Customer Reviews for

The Dangerous Days of Daniel X (Daniel X Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 367 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(215)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Loved it....

Bought the audio book to encourage my 13 year old son and his friend to read and perhaps fall in love with the character so they will read the next book on their own. It worked...not only did I enjoy listening with them on a long car ride, but they begged me to turn it ...
Bought the audio book to encourage my 13 year old son and his friend to read and perhaps fall in love with the character so they will read the next book on their own. It worked...not only did I enjoy listening with them on a long car ride, but they begged me to turn it on around town on short trips to. They didn't want to get out of the car, but rather sit longer in the garage to listen to the book 'quite unusual for 13 year old boys'. They are anxious to read the next book when it comes out. I thought it was a little Ben 10 meets Men in Black at first, but ended up really enjoying it almost as much as the boys. Great read 'listen' for this age group and funny. Thanks so much James Paterson for starting to write series that young adults really love to read. I love Alex Cross and the Beach-books, etc and just starting on the female murder club books...but Maximum Ride series and Daniel X are great to share my love of reading with my son. Keep up the good work. All those blow hearts that were disappointed should take it for what it was meant to be a fast past fun alien read...you can read a book jacket can't you?

posted by Anonymous on September 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Daniel X

Patterson, J., & Ledwidge, M. (2008). The Dangerous Days of Daniel X. New York: Little, Brown and Company.

0316002925

Poor Michael Ledwidge. I feel bad for him. Patterson's name graces both the spine and the top of the book cover, while Ledgwidge is tacked on in...
Patterson, J., & Ledwidge, M. (2008). The Dangerous Days of Daniel X. New York: Little, Brown and Company.

0316002925

Poor Michael Ledwidge. I feel bad for him. Patterson's name graces both the spine and the top of the book cover, while Ledgwidge is tacked on in smaller font at the bottom. I won't be staging a Show Michael Ledwidge Some Love Protest. For two reasons:

1. I'm lazy
2. Patterson's name will make Mikey-boy a lotta money. He'll probably be able to throw his earnings up in the air and sing The Flying Lizards' "Money. That's what I want."
(I too can throw my money in the air and watch it flutter to the ground. However, seeing a $5 and a $1 bill land at my feet is far from exciting)

First off a warning: The Dangerous Days of Daniel X is (OF COURSE!!!!!) becoming a series. I suppose Daniel X had quite a few dangerous days as an alien hunter (I know I do). I offer this warning because, perhaps, like me you pick up what seems like an interesting book, read it, then discover to truly know what happens to the characters you've become attached to you will need to read a dozen more books. There goes several months worth of reading something better for you.

I'll also give the spoiler-ish warning that a character gets shot, but survives. There is some pain and consequence involved, but it you hate seeing guns in the books you share with children, you may want to avoid this.

So what's this book about? Well, it's about an orphan alien hunter, of course. Daniel must hunt for one of the most dangerous aliens and also face betrayal while searching for a friend or family member. Oh, and he likes elephants.

Now on to the actual review. This is a fun and fast read. Lot's of action, more action (too much action?) and very short chapters. This book would be a good teacher recommendation to a struggling YA reader who needs to build some confidence.

The book include a lot of popular culture references that will date the narrative quickly. (But then, I don't think Michael X's dangerous days were meant to become classics) Overall, the plot feels thrown together. Don't get me wrong, it flows well and is understandable. But it feels quickly written, which then lends itself to being quickly read without much thought.


Activities to do with the book:

Discuss how tension is created and maintained throughout the novel. Create illustrations to accompany the book or used found objects to recreate settings and scenes. Have students design their own alien-write a description and illustrate it.

Also, a teacher could briefly teach on the anatomies of the human ear and brain. (You'll understand why once you have read the book)


Favorite Quotes:

"If this were a movie instead of real life, this would be the part where in a strange, ominous voice I'd say, "Take me to your leader!"
But since you are far more important in making a difference in this world than the earth's leaders, and last time I checked on the Internet those leaders seem to have more than enough on their plates, and for the most part I'm not a total dork, I'll just go with a simple "Hi"" (p. 3).

"Now pay attention, because this is important, and also way out of the ordinary. I suspect you've never seen, or heard about, or read anything like this before" (p. 30).

"And if you think about it, creating is the best superpower of them all. It's a whole lot better than being part spider" (p. 45).

posted by SJKessel on March 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Daniel X

    Patterson, J., & Ledwidge, M. (2008). The Dangerous Days of Daniel X. New York: Little, Brown and Company.

    0316002925

    Poor Michael Ledwidge. I feel bad for him. Patterson's name graces both the spine and the top of the book cover, while Ledgwidge is tacked on in smaller font at the bottom. I won't be staging a Show Michael Ledwidge Some Love Protest. For two reasons:

    1. I'm lazy
    2. Patterson's name will make Mikey-boy a lotta money. He'll probably be able to throw his earnings up in the air and sing The Flying Lizards' "Money. That's what I want."
    (I too can throw my money in the air and watch it flutter to the ground. However, seeing a $5 and a $1 bill land at my feet is far from exciting)

    First off a warning: The Dangerous Days of Daniel X is (OF COURSE!!!!!) becoming a series. I suppose Daniel X had quite a few dangerous days as an alien hunter (I know I do). I offer this warning because, perhaps, like me you pick up what seems like an interesting book, read it, then discover to truly know what happens to the characters you've become attached to you will need to read a dozen more books. There goes several months worth of reading something better for you.

