Customer Reviews for

Darcy Christmas

Average Rating 3
( 154 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

I loved this book

I bought the book for Sharon Lathan's story "A Darcy Christmas" but read all three. I absolutely loved all three novellas. I highly recommend this book.

Carolyn Eberhart's story, "Mr Darcy's Christmas Carol" is what it sounds like. Wonderful take on the Dickens' clas...
I bought the book for Sharon Lathan's story "A Darcy Christmas" but read all three. I absolutely loved all three novellas. I highly recommend this book.

Carolyn Eberhart's story, "Mr Darcy's Christmas Carol" is what it sounds like. Wonderful take on the Dickens' classic. Quite fun.

Amanda Grange's story "Christmas Present" takes us to the Bingley's for a family gathering and a very special arrival. Mrs Bennet is captured wonderfully and simply 'perfect'.

Sharon Lathan's story "A Darcy Christmas" is a wonderful recollection, or look into the future, of Christmases Darcy and Lizzy share together as it is based on her series of novels. But have no fear, she doesn't spoil anything if you are looking to read them or are in the process of reading them. It's just Christmas. You get snips of what is to come... but no details of things and relationships that happen in the novels. So don't worry about spoiling yourself. If you haven't read her novels, however I recommend them, have no fear. You will not have a hard time figuring who is who or what happened... so enjoy.

posted by CeciliaCat on November 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Confusing and a lot of literary license

These ladies have taken an age old story and applied it to Mr.Darcy. An intriging way to get him engaged to Elizabeth but I prefer the original way and leaving The Christmas Carol alone. Cute, can be read by a teen without the explicitness of the next book.

posted by JKPA on January 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 154 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book

    I bought the book for Sharon Lathan's story "A Darcy Christmas" but read all three. I absolutely loved all three novellas. I highly recommend this book.

    Carolyn Eberhart's story, "Mr Darcy's Christmas Carol" is what it sounds like. Wonderful take on the Dickens' classic. Quite fun.

    Amanda Grange's story "Christmas Present" takes us to the Bingley's for a family gathering and a very special arrival. Mrs Bennet is captured wonderfully and simply 'perfect'.

    Sharon Lathan's story "A Darcy Christmas" is a wonderful recollection, or look into the future, of Christmases Darcy and Lizzy share together as it is based on her series of novels. But have no fear, she doesn't spoil anything if you are looking to read them or are in the process of reading them. It's just Christmas. You get snips of what is to come... but no details of things and relationships that happen in the novels. So don't worry about spoiling yourself. If you haven't read her novels, however I recommend them, have no fear. You will not have a hard time figuring who is who or what happened... so enjoy.

    26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    interesting

    Liked the one story about Mr. Darcy being Scrooge and traveling through time with three ghosts. The best part was what his life was like when he married Bingley's sister, Caroline! I liked that particular story best. I think the writer was right on about what his life would have been like had he made that decision.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Great Read!

    As a fan of Jane Austen, especially of 'Pride and Prejudice', this book was a delightful read. Not written specifically in Austen style, it was none the less, easy to understand with good plot points and easy to follow. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in following up with "P&P".

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2012

    Confusing and a lot of literary license

    These ladies have taken an age old story and applied it to Mr.Darcy.
    An intriging way to get him engaged to Elizabeth but I prefer the original way and leaving The Christmas Carol alone. Cute, can be read by a teen without the explicitness of the next book.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Just plain awful!

    The first author (Lathan) totally plagiarised A Christmas Carol and all the stories were totally boring. Pride & Prejudice was my favorite book by Austen and these stories are lame attempts at writing like her. This book is not worth a penny. Even free it wouldn't be worth it.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    So Excited About This Book!

    I love Mr. Darcy... I love Christmas stories - this book looks so perfect! I can't wait to read it! Thank you, BN!

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    Fun book - another look into the Darcy & Elizabeth

    The first part of the book was like the Christmas Carol where the ghost of the Christmas past, present and future visited Mr Darcy. The twist was that Mr. Darcy hadn't proposed to Elizabeth, like the ended of Pride and Prejudice didn't happen.
    The next part of the book dealt with the Christmases that Darcy and Elizabeth shared with their Children throughout the year.

    It is a good book for and die hard Pride and Prejudice fans.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Way To Get in the Holiday Spirit!

    A Darcy Christmas is a compilation of three novellas that focus around The Darcy's and their Christmas experiences.

    Mr. Darcy's Christmas Carol by Carolyn Eberhart
    Mr. Darcy's Christmas Carol takes place the Christmas before Elizabeth and Darcy are married. Shortly before Christmas Day Darcy is visited by the spirit of his father. His father implores him to check his arrogance and pride at the door and treat all people as he treats those in and around Pemberley. Darcy is told that he will be visited by the three Christmas spirits and to heed their messages if he wishes to have a peaceful afterlife. The three Christmas spirits visit Darcy and show him Christmas past, present, and future. Darcy must decide based on the events he is shown whether to change his ways, or be lost forever.

    Carolyn Eberhart did a fantastic job with her debut novella! Her characters were engaging, her storyline, while borrowing from Dickens' story, was all her own. She took a classic and made it unique and fitting in her own right. It was great seeing her take on A Christmas Carol. Of all the novellas in this collection this one was my favorite. It was definitely the most fulfilling of all the stories. Eberhart is a welcome addition to the world of Jane Austen fan fiction. I'm eagerly awaiting her next work.

