Customer Reviews for

Dangerous Mercy: A Novel

Average Rating 5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Great read!

    I've found a new favorite author! Love, love this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2013

    This is one of the best books I have read. It keeps you turning

    This is one of the best books I have read. It keeps you turning the pages. I read half of it on the first night.
    Underground slave tunnels, murders, mercy, and more. It takes you a long way through the book before you even speculate who the Bathtub Killer is.
    A peaceful town turned upside down by 5 murders. Sheriff trying to fit together the pieces of the puzzle. He finally has to call in FBI profiler.
    Adele is so trusting and full of mercy. Her faith in God is put to the test.
    I fund it helpful to read through the Cajun French glossary before starting. Then I did not have to refer back to it.
    The Author writes in her note at end "Mercy is for the needy - not the worthy." We all are in need of mercy.
    I highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2013

    Dangerous Mercy Kathy Herman Book Summary: Blessed are the merc

    Dangerous Mercy
    Kathy Herman

    Book Summary: Blessed are the merciful, for they will be shown mercy. --Matthew 5:7 When eighty-five-year-old Adele Woodmore moves to Les Barbes to be near the Broussards--and her namesake, their daughter--she wants nothing more than a comfortable, quiet life. Employing men from Father Vince's halfway house for the homeless to do odd jobs and landscaping, she delights in the casual conversation she has with them, the fledgling friendships, and the idea that she is helping them get back on their feet. A series of murders in Les Barbes has cast a pall over the town and, in fact, one of Adele's handymen becomes a person of interest to the police. But Adele cares for these young men, she "knows" them, and continues to show them kindness in spite of her friends' concern. And then one day a murderer walks through Adele's defenses, sits down at her kitchen table ... and they begin to talk ...

    Review: There are many good qualities in this book. They mystery was ongoing and not surprising overall with the resolution. I enjoyed reading about all the previous characters. That made so much of it worthwhile. I did find it slower to get into. Once it took off it was a quick read and I wanted to know how it was going to be resolved and that Adele was going to be OK. I thought the wrestling match Adele had with herself and others about forming relationships with the men from Haven House. That was a great part of the book and something very real when you are doing ministry. The only thing that was sad and true about ministry is that doing ministry alone is unfortunate because many times the people of God forget that we are to be partners in ministry privately and corporately. Overall it was a good read and was very realistic. The ending was remarkable and worth the wait.
    I would like to thank Net Galley and David C. Cook for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    Kathy Herman

    Just started reading Kathy Herman books. I really enjoy this series and will buy lots more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Great book filled with suspense

    I enjoyed this book (just finished it) and it had suspense, kindness, showing how Christian love can turn a person around, showed how not to give up on a person. I would recommend it to all. I am getting ready to get the sequel (#3).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Story with a Good Message!

    I've read many books by Kathy Herman (including 'False Pretenses') and I was pretty sure, before I even started 'Dangerous Mercy', that I would enjoy it! Thankfully, I was right and 'Dangerous Mercy' was very enjoyable, held my attention, and was overall just a great mystery/suspense! When I read the first book in this series ('False Pretenses'), Adele Woodmore was one of my favorite characters - mainly because she was so friendly, merciful, and forgiving. In 'Dangerous Mercy', though, that mercy may put her life in danger. I was so excited to read more about the Broussard's - and learn what's been happening since 'False Pretenses' with them, the Langleys, and other characters we met in the first book. I liked pretty much all of the characters in 'Dangerous Mercy'. Some of my favorites were Adele (as mentioned above), Zoe, Vanessa, Noah, and the guys from the restaurant - I loved how they interacted with Grace. There was so much suspense and mystery in 'Dangerous Mercy' that I found it easy to read and now I'm patiently looking forward to reading 'Relentless Pursuit' when it releases. I most definitely recommend 'Dangerous Mercy' if you enjoy mysteries, but I would suggest you read 'False Pretenses' first. *I received a complimentary copy from the publisher for my review. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I have done.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    an exciting serial killer thriller

    Octogenarian Adele Woodmore left her large mansion to move to Les Barbes to be near her friends, the Broussard clan. She especially enjoys her time watching two years old Grace. Adele hires homeless patrons from Father Vince's halfway house to do handy work for her. She is satisfied with Noah who does her lawn and Murray who is renovating the inside of her new home. Only Flynn makes her uneasy but she knows God would want her to give him a second chance.

    The serene Saint Catherine parish hamlet is shook when someone murders banker Darveau by drugging him before drowning him in his tub with him unable to move but alert to what was happening. He was # 1. Soon afterward CEO Gautier became the number 2 victim of The Bathtub Killer. Sheriff Prejean struggles with the case that lacks any concrete evidence but implies more homicides will follow; his assumption is the killer is on a vendetta connected to the recent economic downturn. The Broussard and other townsfolk suspect one of Father Vince's homeless is the killer with Noah being a person of interest. Fearing for her safety, her friends begs Adele to stop hiring Father Vince's homeless, but she refuses as she believes God wants her to help these men find their way to the Lord.

    The second Secrets of Roux River Bayou (see False Pretenses) is an exciting serial killer thriller with the townsfolk in a panic, the sheriff and Police Chief Norman frantic, and Adele calmly doing the Lord's mission. Her warm tenderness in the midst of a raging deadly storm makes for a strong inspirational whodunit. Once again readers will appreciate visiting the Bayou with Ms. Herman as our guide.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1