Customer Reviews for

Danse Macabre (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Series #14)

Average Rating 4
( 807 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(377)

4 Star

(176)

3 Star

(110)

2 Star

(53)

1 Star

(91)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

DANSE MACABRE

Hmmm...I'm giving this 4 stars because the writing skill used in developing this is good. That being said...I have trouble that it's 500 pages and nothing really happens. What I mean by that is it's a sequence of metaphysical, moral, sexual power struggles/crises for An...
Hmmm...I'm giving this 4 stars because the writing skill used in developing this is good. That being said...I have trouble that it's 500 pages and nothing really happens. What I mean by that is it's a sequence of metaphysical, moral, sexual power struggles/crises for Anita, one after the other in quick succession, that don't really move the overall story arc along. It's ok if you read it over time, ie pick up, put down, pick up, put down, pick-up, etc because then it doesn't hit you as hard that its still the same day when you're halfway through the book.
While this book seems to be setting up future story lines and introduces new characters, you don't get to the final conflict that gave its name to the title until the end. Plus we've seen very little of how Anita is functioning in the world outside of vampire politics. It would be nice to know what's up with Edward's engagement, what Animators Inc. really thinks about all this [especially as she's now in the limelight with Jean Claude], how things are with the police force and Dolph, and in general have a book focusing on a case and not all the politics. Hopefully all this set up will get us to that soon.

posted by Darsey_spudnick on August 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

What happened here?

I will start by saying I am a Laurell K. Hamilton fan. But I don't know what happened when this book was made. I like the sex scenes and all, but this book seemed like the interaction of the characters was just a bothersome necessity to get to the next sex scene. The...
I will start by saying I am a Laurell K. Hamilton fan. But I don't know what happened when this book was made. I like the sex scenes and all, but this book seemed like the interaction of the characters was just a bothersome necessity to get to the next sex scene. There was no action. All the scenes that were happening were all internal, either internal personal conflict for anita or internal dialogue between her and characters she's metaphysically bonded to. If this was made into a movie the scenes would just be people standing around staring at each other while voice over happens like some sort of 60's acid trip movie. And really, nothing seemed to be accomplished in the book. It was really disappointing. Hope to see a little more action in future books, but for now I'm gonna take a little Anita Break.

posted by Anonymous on June 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 812 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 41
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2008

    What happened here?

    I will start by saying I am a Laurell K. Hamilton fan. But I don't know what happened when this book was made. I like the sex scenes and all, but this book seemed like the interaction of the characters was just a bothersome necessity to get to the next sex scene. There was no action. All the scenes that were happening were all internal, either internal personal conflict for anita or internal dialogue between her and characters she's metaphysically bonded to. If this was made into a movie the scenes would just be people standing around staring at each other while voice over happens like some sort of 60's acid trip movie. And really, nothing seemed to be accomplished in the book. It was really disappointing. Hope to see a little more action in future books, but for now I'm gonna take a little Anita Break.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2008

    More of the same

    The 200 pages of sex is off putting to me. I would like to see more of Anita actually doing her job with Animators Inc. The "Ardeur" is my absolutely least favorite plot device in this series. It combined with Richard constantly behaving like a spoiled brat make me crazy. How is this man an Alpha and kept in his position when he so often makes horrible mistakes. Has he gotten nothing good from being part of a triad?

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    I need a break!

    Well... this book both gives me a lot to say and leaves me speechless all at the same time. I respect writers and what they do with their characters so I don't want to bash anyone. I'm just left confused with this series. The first several books I really got into this story and the characters. Then I was just left scratching my head. The sex scenes don't bother me I'm no prune, but it's the amount of people she NEEDS to have sex with. It has become just gross and a turn off. I remember feeling torn between Richard and Jean Claude. There are so many men in Anita's life that NONE of them are special. I loved the mystery of Jean Claude and the fact that he was a vampire made him intriguing, I loved that Richard was some what normal even funny and seemed to of fallen in love with her. (he's still my pick) I know so many readers don't care for him but to me he's the only one that is unable to share Anita with other men isn't that what someone that loves you does? All the other men in her life either need something from her or are drawn to her by her powers. Jean Claude lost me when Asher arrived. Asher is probably the most annoying man in her life. I just need a break from this series. I hope she will wake from a dream or an injury and these last few books of never took place. I just view Anita as all used up in every since of the word eww.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    DANSE MACABRE

