Customer Reviews for

The Daniel Fast: Feed Your Soul, Strengthen Your Spirit, and Renew Your Body

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A must-have book for anyone on the Daniel Fast

I just got my copy of this book a few days ago and it is more than I ever expected. Susan goes into great depth about fasting and especially the Daniel Fast. She teaches straight from the Bible and backs all her information up with Scripture.

The first thing I learn...
I just got my copy of this book a few days ago and it is more than I ever expected. Susan goes into great depth about fasting and especially the Daniel Fast. She teaches straight from the Bible and backs all her information up with Scripture.

The first thing I learned is that I had been doing the Daniel Fast all wrong thinking I could eat only a few foods! But Susan's teaching clearly showed me what I could and couln't eat on this partial fast and then backed up with the well-researched biblical background. I also learned about the true definition of fasting and the different types of fasting ... and that the Daniel Fast is a partial fast! Very informative.

The recipes, meal plans, mealing planning worksheet, menus and how to prepare lots of meals at one time to make the Daniel Fast easier makes this book worth its weight in gold. I am so excited that I can't wait to follow her plan for preparing a week's meals on the same day and making the whole event a time of prayer, too!

With all that, Susan is quick to bring everything back to the Word of God and how the most important part of the Daniel Fast is to engage with our Father. Her teaching about the Spirit, Soul and Body is amazing and totally helped me understand who I am in Christ.

Do you think I like this book? I could go on and on!

But let me sum this up by saying that I am so excited about my Daniel Fast now . . . and feel completely prepared for it. I was worried about how I would be able to do this as a working mother and wife. Now I get it! I see how it's all possible and a good experience rather than a burden.

I recommend this book to anyone who goes on the Daniel Fast. Great for men or women! Oh, one more thing, the devotional in the back it lovely. The ones I've read so far brought tears to my eyes!

posted by Noelle_T on January 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely the BEST resource for the Daniel Fast there is!

The best thing about this book is that it not only covers the spiritual reasons for the fast but prepares you in all the ways that are necessary to get the most out of the experience. Susan's meal planning and recipies are based on her years of experience and passion ab...
The best thing about this book is that it not only covers the spiritual reasons for the fast but prepares you in all the ways that are necessary to get the most out of the experience. Susan's meal planning and recipies are based on her years of experience and passion about the fast and I appreciated not having to invent things on my own to stay the course. I will be giving these as Christmas presents next year to everyone I know who wants to start the new year off right, whether they are spiritual or not. It is a great resource either way!

posted by The_JoJo_Adventure on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 14, 2010

    A must-have book for anyone on the Daniel Fast

    I just got my copy of this book a few days ago and it is more than I ever expected. Susan goes into great depth about fasting and especially the Daniel Fast. She teaches straight from the Bible and backs all her information up with Scripture.

    The first thing I learned is that I had been doing the Daniel Fast all wrong thinking I could eat only a few foods! But Susan's teaching clearly showed me what I could and couln't eat on this partial fast and then backed up with the well-researched biblical background. I also learned about the true definition of fasting and the different types of fasting ... and that the Daniel Fast is a partial fast! Very informative.

    The recipes, meal plans, mealing planning worksheet, menus and how to prepare lots of meals at one time to make the Daniel Fast easier makes this book worth its weight in gold. I am so excited that I can't wait to follow her plan for preparing a week's meals on the same day and making the whole event a time of prayer, too!

    With all that, Susan is quick to bring everything back to the Word of God and how the most important part of the Daniel Fast is to engage with our Father. Her teaching about the Spirit, Soul and Body is amazing and totally helped me understand who I am in Christ.

    Do you think I like this book? I could go on and on!

    But let me sum this up by saying that I am so excited about my Daniel Fast now . . . and feel completely prepared for it. I was worried about how I would be able to do this as a working mother and wife. Now I get it! I see how it's all possible and a good experience rather than a burden.

    I recommend this book to anyone who goes on the Daniel Fast. Great for men or women! Oh, one more thing, the devotional in the back it lovely. The ones I've read so far brought tears to my eyes!

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Daniel Fast by Susan Gregory

    I've fasted in the past but normally of a more extreme version where I abstain from all food and drink except for water. When I first reqested this book from Tyndale House Publishers for review I was curious how this could possibly be considered a fast. The recipes seemed too good and the fast seemed too easy. However, I have to honestly say I felt this fast was even more difficult than a water only fast because there are so many choices to make and it's a more extended period of fasting.
    However, I came away from this fast truly with a renewed body and a strengthened soul, just like the cover stated.
    If you're curious about the Daniel Fast, check out Susan Gregory's blog at http://danielfast.wordpress.com/, or just search google for "the Daniel Fast Blogger".

