Customer Reviews for

The Dangerous Gentleman (Rogues of Regent Street Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    It took me a while to get into this story. The lack of communica

    It took me a while to get into this story. The lack of communication between the hero and heroine frustrated me.
    Some of the misunderstandings were just plain silly and didn't justify the amount of angst throughout the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Good book

    I have now read several of her books and I have enjoyed the characters she creates. The only thing that I don't like is the constant rehashing of doubts and "do they really love me or were they lying to me" banter back and forth several times. It gets old towards the end and I usually just skip over those parts to get on with the story.
    Overall, I have to say I do love her books and they are engaging enough to keep me coming back for more. I do recommend this author and book for a casual read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Emotional, Romance and Awesome Read

    At first, Adrian is insipid and Lillie is portrayed as very childish; as the book progressed it was very heartwrenching to read the emotions Adrian was going through, but Lillie stays and weathers it all. This book is actually what most mariages are like when trust and communication are missing but passion is evident. In the end, Adrian eyes sees what his heart knew was there all along. The suspense is gripping in the end, it seems the marriage will not even survive, but it does. Lovely, truly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Taken By Surprise!

    I was looking for something to read until Dark Curse is released in paperback so I thought maybe a historical romance would fill the build until then. I'd started with that genre so it was something I was familiar with.<BR/><BR/>I've always enjoyed serials and what caught my eye with this book was that very reason. I also have a tendancy to lean toward the Regency Period so that was a plus, too. I opened to the first page and read the first paragraph. It made me want to read more, so I read the last paragraph. Okay, I was sold....that is, I had to buy the book!<BR/><BR/>I was messsssmorized from the very beginning of the story. I could relate to the feelings of the three friends and the friend they'd just buried. The guilt and regret and utter disbelief of what transpired. From the moment the bullets were fired, all three lives had changed forever.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2003

    He truly was a dangerous gentleman

    I loved this book. Julia London really knows how to get someone attached to a story. I mean WOW! As soon as i read the first page I WAS HOOKED!I didn't put it down till i finished it and i loved it. I can't wait to read her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2002

    NOT IMPRESSED

    I thought this book had so much potential until I started readng it. Adrian really got on my nerves because he is to cocky and judgemental. I am half way through this book and I am strugglimg big time. The only thing nice that Adrian has to say about Lilly is that she has nice hair. When he's not completely ignoring her he is finding fault with her. I don't know if I will finish this book because no matter how it ends it will not be a good read. now on to Lilly, she is so immature it's pathetic she has been ga-ga over Adrian since she was six and it shows. She is weak and extremely nieve. Reader's beware this book is a flop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2000

    A Fantastic, Emotional Romance

    I am new to Julia London, but I absolutely loved this book. I could not put it down for a minute because I was mesmerized by every page. Her writing is so real, you will believe you are in the middle of the house with her characters, and I would love to be in any house with Adrian! I have already bought her other books and can't wait to read them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2000

    A very good read

    The four Rogues of Regent Street (Adam Spence, Phillip Rothembow, Arthur Christian, and Julian Dare) enjoy their long time friendships and their reputations as reprobates. However, in 1834, their mortality hits home when Adrian kills Phillip in a duel over cheating at cards. Though totally in the right, Adrian feels remorse and guilt, trying to replay the events to see what he could have done differently......... He escapes to his father's estate, but the abusive old man arrives also. This time his father disinherits him and gives beloved Kealing Park to his younger brother Benedict. Angry and grieving, Adam overhears his father's plan to have Ben marry Lilliana Dashill, whose father desperately needs cash. Adam decides to gain a bit of vengeance on his family by offering a better deal to Lilliana's father. Lilliana has loved Adam since she met him as a little girl. They marry, but her love remains unrequited unless she can find out what trauma has frozen his heart. His family plans to destroy their relationship before it can form....... The first installment of the 'Rogues of Regent Street' is an entertaining late Regency romance that will excite fans of the sub-genre with its character-driven story line. The tale moves forward quickly as Adrian struggles with his heritage, his guilt, and his growing fondness and love for his spouse. Lilliana is more like the typical heroine in British nineteenth century aristocratic romances, but will find readers adoring her courage. Benedict adds to the tale as he represents Adrian's failure to nurture anyone until Lilliana enters his life. Julia London has served up a wonderful opening act that will leave the audience desiring more tales starring the remaining rogues...... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2000

    Enjoyable late Regency romance

    The four Rogues of Regent Street (Adam Spence, Phillip Rothembow, Arthur Christian, and Julian Dare) enjoy their long time friendships and their reputations as reprobates. However, in 1834, their mortality hits home when Adrian kills Phillip in a duel over cheating at cards. Though totally in the right, Adrian feels remorse and guilt, trying to replay the events to see what he could have done differently. <P>He escapes to his father¿s estate, but the abusive old man arrives also. This time his father disinherits him and gives beloved Kealing Park to his younger brother Benedict. Angry and grieving, Adam overhears his father¿s plan to have Ben marry Lilliana Dashill, whose father desperately needs cash. Adam decides to gain a bit of vengeance on his family by offering a better deal to Lilliana¿s father. Lilliana has loved Adam since she met him as a little girl. They marry, but her love remains unrequited unless she can find out what trauma has frozen his heart. H is family plans to destroy their relationship before it can form. <P>The first installment of the ¿Rogues of Regent Street¿ is an entertaining late Regency romance that will excite fans of the sub-genre with its character-driven story line. The tale moves forward quickly as Adrian struggles with his heritage, his guilt, and his growing fondness and love for his spouse. Lilliana is more like the typical heroine in British nineteenth century aristocratic romances, but will find readers adoring her courage. Benedict adds to the tale as he represents Adrian¿s failure to nurture anyone until Lilliana enters his life. Julia London has served up a wonderful opening act that will leave the audience desiring more tales starring the remaining rogues. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2