Customer Reviews for

Danny the Champion of the World

Average Rating 4.5
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Danny the champion of the world

This is a great book.if u like books that include adventure and mystrey u will like this book. My all time favorite book by rohald dual is the BFG we had to read it for Battle of the books last year and i wanted to read over and over again again. Danny the champion of t...
This is a great book.if u like books that include adventure and mystrey u will like this book. My all time favorite book by rohald dual is the BFG we had to read it for Battle of the books last year and i wanted to read over and over again again. Danny the champion of the world is a great book! U should read it!

posted by 7745830 on December 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Danny the Champion of the World

the book Danny the Champion of the World,is a unique and creative book.Althought this isen't my favorite book, from 1-10 I would give this book a 7.

posted by 123456789YV on July 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Danny the champion of the world

    This is a great book.if u like books that include adventure and mystrey u will like this book. My all time favorite book by rohald dual is the BFG we had to read it for Battle of the books last year and i wanted to read over and over again again. Danny the champion of the world is a great book! U should read it!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    Danny the Champion of the World

    My class just read Danny The Champion Of The World. By Roald Dahl. Other books by, Roald Dahl include, James And The Giant Peach, The B.F.G. Charlie And The Chocolate Factory, and other favorites. Danny The Champion Of The World is a book about a kid named Danny and his father, who are best friends. And they go on a poaching adventure. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes journeys and fiction books. I love this book and so will you!!!:)

    Our class read Danny Champion of the World by Roald Dahl. Some other books are The Giraffe and the Pelly and Me, The Fantastic Mr. Fox, The BFG, The Magic Finger, and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Danny the Champion of the World is about a boy whose mother died when he was little and now his dad takes care of him and brings him poaching. We learned that you should always take a risk. We think that this book is really good and interesting. We would recommend it to anyone who likes adventure and a good laugh.

    My partner and I really like the book Danny The Champion Of The World by Roald Dahl.Other books by Roald Dahl are Fantastic Mr.Fox, The BFG, James And The Giant Peach, The Twits, and Matilda.Danny The Champion Of The World is about Danny and his father going poaching in Hazels wood.Danny comes up with a good idea.Our opinion about this book is it's the best book we have ever read. We recommend this book to whoever likes adventure books. So read Danny The Champion Of The World!

    My teacher read us Danny Champion of the world by Roald Dahl. Other books by Roald Dahl are The BFG and Charlie and The Chocolate Factory. This book is about a boy named Danny and his father who had a great plan to catch all of evil Mr. Hazzles pheasants. A lesson I learned was that it is illegal to hunt pheasants in other peoples woods. I feel like I am really inside the story. I think Roald Dahl is a great writer and I would recommend it to everyone.

    My class just read Danny The Champion of the World by Roald Dahl. Other books by Roald Dahl are Fantastic Mr. Fox the BFG and many more. The book is about a boy and his dad that come up with a plan to ruin mean Mr. Hazles shooting party. When I read the book I felt I was in the book. I recommend this book to any one who likes adventures.

    Our class read a book by Roald Dahl. Roald Dahl also wrote Fantastic Mr. Fox, The B.F.G,and other favorites. Danny and his dad go on a cool adventure. Danny's dad... and falls in a pit and brakes his ankle. A lesson we learned is always treat others the way you want to be treated. When we read this book I felt like I was really in the book! I would recommend this book to anyone who likes adventures. The reason Danny becomes the champion of the world is because he invents a cool method for...Danny the champion of the world is a awesome book!!!!!!!!!!!!! You better read it to find out what happens in the ...'s.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2007

    An Excellent Book for Young Readers

    This by far is an outstanding book for young readers. Mr. Dahl not only tells a great adventurous tale, but describes beautifully a close relationship between a boy and his dad. I enjoyed reading this story and I recommend it to all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    One of the classics...

    One of the greatest children stories ever written.
    Good for the older reader too.
    I also suggest "The Witches," another Dahl classic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    I love b

    Book is cool


    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Danny the Champion of the World

    the book Danny the Champion of the World,is a unique and creative book.Althought this isen't my favorite book, from 1-10 I would give this book a 7.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2006

    Not Worth Reading!

    The book I am reviewing is Danny, Champion of the World by Roald Dahl. This book deserves one star. It is terrible. It is the worst book I¿ve ever read. This book is about a boy named Danny and his dad. They go out and poach pheasants. One problem is Danny¿s dad falls into a pit and breaks his leg. I wouldn¿t recommend this book to a friend because I think this book is terrible. Other books by Roald Dahl are Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and James and the Giant Peach.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2014

    #dice

    @girl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    ※✧∗✓✔✕✖✘

    &#9856&#9857&#9858&#9859&#9860&#9861

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    The best book

    I think this book is interesting, and fun to read. I think you should read the book. I have never read a book this good, this interesting, and this exciting before. Danny the champoin of the worled is a great book, and I now you will love it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Great

    If you like rould dawl this is a good ine its fun and nkce like all hiothers its about a boy who live with his dad who teaches him about the great art if pouchingwich is pretty much as sipmle as stealling phesants from rich people

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    ?...... .. Touch this!!!!!

    I love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Nnfndn

    Jnnnnnn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Touches you're heart

    A fantastic little story, I highly reccomend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Sample

    DOSN'T EVEN START BOOK!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Ffffffff

    I read some of thus book and it was really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    This is an extremely interesting book. You will not want to stop

    This is an extremely interesting book. You will not want to stop reading this book until you get to the end. This book is very good  like many of Roald Dahls other books. This book is about a young boy named Danny and his father. One night Danny’s  father went out to the woods to catch pheasants. He told Danny that he would be home by a certain time but he didn't come home. Danny began to get frightened. Danny and his father Charles repaired cars they had their own workshop. There was a automobile in the shop so he took it to go find his father. Finally after driving around and being afraid he was going to get pulled over by the police he found his father in the woods. When he found him he was trapped in a hole Danny had to figure out how to get his dad out of this situation. They were in trouble because the guards could come and catch them any minute. My favorite part of this book is when Danny and his father were finished collecting all the pheasants that they took from the wood. Charles said Danny I am very proud of you for coming up with this idea. He said Danny I could never think of an idea like this. He said this idea is genius.This book is really fantastic. The ending of this book was the best part because Mr.Hazell finds out that Danny and Charles had stole his pheasants but Mr.Hazell didn't have any proof so Sergeant Samway was on Danny and Charles side. At the end Mr.Hazell did not get any of his pheasants back. Danny his father sergeant Samway and Doc Spencer got the rest of the pheasants. If you like a book that is full of details and is good till the end then I recommend this book for you. It will be one of the best books you have read. 




    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Loved it.

    It was good. I liked it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    AWESOME

    Im reading this book with my dad it RULES

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Good start

    Still read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4