Customer Reviews for

Danse Macabre (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Series #14)

Average Rating 4
( 807 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(377)

4 Star

(176)

3 Star

(110)

2 Star

(53)

1 Star

(91)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

DANSE MACABRE

Hmmm...I'm giving this 4 stars because the writing skill used in developing this is good. That being said...I have trouble that it's 500 pages and nothing really happens. What I mean by that is it's a sequence of metaphysical, moral, sexual power struggles/crises for An...
Hmmm...I'm giving this 4 stars because the writing skill used in developing this is good. That being said...I have trouble that it's 500 pages and nothing really happens. What I mean by that is it's a sequence of metaphysical, moral, sexual power struggles/crises for Anita, one after the other in quick succession, that don't really move the overall story arc along. It's ok if you read it over time, ie pick up, put down, pick up, put down, pick-up, etc because then it doesn't hit you as hard that its still the same day when you're halfway through the book.
While this book seems to be setting up future story lines and introduces new characters, you don't get to the final conflict that gave its name to the title until the end. Plus we've seen very little of how Anita is functioning in the world outside of vampire politics. It would be nice to know what's up with Edward's engagement, what Animators Inc. really thinks about all this [especially as she's now in the limelight with Jean Claude], how things are with the police force and Dolph, and in general have a book focusing on a case and not all the politics. Hopefully all this set up will get us to that soon.

posted by Darsey_spudnick on August 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

What happened here?

I will start by saying I am a Laurell K. Hamilton fan. But I don't know what happened when this book was made. I like the sex scenes and all, but this book seemed like the interaction of the characters was just a bothersome necessity to get to the next sex scene. The...
I will start by saying I am a Laurell K. Hamilton fan. But I don't know what happened when this book was made. I like the sex scenes and all, but this book seemed like the interaction of the characters was just a bothersome necessity to get to the next sex scene. There was no action. All the scenes that were happening were all internal, either internal personal conflict for anita or internal dialogue between her and characters she's metaphysically bonded to. If this was made into a movie the scenes would just be people standing around staring at each other while voice over happens like some sort of 60's acid trip movie. And really, nothing seemed to be accomplished in the book. It was really disappointing. Hope to see a little more action in future books, but for now I'm gonna take a little Anita Break.

posted by Anonymous on June 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted August 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    DANSE MACABRE

    Hmmm...I'm giving this 4 stars because the writing skill used in developing this is good. That being said...I have trouble that it's 500 pages and nothing really happens. What I mean by that is it's a sequence of metaphysical, moral, sexual power struggles/crises for Anita, one after the other in quick succession, that don't really move the overall story arc along. It's ok if you read it over time, ie pick up, put down, pick up, put down, pick-up, etc because then it doesn't hit you as hard that its still the same day when you're halfway through the book.
    While this book seems to be setting up future story lines and introduces new characters, you don't get to the final conflict that gave its name to the title until the end. Plus we've seen very little of how Anita is functioning in the world outside of vampire politics. It would be nice to know what's up with Edward's engagement, what Animators Inc. really thinks about all this [especially as she's now in the limelight with Jean Claude], how things are with the police force and Dolph, and in general have a book focusing on a case and not all the politics. Hopefully all this set up will get us to that soon.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Anita just keeps getting better

    I'd recommend you read this series in order. Although it can be read out of order, its easier to follow by reading in order.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    A great read

    i picked this book up originally in paperback, had never heard of the series, and quickly realized that although i loved the book i needed more insight into the series. i began to read the series and as i revisit this book i realize why i loved it all over again. Through all the supernatural drama she faces Anita is reminded that she is still human, and faces something many of us women hope and fear, pregnancy. i decided to pick up the books for my nook and i the process was however diappointed to find that book #13 isn't available for the nook at this time. i'm not sure i want to donate my hardcopies til i have the collection saved for my e-reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hmmmm, okay!

    Ooooooookay. So I am honestly speechless at this point. Not so much that I think the series is taking a header, but more along the lines that I'm starting to feel uncomfortable. All the sex Anita is having is not a problem, its the amount of men she is involving that makes it difficult to keep track of her relationships. There were several plots to this book and several matters were explained and brought up which was nice so it wasn't so much about how many men Anita can get into bed. I hate to see just how many people she can have sex with. I would rather see the focus not on the fact that she needs to have sex in order to give energy but more on her feelings towards the men in her life and her job as a federal marshall/zombie raiser.
    I have to also agree with previous reviewers that the ardeur is getting pretty boring and that the author is WAY better than this. We saw just how much better in the first 10 books which involved no sex at all.
    I am too involved in the series in order to stop now so I am moving on to The Harlequin; however, I am sad to say that I if the rest of the books continue like this, I hope I read them fast so I can move on. =(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    good series

    I enjoy Laurell K Hamilton, both Anita Blake and her Merry Gentry series are good reads.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Anita Blake

    I have loved all her stories. Sometimes the repeats of the book before get to me. I find it utterly boring when she explains who Richard is in every book. I mean after the first with Richard how could you forget who he is, or Jean-Claude. Overall I think all the books where good reading. The only one that I found on the boring side was Edwards book. Obsinian Butterly. Other that that I like all of them. I am looking forward to Blood Noir and Skin Trade next.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2008

