Customer Reviews for

Danse Macabre (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Series #14)

Average Rating 4
( 807 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(377)

4 Star

(176)

3 Star

(110)

2 Star

(53)

1 Star

(91)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

DANSE MACABRE

Hmmm...I'm giving this 4 stars because the writing skill used in developing this is good. That being said...I have trouble that it's 500 pages and nothing really happens. What I mean by that is it's a sequence of metaphysical, moral, sexual power struggles/crises for An...
Hmmm...I'm giving this 4 stars because the writing skill used in developing this is good. That being said...I have trouble that it's 500 pages and nothing really happens. What I mean by that is it's a sequence of metaphysical, moral, sexual power struggles/crises for Anita, one after the other in quick succession, that don't really move the overall story arc along. It's ok if you read it over time, ie pick up, put down, pick up, put down, pick-up, etc because then it doesn't hit you as hard that its still the same day when you're halfway through the book.
While this book seems to be setting up future story lines and introduces new characters, you don't get to the final conflict that gave its name to the title until the end. Plus we've seen very little of how Anita is functioning in the world outside of vampire politics. It would be nice to know what's up with Edward's engagement, what Animators Inc. really thinks about all this [especially as she's now in the limelight with Jean Claude], how things are with the police force and Dolph, and in general have a book focusing on a case and not all the politics. Hopefully all this set up will get us to that soon.

posted by Darsey_spudnick on August 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

What happened here?

I will start by saying I am a Laurell K. Hamilton fan. But I don't know what happened when this book was made. I like the sex scenes and all, but this book seemed like the interaction of the characters was just a bothersome necessity to get to the next sex scene. The...
I will start by saying I am a Laurell K. Hamilton fan. But I don't know what happened when this book was made. I like the sex scenes and all, but this book seemed like the interaction of the characters was just a bothersome necessity to get to the next sex scene. There was no action. All the scenes that were happening were all internal, either internal personal conflict for anita or internal dialogue between her and characters she's metaphysically bonded to. If this was made into a movie the scenes would just be people standing around staring at each other while voice over happens like some sort of 60's acid trip movie. And really, nothing seemed to be accomplished in the book. It was really disappointing. Hope to see a little more action in future books, but for now I'm gonna take a little Anita Break.

posted by Anonymous on June 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 377 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Just keeps getting better

    From the first book i have been hooked. It just keeps getting better. Yes there is quite a bit of sex but the story and characters have me hook line and sinker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Great

    Great

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Laurell Hamilton

    This is another great book in her seris.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    I loved this book! I love this series! The development of Anit

    I loved this book! I love this series! The development of Anita and the other characters is wonderful and so very imaginative. It's not just sex. If people can't understand that sex is important to the development of these characters, then they can just stop reading because they obviously don't understand what LKH is writing about.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Love this series!

    Yes there is alot of sex but I love the story to!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great series

    Great series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Definately worth it!

    Great evening reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    another great book by LKH

    All laurell's books are great. This one was the first book of hers that i read and i was hooked ever since and this was just in the last 6-8 months ago and i have read most of this series already. I FREAKIN LOVE these books. and i cannot wait for tv series . anyone who wants a great read should pick up these books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Anita Blake is the Greatest Series I have ever read!!!

    First I would just like to say that I love this series as a whole. This book in particular was intense, due to the pregnancy scare Anita had. I was glued to the book waiting to find out if she was or wasn't and if she was then by who? I am always very into the books but this one hit a note with me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I LOVE ALL HERE ANITA BLAKE BOOKS

    I have read all but the last two books and can't wait to read the last two. You have to read them in order so that they make sense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    I love! Laurell K. Hamilton!

    I read all of the books so far out about anita blake and had trouble putting each book down! The characters and the relationships they build through each book is amazing! I find myself hating and loving each character!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    must read

    I loved this book. Not my favorite in the serious but very very good book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Anita is still the best!

    I enjoyed this. I love Anita, and her boys!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2008

    Really enjoyed it!!!

    I loved that LKH explored the possibility that Anita might be pregnant with one of the boys' baby. I was sort of hoping that she would be pregnant then again I'm not quite sure that her life is really ready for a child. I have to admit that I'd pretty much be happy to have a baby with any of Anita's men especially Nathaniel, I think...no I'm pretty sure I'm in love with him. Anyway, I loved this book and can't wait until the new one "Skin Trade" comes out in June 2009.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    loved it.

    Ok here's the thing. The first book in the seiries that i read was this book. I liked it so much I bought every Anita Blake book and read them all back to back rereading Danse Macabre along the way. This book is mainly about here relationships combined with her growing power which in turn affects her relations with all the other characters. Everyone else seems to dislike this book because it's more a romance novel than a thriller, but I think it's both and Anita needed a little 'action'. She's still a bad @ss.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Horror To Rival Stephen King Only Better

    Danse Macabre was probably the most horrific of all of Laurell K's books that I've had the pleasure of reading. Totally terrific! Creepy in the horror-genre-sort-of-way and also a psychological thriller. I'm usually not a fan of horror but I really think this was one of Laurell's absolute best. Well written and scary, the author addresses a lot of things that a woman would have to deal with were she walking in Anita Blake's shoes. Danse Macabre is truly a haunting tale....loved it! Keep up the good writing, Laurell!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2007

    Laurels for Laurell

    I personally LOVE all of Laurells' books,Yes the old Anita is different than she is now,but no less fantastic.I personally enjoy the sex scenes because they are fantastically done.I prefer the Gentry series an eensy bit more,but that is just because I love the Sidhe,so naturally,I prefer their series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2007

    Exquisite books

    Laurel K. Hamilton is the queen of paranormal romance. Her books are so addictive that I can't wait for her next books to come out. Danse Macabre was probably the best one. It was so seductive. I love all her books including her Meredith Gentry series. Keep on writing Laurel and I will keep on buying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    i loved it and i think she should keep writing forever..jk...no but seriously dont stop writing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 377 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19