    Hmmm...I'm giving this 4 stars because the writing skill used in developing this is good. That being said...I have trouble that it's 500 pages and nothing really happens. What I mean by that is it's a sequence of metaphysical, moral, sexual power struggles/crises for Anita, one after the other in quick succession, that don't really move the overall story arc along. It's ok if you read it over time, ie pick up, put down, pick up, put down, pick-up, etc because then it doesn't hit you as hard that its still the same day when you're halfway through the book.
    While this book seems to be setting up future story lines and introduces new characters, you don't get to the final conflict that gave its name to the title until the end. Plus we've seen very little of how Anita is functioning in the world outside of vampire politics. It would be nice to know what's up with Edward's engagement, what Animators Inc. really thinks about all this [especially as she's now in the limelight with Jean Claude], how things are with the police force and Dolph, and in general have a book focusing on a case and not all the politics. Hopefully all this set up will get us to that soon.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    The problem, for me, wasn't that DANSE MACABRE was 300 pages of sex. The Anita Blake Series has become increasingly more sex- based, due to the ardeur that Anita carries and needs to feed. The sex in the book is nothing great, although there are a few attempts to put the people involved in situations and positions that I find would be hard to accomplish for any mortal human. But since everyone in the book is some type of supernatural being, it didn't seem to be a physical impossibility. So, if you can understand the fact that sex is an integral part of this book, you won't have a problem. <BR/><BR/>What makes the book not that great is the fact that, underneath the sex, there's just no real plot. Jean-Claude has invited a number of various Masters of the City to St. Louis for the showing of an all-vampire ballet/dance troupe. As such, the same Masters have all brought various candidates to become Anita's pomme de sang (read blood & sex dinner). That's the general plot. Unfortunately, the entire book only covers forty-eight hours, and although we know the gist of the storyline, nothing ever really happens. Besides, of course, the sex. <BR/><BR/>There are lots of hurt feelings in the book. There's a pregnancy scare. There's the typical characters (Richard, Jean-Claude, Asher, Nathaniel, Micah, Jason, Claudia, assorted vampires and werewolves and wereleopards and wererats). There are new characters (the succubs mermaid and her family, the werelions, the Masters of the City). There's crazy sex, ardeur sex, powerful sex, painful sex. <BR/><BR/>When you strip away the sex, there's not a whole lot else there. Although I will say that DANSE MACABRE could have used a good editor, just to get rid of the repeated phrases that are prominent throughout the book. <BR/><BR/>Yes, I finished the story, and no, I didn't hate it. But it wasn't all that satisfying (the sex, although large in number, isn't anything to write home about) or fulfilling (almost nothing is resolved at the end of the book that was brought up at the start). <BR/><BR/>Would I recommend buying a copy? No. Should you borrow it from a friend or the library? If you're an Anita Blake fan, then yes, to see how the storyline (what there is of it) continues. Let's hope the next book has a little more meat to it, and less screaming sexual gratification.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    Just plain boring!

    Laurell K Hamilton is the only author I know who can make a sex scene boring! I skimmed through most of this book. No plot, just porn. I'm done with this series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2006

    Yawn...........

    This book could best be described as very boring porn. The entire book is devoted to the ardeur. Either Anita is feeding the ardeur, or else she is talking about the ardeur. Endlessly. For pages and pages and pages at a time. There are far too many characters in this book, and none of them have the depth and texture that was a hallmark of the earlier books in the series. I tell you, I am so sick to death of the ardeur that I could just scream. To me, it feels like a cheap way to rattle off a book in time to make deadline instead of having to actually think up a plot, and character growth. I would love it if LKH would come up with a real plot, instead of relying exclusively on the ardeur to sell her books. None of the sex in this book does anything to further the plot. I'm not learning anything new about Anita's character, or the character of the people with whom she's having sex. It's just a big, fat, heavy waste of time. I read in an afterward in one of her earlier, better books, that LKH has fans who read these sex scenes to each other as foreplay. I don't know, maybe laughing at the lameness of it all trips their triggers. All I know is that I am not going to waste any more of my valuable time on new Anita books unless they come with a real plot.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    What's happening here...