    I'll also give the spoiler-ish warning that a character gets shot, but survives. There is some pain and consequence involved, but it you hate seeing guns in the books you share with children, you may want to avoid this.

    So what's this book about? Well, it's about an orphan alien hunter, of course. Daniel must hunt for one of the most dangerous aliens and also face betrayal while searching for a friend or family member. Oh, and he likes elephants.

    Now on to the actual review. This is a fun and fast read. Lot's of action, more action (too much action?) and very short chapters. This book would be a good teacher recommendation to a struggling YA reader who needs to build some confidence.

    The book include a lot of popular culture references that will date the narrative quickly. (But then, I don't think Michael X's dangerous days were meant to become classics) Overall, the plot feels thrown together. Don't get me wrong, it flows well and is understandable. But it feels quickly written, which then lends itself to being quickly read without much thought.


    Activities to do with the book:

    Discuss how tension is created and maintained throughout the novel. Create illustrations to accompany the book or used found objects to recreate settings and scenes. Have students design their own alien-write a description and illustrate it.

    Also, a teacher could briefly teach on the anatomies of the human ear and brain. (You'll understand why once you have read the book)


    Favorite Quotes:

    "If this were a movie instead of real life, this would be the part where in a strange, ominous voice I'd say, "Take me to your leader!"
    But since you are far more important in making a difference in this world than the earth's leaders, and last time I checked on the Internet those leaders seem to have more than enough on their plates, and for the most part I'm not a total dork, I'll just go with a simple "Hi"" (p. 3).

    "Now pay attention, because this is important, and also way out of the ordinary. I suspect you've never seen, or heard about, or read anything like this before" (p. 30).

    "And if you think about it, creating is the best superpower of them all. It's a whole lot better than being part spider" (p. 45).

    8 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    expensive

    Why does the nook book cost as much as the paperback ? I cannot even use my discount card so it's actually more expensive, not even counting the cost of the nook itself !
    Sorry folks- you've lost me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Whats was James thinking while writing this book?

    If you like science fiction and lots of gooey and gore stuff then this book is just right for you. Anyone who does not like science fiction and lots of gooey and gore stuff then don't read it, you will get bored. It could have been better. After reading the Maximum Ride series by James Patterson I thought this book was going to be as good, but it want half as good. What was James thinking while writing this book?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2009

    Don't bother.

    A book that I had trouble caring about. I finished it purely out of curiosity.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    OK book

    I liked the plot of the book, but the characters seem two-dimensional and half baked. The antagonist is ugly and wants to rule the world for no reason. I found that Daniel was somewhat arrogant and had too many powers he didn't use. I mean, it's cool that he can talk to elephants and all, but it is not really that important to know. Dana is nice and seems sweet, but I don't like how she is almost PERFECT and it seems like she just entertains Daniel..... and that's it. Though the plot was pretty good and JP did a good job with the action stuff.
    If Patterson had fleshed out the characters bit more, I probably would have given it four stars.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Sorry maybe next time

    trying to be cooler than it really is. Doesn't ever really accomplish anything. Does nothing to draw you in or anticipate a sequel. Try it out if you like but it's really not very good.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

    I STARTED READIND THIS BOOK.. well well.... it was good. then.. ---------------------------------------->... IT GOT BORING...... im reading something else now

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2008

    Not up to par

    I have been collecting Patterson books for many years, this was disappointing. I read about 30 pages and couldn't go on. If I knew the subject matter,I wouldn't have bought it. My bad, next time i'll look into subject before ordering.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2008

    My Least Favorite Patterson Book

    I love most other Patterson books except this one. It's NOT his usual exciting page turner & doesn't read like he has written most of it. He should stick to 'his' regular reading audience & there are millions of us!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2008

    huh.........?

    This should have been marked differently. The blurb on the inside cover leads you to believe this might be an adult book but its a saturday morning kids alien special. This book was bad i kept turning pages and waiting for it to get better, never happend. then it was over, i will not be reading the sequels. Im sure children 10-15 will enjoy dangerous daniel. im all set thanks anyways.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2008

    Awful and very short

    Did not meet my expectations. Very short and not worth the money to buy. Don't bother.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    Not Another Maximum Ride

    I was so excited for this book, since I'm a huge fan of the Maximum Ride series. This is just stupid. Just the whole plot is terribly cheesy,and the way it's written really annoys me. How sarcastic can a kid be when he's about to be killed. I mean the kid just wont shut up with his sarcastic remarks to an alien named Seth. It was beyond words annoying. Although I hated most of it, it kept me turning the pages. Probably mostly because I wanted to get it over with and add another title to my summer reading list. I don't recommend it.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2008

    Short & Sweet? (not really!) ALIENS?

    I have read every James Patterson book and this one is nothing to rave about. It was rather disappointing. I love Alex Cross, the Womens Murder Club and even Maximum Ride books but this one...it is really a waste of money. I only got it because, like I said, I have read every other James Patterson book. I won't buy another Daniel X book. A pure waste of time and money. Sorry James!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2008

    Where's Alex Cross?

    I only made it to Chapter 5. I had to stop the madness. How about more Alex Cross or the Womens Murder Club. I should have opened Daniel X in the story to see what kind of a story this was. A waste of time and money!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2008

    Preteen boys are gonna love it. Me? Not so much.

    Adult Patterson fans beware--this title is for a much younger audience. Think Captain Underpants meets Ghostbusters. The plot was a bit thin and superficial. I don't feel that this title was on par with the Maximum Ride titles. But, I do think that it will find a niche with 9-12 year old monster-loving boys.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2