BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Daniel Deronda

Average Rating 3.5
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    This is Vol. II of a 3 Vol. story

    It should be noted that this is Volume II of "Daniel Deronda", therefore it is missing the first part of the story (look for Vol. I), and I assume the end as well, since the work comes in three volumes, so you will have to find a Volume III as well if you want to finish the story.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2006

    Daniel Deronda - Unexpectedly good

    I do not know anyone who has ever read this book and had never heard of it, but what an unexpected surprise it was. I had a hard time putting it down. Follows the lives of two main characters - Gwendolyn - who reminded me of Scarlett O'Hara and Deronda- a man with a good and genuine heart. There is also the pompous Grandcourt character you just want to punch! Great plot - will keep the pages turning. Only negative (which can easily be skipped through without missing anything)was that some of the religious philosophy of Mordecai was a bit too wordy for me. However, you will not be disappointed.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2005

    Compulsive Reading

    I consider myself a fan of the nineteenth century British novel, but never have I read one as unputdownable as Daniel Deronda. Eliot mangages to craft a novel with texture as rich and complex as a Flemish tapestry, without ever slackening the pace of a riveting story. In Deronda himself she creates a hero whose unimpeachable moral integrity is balanced by a touching personal vulnerability. None of her characters, down to the members of Society who attend the balls and soirees to utter one line and be forgotten, are flat. I found Daniel Deronda to be a brilliant, evocative book, and a hugely satisfying read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A true classic

    Give yourself an opportunity to read a true classic and escape into a completely different time and place. Victorian England lays the stage as two major dramas unfold. Follow strong-willed Gwendolyn as she learns what it is that her heart really desires when she is forced to make a life-changing decision, thus realizing she is stronger than she ever imagined. Meanwhile Daniel Deronda saves a young woman from drowning and finds himself trying to unlock the mystery of her past and becomes all the more intrigued with her and the truths he uncovers. Daniel's search for truth about her past may ultimately bring him closer to knowledge of himself...Is he willing to change who he has believed himself to be all this time?

    I love a novel that is smart and well thought-out. No wonder this one is a classic! Beautifully rich characters. Great story!!! LOVED IT!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2004

    A great writer's moral passion

    A great writer's moral passion embraces the Zionist cause in this complex and intricate novel.If not her greatest work certainly one worth careful reading and study.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2003

    Great book, just as great movie.

    This book is a moving, riviting, and spiritual thing. It has everything anyone is looking for in a good read. If you like the book,...buy the movie!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2014

    Prince Kaleb

    "Thee can cope," he chuckled, offering to hand her up. ((Sounds so wrong... meh meaning is in helping you up, of course.))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2014

    To anyone on

    So, if I wanna join, what do I do? Who and what can I rp?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2014

    Frost

    On his way back the archer gets pelted with rain. He finds a tavern to stay at till the rain stops. Hey bartender you know of any help in the kingdom for me i could use a job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2014

    Anya

    She dropped the list and quickly nodded to Darion. "Of course!" She shoved a bottle of secured ink, a ratty quill, and a piece of torn parchment into her apron. "Lead the way."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2014

    Caleb

    ( can i join) a elf stumbles and falls to the ground with a poisend arrow in his back

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2014

    Frost

    Walks toward prince caleb with the horse in tow. The hawy stands on the saddle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    Diane to Fallon

    "Yes, m'am." I bow my head in respect and trot Nova into the stable. I trot her into the second-to-last stall and brush her mane, Honey troting in after her, wagging her tail. I smile and pat Honey's head and she boofs. I whisper into Nova's ear that I'll be back in a bit and the way she bobs her head makes it look like she nods. I close and lock the stall door securely after walking out with Honey and Honey and I walk back to Fallon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2014

    Rose to princess snow

    Please read mah bio at 'legit'. Am i excepted?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2014

    ?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2014

    Snow- Cedric

    True. I have two guys. But my girls are all badas<_>ses, so any attempted drama results in a smackdown.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2014

    Katy

    Katy ducked her head and walked next to her older sister

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2014

    Diane

    Blushes even more, her hace turning cherry red...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2014

    Fawn

    "I am fine." I say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    Diane to Fallon

    Kk)) I follow her while troting slowly on Nova so that Honey can keep up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4