The book include a lot of popular culture references that will date the narrative quickly. (But then, I don't think Michael X's dangerous days were meant to become classics) Overall, the plot feels thrown together. Don't get me wrong, it flows well and is understandable. But it feels quickly written, which then lends itself to being quickly read without much thought.


    Activities to do with the book:

    Discuss how tension is created and maintained throughout the novel. Create illustrations to accompany the book or used found objects to recreate settings and scenes. Have students design their own alien-write a description and illustrate it.

    Also, a teacher could briefly teach on the anatomies of the human ear and brain. (You'll understand why once you have read the book)


    Favorite Quotes:

    "If this were a movie instead of real life, this would be the part where in a strange, ominous voice I'd say, "Take me to your leader!"
    But since you are far more important in making a difference in this world than the earth's leaders, and last time I checked on the Internet those leaders seem to have more than enough on their plates, and for the most part I'm not a total dork, I'll just go with a simple "Hi"" (p. 3).

    "Now pay attention, because this is important, and also way out of the ordinary. I suspect you've never seen, or heard about, or read anything like this before" (p. 30).

    "And if you think about it, creating is the best superpower of them all. It's a whole lot better than being part spider" (p. 45).

    8 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    SWEET!

    This is a reallly really good book. it is really cool and, I mean awsome how he can make animals do any thing and he can turn into anything he wants to. and there is a twist later on the book that will shock you. and also look for the next book I posted a link on the botom of this review.
    as an added bonus I will add the review for DANIEL X WATCH THE SKYS

    This is the second in the daniel x books and is just as good as the first mabey better but I dont recomend reading it if have not read the first. in this book daneil will face th bigest chalenge of his mission yet. How will he win when his oppenet knows every moove? find out in this book.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Just read the sample

    I just read the free sample and cant wait to get the whole book just off the first three chapters i give it a five star rating!!!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Awesome

    This is an awesome and intriguing book. I had to read this for Reading in school and I instantly fell in love with the book. I can't wait to read the rest of the books in the series. I love the extraterrestrialism in it and Daniel's amazing powers. I highly recommend this book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Patterson should stick to adult novels

    This was billed as a book for young adults/teens. Some of these type of books have been huge with adults (Harry Potter/Twilight). I can't imagine this book will get anywhere near those heights. This book is bland, boring, obvious, too short, and ill-paced. The voices sound like an adult trying to sound "cool" like a kid by nrarrating the events and throwing in pop culture items. Its bad and blatant. Kids don't talk like that. Also, the main character is so powerful he's never in actual danger. Maybe young adults will like or even love this, but there is zero crossover appeal and I love Patterson's other works. I was also planning to check out the Maximum Ride series but now I can't see that happening. A skip if you're older than 14.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    WAIT

    THEY HAVE THE NERVE TO SELL 97 PAGES OF BOOK FOR 8 DOLLARS THAT IS THE WORST OFFER EVER !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    >[
    GRRRRRRRR

    5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    One of the best books ive ever read!!!

    This was one of the the best books that i will ever read

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Stay with Maximum Ride

    I first started reading this because i loved the max ride series. However, as the story went on i was losing interesting. It didn't have alot of depth and became rather silly. By the end i thought, yeah, defenitely sticking with Max, her adventures are way better starting with HER FIRST book. I have no plans to continue reading Daniel X. I gave the book i had to goodwill. Readers should just read Maximum Ride and stick with her.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Daniel X

    Good but the characters were not as well developed as in the Harry Potter novels or the twilight Series.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    loved this book

    i loved this book! its funny thrilling and a book that i could read again and again. i really strongly recommend this book for people who love huge and surprising turns.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2009