    Worth a Second Look

    I have to admit the first time I read Danse Macabre I was disappointed. The vast quantity and detail of Anita's sexual escapades left me wondering where the plot was. Recently I had a lot of time on my hands so I decided to re-read the entire series. I found that, if you read Incubus Dreams immediately followed by Danse Macabre, it works. Not only does it make sense in the context of Anita's story, it ends up being a very good read. Anita undergoes a revolution within herself during the two books. She is forced to reexamine her attitudes about sex, fidelity and love. She is finally able to escape the chains of fear and repression forced on her by an unlovable stepmother and an abusive first love. She comes to terms with the fact that her new life is working for her, as bizarre as it may seem to us, and she finally admits to herself that the only way to control the ardeur is to work with it, instead of constantly struggling against it. The under story in all the books is Anita's struggle to accept herself, the extraordinary life she has been given, and the responsibility of having power over others, power she never wanted. I loved this book the second time around. My faith in LKH has been completely restored!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    The sex is binding her to people tighter and tighter, with each book he rlife becomes mor eand more complicated. And she is having to bring more people to her bed, which brings more troubles her way. She has to sleep with people to live, but to sleep with them means to bind them closer, to add new people, means to make their problems hers. Theres more then sex, there emotional issues, fighting, violence, and personal choices im so happy i dont have to make. bvut man is is entertaining to watch her make them. YEah the sex can get annoying, but how do you think Anita Feels?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    Yes, Yes and Yes

    I'm having a hard time putting it down, staying up too late reading. I like them all,the first few books kept my suspense up waiting for her to pick/be with JC. I like how she has grown, how the powers have grown. I'm with Ronnie and jealous she can pick and choose, yet she for most of the time is in control. I also like the smut books, now I have both in one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2007

    A reviewer

    Okay I love the series, but in this book Anita is faced with more challenges, she might be having a baby, who could the father be. If that isn't bad enough she is then need to have more relations with others, big surprise meaning she needs to feed more often and from those that are not linked to her. More people join the ranks of her sex life in this book. In it's self the book is good, but it is a must read to get more of the story of the new changes happening to Anita and of course if she really is pregnaunt. The only down side to this book is that it's starting to be more like the Meredith Gentry series, lots of sex and a small story. I liked the earlier books in Anita Blakes series better, were there was a story going on with a little bit of sex. Regardless I still like this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2007

    Loved It

    Just like all the other Anita Blake books, this one kept me going until the very end, had to read it twice to see what if I missed anything. I can't wait to find out what is going to happen in Anita's relationships and with her personally. Granted there is alot more sexual situations than in the beginning of the series/story but that is only one aspect of a much bigger picture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    Read it!

    Well I can see that some people have some pretty strong, largely negative feelings about this book, but I would tend to disagree. While I wouldn't rate this one as high as some of the others in the series (hence 4 instead of 5 stars), I still enjoyed it and found it hard to put down. Yes, there's lots of metaphysical power stuff going on, and I did find Richard's tantrums and Asher's grousing somewhat tedious, but all in all, a fun, entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2006

    Can one be tired of endless sex?

    I find myself confused - Anita seemed to have a clear-cut morality in the first books of the series and interestingly developed complicated but justifiable relationships with several men in her life. But I find that Anita has been 'backed into a corner' with the ardeur. Now it seems that 75% of the books goes into describing one long sex scene. I am disappointed. I was hoping for more development of relationships beyond the 'sheets'! Can we hope for MORE in the next novels? I hope so...I do so love Anita and her male harem! Otherwise a GREAT BOOK...keep it up Laurell...we hope for more and better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2006

    Quit complaining people

    Ok so it didn't have the cop stuff in it this time, it would have been a disaster had there been a murder taking place or something. Think about it honestly. Now the seen with Auggie bugged me at first but then again it seemed about time, i mean come on we all know Jean-CLaudes BI. There was alot of sex in this book but i think its going to be used as a lead up to something involving Mommy Dearest. Use more then the words as they run through your brian, mommy dearest is in her head. who's to say all this added sex isn't her way of distracting Anita and the others so she can rise? Maybe she's drawing her energy to rise form Anita's feedings. They said she had been feeding in her sleep. Well thats all for now on the subject i'll discuss more on my blog for those who care to read it you can find it in aol journals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2006

    Good but not the Best....

    While I am a HUGE fan of the Anita Blake books, this one wasn't the best. It was a good read. And it does seem to be pushing on to what could be an incredible showdown. It is time for less sex and more of the butt- kicking Anita we all know and love. And while watching her come to terms with her constantly evolving powers and her relationships is fun. It seems that some of her spine is going. She should be able to except the truth about herself without losing her inner-strength that has always made her an interesing character. The men in her life are becoming more interesting than she is. And where is Edward? Isn't time for Edward to come give Anita a swift kick in the butt. And what about Dolph and all her other cop buddies? I hope the next book is better and soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2006

    Still loving Anita!!!

    This one was not as good as some, but still not a bad story. Okay, so I get that the books seem to become more and more sex-oriented. I get that some people miss the tough Federal Marshall who was all work. But I think people are missing the point. Stop being hung up on the sex scenes!!! There supposed to add spice to complicated realtionships. I've noticed a lot of character development with ALL the characters. A lot of the characters are really starting to develop into strong, lovable characters-each adding a special something to the story. I think that this book was needed to prepare us for what's coming, and to be honest-I'm excited. So, Laurell-keep up the great work! I can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2006

    Faithful reader

    I have love LKH from the beginning. Especially the Anita books. I love the fact that Anita is developeing (even if I don't like what she's turning into) but hey, the author has to go where the story takes them. The main problem I've had with the recent Anita books isn't the sex or lack of moral ground, it's the plot. Remember the book where they first introduced Micah and he commented on how amazing it was that Anita could deal with so many different things going on in her life at once? Well, know all she seems to deal with is the sex. In the book Micah there was an excited plot that could have been ran with about the raising of the dead and who dun it and all but it just focused on the sex. I love Anita books, I just think that lately they could be so much more then they are. I will always be A faithful LKH reader no matter what.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9