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    change your life

    Powerful guide to transform our minds and bodies.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    The Book I was Looking For...

    I have been looking for a book about the Daniel Fast. I have always wanted to participate in this fast but I never had the base knowledge on how to do it. This book provides excellent recipes, the knowledge and a small devotional as you go through the 21 day fast. Definitely a must read for anyone who is looking for info that is practical about the Daniel fast.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    Absolutely amazing!!

    God is so good!! Thanks for the work Susan!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Biblical Fasting

    In The Daniel Fast, Susan Gregory explains the methods and purposes of Biblical fasting -- to renew your mind, body and soul while enriching your relationship with God. The book is amazingly thorough in explaining fasting, it's Biblical roots, how to prepare for a fast, what to expect, and even the difficulties one might encounter. Moreover, the book has over 100 pages of recipes, sample menus, a meal planning work sheet and 21 daily devotionals.

    I was impressed with the book on many levels. Susan Gregory cites scripture every inch of the way as she leads her reader through the planning and preparing stage. She takes into account the frailties and foibles of real people. She offers plans and contingency plans. And through all of this she is very careful not to become legalistic and even warns her reader about the pitfalls of doing so themselves.

    I have not followed the Daniel Fast. I don't think I am ready to take that on while we are still in this state of flux between homes, but once we are settled and unpacked, I may just give it a try. And no matter what, I know I am trying out a couple of these recipes. I don't care if they are healthy, they sound down right yummy!

    Susan Gregory is also known as The Daniel Fast blogger, and can be found on the web.

    I would like to thank Tyndale House Publishers for sending me a complimentary copy of this book for review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    The Daniel Fast Revealed!

    The Daniel Fast has always been something that kind of confused me. What is it? What can and can't I have on this fast? Fortunately for me, I've finally found a book (and a website) to help me answer those questions and equip me with the necessary tools to help me succeed in participating in a Daniel Fast. This book is full of great information, recipes, meal plans and a devotional. I simply couldn't put this book down when I first got my hands on it! The bonus for me? The book includes recipes that I will more than likely try to include in my regular diet for healthier eating. Thank you, Susan Gregory!

    If you want to dig deeper into what the Daniel Fast is and isn't, this book is for you!

    This book was provided to me for review by Tyndale House Publishers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    The best book about the Daniel Fast available anywhere!

    I can't say enough good about this book! Susan Gregory truly is the Daniel Fast expert like so many people call her on the Internet. I quickly realized that there is a lot more to fasting than just changing what you eat! Susan gives an indepth and biblically based background about the fast and helps me understand things about my faith that I had never considered.

    The book also is like having a Daniel Fast Cookbook within a book! Enough recipes for every meal plus snacks. I think my wife will use the meal plans Susan provides . . . and both us will use the tools she gives for preparing for the fast.

    Susan says in the book that her greatest desire is to help men and women have a successful Daniel Fast. Well, she sure gives everything they (we) need to do just that.

    I am eager to use the 21-day devotional she added at the end for the book. We begin our fast on January 10th and I really do feel more confident now that I have this book. I recommend it to anyone wanting to do Christian fasting and especially a Daniel Fast.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    This the the book to get if you're planning a Daniel Fast!

    In this book, Susan Gregory has provided a wealth of information for anyone who would like to participate in a Daniel Fast. It is extremely informative and inspiring, including many scriptural references and other details that will help you to have a successful fast!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    the Daniel fast

    this is a great book. I wanted to a great start for this New Year. I read about Daniel fasting and it look like an excellent choice for me. This book is more than a guide. She used her personal experience to help me understand the importance and the power of fasting and prayer. Excellent Book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good!

    The first time I went through the Daniel Fast, I basically had one sheet of paper listing scriptures and foods to eat, but this time I wanted more details and found this book. It is very detailed, and very informative. I really enjoy having the scriptures on hand. I do not really use this as a diet, but for my spiritual cleansing, but in the process I did notice how good I feel when I'm following the Fast. I highly recommend this book to anyone that feels the need for a wonderful spiritual renewal and that wants to get back to the natural process of eating that I believe God wants us to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1