    Stillwaiting for the anita blake adventures to be more than erotiica . I loved all the books...right up to obsidian butterfly, and then everything seemed to be on self destruct mode.
    It used to be...I coulnt put the book down, now I find myself skimming the pages.
    I've also decided to borrow the ebook from library rather than spend the $$....until I feel the book is worthy of a spot on my bookshelf...I do look forward to that time. I'm hopeful!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not the best

    This book wasn't the best in the series. In my opinion the story was just bad. The plot wasn't the best, although I think that Asher gaining power was very cool. This book had way too much sex, Anita slept with about 10 guys in a matter of a day or so.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Too Much Sex

    I have loved reading the Anita Blake novels but lately there is just too much sex. I bought this book back in 2006 when it first came out but kept putting it down because I lost interest due to so much sex. Since I bought it back then, I've read at least twenty other books because I lost interest. I'd come to love the strong willed Anita, not the nympho Anita.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    What's the deal?

    I have been seeing this author's name everywhere, so I finally picked up a book and read it. It was like reading an episode of a really bad TV show...one that would get cancelled in about two weeks. Her writing is sub-par at best and her plots are hackneyed, trite, and predictable. Don't waste your time.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2007

    Where did Anita go???

    I made it to page 88, then got so sick of Anita's sex life that I tossed the book across the room. Yuck. Whatever happened to the Anita in the first 4 books? The one who kicked booty and actually did something that wasn't centered around her? I miss the old Anita and give up totally on this new one. I'm not prude, but give me a break.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2007

    IF I DIDN'T HAVE TO RATE THIS BOOK AT ALL I WOULDN'T.

    I wasn't a big fan of Hamilton to begin with because i read the Merry Gentry novels. Wana know why? Because Gentry was always changing partners or on top of another being. HOWEVER!!! I thought i'd give the Anita Blake series a try as i heard its the original formation other authors such as Feehan have used in their books. ANYWAY!!! i was amazed by how much i loved this series it was sooo good i felt i was being harsh by judging Hamilton too quickly on previous books. Maybe i spoke to soon i dnt know what happened. Everything turned into a pornographic scene where the woman is shared between men who supposedly 'love' her. AND WILL SOMEONE PUHLEEZZZ TELL ME WHAT HAPPENED TO JEAN CLAUDE???? He was sooo in love with Anita in the first 5 or so novels and all of a sudden he wants to share with other men??!! Whats wrong with this picture??? I skimmed through the book then skipped atleast ooo lets say 700 pages and read the very last sentence. To be honest i got bored of the series. Could it be that Hamilton has finally overused Anita's character? Maybe it's time to let Anita live happily ever after. After novel 5 the storyline took over somewhere between Hamilton's fantasy and what she thought the readers wanted. I think this was the last of Anita Blake i will ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Danse Macabre

    Way too much sex and not enough of the reason I started this series, vampire hunting and zombie raising. Need to go back to why this series was good in the first place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    I like(liked) the series a lot but when it got to Obsidian Butte

    I like(liked) the series a lot but when it got to Obsidian Butterfly it started getting more about sex, not that I mind that. Then I started on Danse macabre and it was more sex, weird sex.. I read the first 120 pages skimmed the rest then put it aside I could not read it anymore. Hopefully she'll back to raising the dead and killing people instead of sleeping with 20 people in 1 day in the next book geeez . I know its a book but that's so gross and not interesting at all. PLease let the next book be better...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Just keeps getting better

    From the first book i have been hooked. It just keeps getting better. Yes there is quite a bit of sex but the story and characters have me hook line and sinker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Great

    Great

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Laurell Hamilton

    This is another great book in her seris.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    I loved this book! I love this series! The development of Anit

    I loved this book! I love this series! The development of Anita and the other characters is wonderful and so very imaginative. It's not just sex. If people can't understand that sex is important to the development of these characters, then they can just stop reading because they obviously don't understand what LKH is writing about.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Love this series!

    Yes there is alot of sex but I love the story to!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 812 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 41