    5 out of 5 Stars

    Christmas Present by Amanda Grange
    In Christmas Present Elizabeth is pregnant with her and Darcy's first child. Jane has just given birth to her and Charles' first born son, and are about to host Christmas at their new estate near Pemberley. Wishing to see Jane, her family, and her new nephew she convinces Darcy to take her to Jane's house, promising that if she feels any labor pains they will turn around and return to Pemberley. Within a few days time the entire Bennet clan, along with the Hurst's, Caroline Bingley, and Lady Catherine are all at Jane's home celebrating the holiday with a Christmas ball. Soon after dancing with Darcy, Elizabeth begins feeling the twangs of child-birth, and soon gives birth to a perfectly healthy baby.

    I felt as though Grange rushed this story. Many elements are left open (maybe for a future novel) and unfinished. I understand that what she wrote was a novella, but I'm not sure why she began multiple story arcs if she wasn't going to complete them. While I enjoy Grange's writing style, I do wish there was more to Christmas Present.

    3 out of 5 Stars

    A Darcy Christmas by Sharon Lathan
    Of all the novellas this is definitely the most unique and long ranging! Each chapter is dedicated to a different Christmas that the Darcy's experience. A Darcy Christmas spans the time period from the Christmas prior to Lizzie and Darcy's engagement through their 23rd Christmas as a married couple. The chapters are filled with births, deaths, marriages, happy times, and sad ones. As expected Lathan's novella is filled with new characters that add to the richness of her imaginative creation.
    Fans of Lathan's Darcy Saga novels will be glad to know that Lathan stays true to the Christmas' she's already written about in her novels, adding extra tidbits to what we already know. I really enjoyed each chapter giving us a small piece of each year of the Darcy's lives. It gave sneak peaks of what we can expect from Lathan in the future!

    Kimberly (Reflections of a Book Addict)

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    surprised at the poor reviews! Jmm44

    I thought each of the 3 stories were very good! It WAS a lot longer than i expected when it said?? there were 195 pages--- each "page number" had at least 2 & sometimes even 3 pages of text,

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Plot spoilers

    Thanks to all the plot spoilers there is no need to get this loser of a free friday book. Thanks spoilers for ruining another book.

    2 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Weird combo but a holiday read and free

    It is always interesting to see these parody alternate "worlds" and the author may have read the book and not just seen pbs movie or the L.O. and G.G. little early for scrooge but had sales ads in oct. mom

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Appropriate?

    I love Pride and Prejudice; would this book be appropriate for me? I'm nearly fourteen.

    2 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Start your literary holiday tradition with this book!

    Seeing as how I love all things Darcy, I could not wait to read this!!!! Curled up under the covers on a cold, gray and windy day, I curled up with one of my favorite soundtracks (Pride & Prejudice....Jean-Yves Thibaduet) and my new Darcy Christmas book.....sigh.....I am so glad I decided not to wait until it was closer to Christmas. As I started the first story "Mr Darcy's Christmas Carol" by Carolyn Eberhart, I was hooked!!!! I have always loved the B&W version of A Christmas Carol (with Alastair Sim) and in the place of Ebeneezer I put the handsome and dashing Mr. Darcy and went on the midnight journey with him.....a very cozy entertaining look at one of literature's most beloved characters with a Christmas twist! After a quick break and a freshly poured cup of hot coffee I was once again enraptured with the Darcy's. Amanda Grange pours me into the world of the Darcy's and Bingleys in the second story "Christmas Present". We get a charming little look into the lives of our Pride & Prejudice characters as they all celebrate Christmas together with the Bingley family. To end the story with a tiny Darcy bundle was wonderful! Settling in further, well into the evening now, I enter the breathless world of my favorite couple with Sharon Lathan's "A Darcy Christmas".....as I traveled from Christmas to Christmas with these two passionate lovers, I looked into the world of the Darcy's with breathlessness.....tears.....happiness.....and all around satisfaction. I loved how Miss Lathan took us across the years with the Darcy's and looking at their Holidays spent with one another and how they grew as a couple and a family. Much applause to these three wonderful authors for creating such a wonderful book! I believe Miss Austen would have loved this! I have now officially added this book to my books that I read every holiday season....A new tradition is born....Thank you ladies!

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Holiday recommended read

    "Ghosts of past, present..." evolved to a very warm family story in past times. Would recommend this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Great continued romance

    Any fan of pride and predudice will love this book. It answers the questions of whatever happened to Elizabeth and Darcy after marriage. I think that anyone who enjoys regency romance will love this! There are several stories, so it's a great book to read if you are busy. It's a great read whether it's the Christmas season or not. I will be looking for more from these authors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2013

    Not to my liking at all! The originals can't be touched, so why

    Not to my liking at all! The originals can't be touched, so why try? (ljb)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2013

    Don't bother

    I can't go on with it after about 50 pages. Just a dreary re-write of a Dickens classic.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    A good example of Pride and Prejudice "follow on"

    Written in the Austen style, these short stories follow the life of Darcy and Elizabeth through their many Christmases as husband and wife and grandparents. they are quite well done. I recommend reading them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    Recommended for sure.....

    A wonderful book....Still reading it but I love it so far.......

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    great free friday book

    I loved this book and hated to finish it as then I would not be re visiting the Darcy family. A great holiday book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 154 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8