    I Couldn't Put It Down (Reviewed by TheBookworm

    The Dangerous Days of Daniel X<BR/>By James Patterson & Michael Ledwidge<BR/>Pub. Date: July 2008 <BR/>4 out of 5 stars<BR/>PG - Violence<BR/>Recommended<BR/><BR/>Ever since his parents were cruelly murdered by aliens, he has taken over their job, to protect Earth from the aliens on the List. Daniel X, alien hunter, has the unique power of creation, such as being able to manipulate objects or his ability to transform into animals. Daniel has now set his sights on a powerful alien in California who has plans of destroying earth and recreating it in his own evil likeness. He begins his search confident in his skills and not fearful enough of this top ten List ranking alien. Right when Daniel feels he has found someone he can relate to, he is betrayed and captured by cunning, underhanded means and left trapped and wounded in an alien spaceship cell. Will he survive? And most important, will Earth survive?<BR/><BR/>The Dangerous Days of Daniel X held my attention throughout the book. Though this book resembled a poorly-scripted, made-for-TV sci-fi movie, I couldn¿t put it down. I may have grinned or laughed at the absolute wrong moments in the storyline, but I was enjoying the weird, gruesome alien horrors and the main characters¿ many oddities.<BR/><BR/>While Daniel¿s many powers were interesting and captivating, they were also quite confusing. It was hard to decipher what was concrete reality or what he manipulated (or ¿created¿) into existence. If I didn¿t have to spend so much time trying to unravel what was really going on, I believe I would have enjoyed and understood his amazing abilities better.<BR/><BR/>There were quite a few modern day references, such as movies, actors, and etc, that I understood and laughed at, but these additions will easily age the book and become harder to understand for later generations. Books from the 80s had their modern movie and music references but nearly three decades later, young adults have no idea what these references mean, so any humor or depth behind them are lost. It most likely will happen to this book too.<BR/><BR/>The climax of the story ended surprisingly quick. I was getting pumped up for the final battle scene between good and evil¿ and then the battle ended in what felt like seconds. The battle was won in a clever and gross way that I completely didn¿t expect. I was pleased with the villain¿s demise, but most of my awe and wonderment was at the speed this huge scene was carried out. I look back and still can¿t believe how sudden it happened. Yet somehow it worked.<BR/><BR/>The Dangerous Days of Daniel X pleasantly surprised me, the reluctant sci-fi reader, with a bizarre cast of characters who possessed nondescript talents which played out by unexpected methods. I believe readers will most enjoy this book, when they view it in a slightly comical manner. If you are a sci-fi reader who is looking for a little breather from heavy, ominous reading I suggest The Dangerous Days of Daniel X.<BR/><BR/>Date Reviewed: January 14th, 2009<BR/><BR/>For more book reviews and book information check out my blog at www.inthecurrent.blogspot.com

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Cade

    Daniel x is amazing

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Sounds good

    Does anybody think i should get it

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    STOP RIGHT THERE! Get that plan out of your head to read this book

    I bought this book as a sort of time-waster, but to my dismay it was neither satisfying nor entertaining. I was so taken aback by this book my cousin was forced to read it to make sure my opinion wasn't exaggerated. She agreed. First off Patterson attempts to create a teenager character and fails miserably (Sorry, but I'm pretty sure he's too old to do this). Secondly the character's powers just appear out of nowhere. Maybe a better way of putting it is that he has them, but doesn't feel the need to tell us. POOF! He uses them and ends the scene with a "oh.by the way I can.(insert power)" Thirdly the plot is ABSURD. I had no idea where the heck Patterson was going with this story and still don't. Kid's parents are dead, he's a bounty hunter, he goes to another planet??? Ugh. There are just so many negatives about this book I can't continue.I eventually sold this book off to some other person and felt extremely guilty afterwards. That's how bad it is. You may think I'm going overboard with this and I suppose that's your opinion, but just remember I warned you. Hope you like this book if you're into this kind of stuff.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Crap

    97 pages of crap. I've had longer and better bowel movements then this book.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Little moe Little more...

    I love the books but I want free ones to be longer, I cant always keep spending money on books

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    Stop trying to make another Max...

    Really. He doesn't really have any parents, he has special powers, he himself is "special" and he's the only one who can do what he does? Also, he's hot. Awesome. I don't know if it's because of Michael Ledwidge, but I hated the way this was written. Oh, he just happens to be able to do this and that. And he loves elephants. That was just randomly thrown in there, like it's Daniel's cute little quirk. The only cute little quirk that stands alone in this perfectly heroic and pathetic excuse for a character. It's a bit Dylan-esque, no? Tsk tsk.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    Popular Action Fluff

    This book may be entertaining for its target audience, but offers little else beyond entertainment. It felt like I was reading fluff designed to be popular (and bring in the dough) and nothing else. It certainly had plenty of action. I would assume it was because of its target audience, but I've read much better and more rewarding books made for the same audience. I'd say this is a no-go.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 372 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19