Customer Reviews for

Darcy & Elizabeth: Nights and Days at Pemberley

Average Rating 4
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Linda Berdoll did it again!

I just finished reading Pride and Prejudice continues and this second sequel by Linda Berdoll was a wonderful continuation from beginning to end!!!

posted by Anonymous on October 24, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Better books elsewhere

This book is bordering on awful. The author has decent storylines, but she it too caught up in writing by thesaurus. Might have been entertaining if she didn't try to make it more than it is. My husband, who is a wordsmith and known for his verbose stories did not ev...
This book is bordering on awful. The author has decent storylines, but she it too caught up in writing by thesaurus. Might have been entertaining if she didn't try to make it more than it is. My husband, who is a wordsmith and known for his verbose stories did not even know what some of the words the author used meant and some where used improperly in his opinion. Spend your money elsewhere unless you are really in need of any Jane fix.. well, then I would suggest reading Pride and Prejudice for the 100th time and forego this book!

posted by Anonymous on June 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2008

    Better books elsewhere

    This book is bordering on awful. The author has decent storylines, but she it too caught up in writing by thesaurus. Might have been entertaining if she didn't try to make it more than it is. My husband, who is a wordsmith and known for his verbose stories did not even know what some of the words the author used meant and some where used improperly in his opinion. Spend your money elsewhere unless you are really in need of any Jane fix.. well, then I would suggest reading Pride and Prejudice for the 100th time and forego this book!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    I was so disappointed!

    I loved Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife, but this was not remotely as good. The editor of this book should be ashamed. Why did it take over one hundred pages to get to any storyline other than Elizabeth recovering from childbirth and not performing her duties as a wife? Really!?! When we finally got around to more than just the Darcy's sex life the other charactors didn't have any continued development, and the new charactors who were introduced lacked any depth. What a waste of time and money!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2008

    WWJD?

    No, seriously, What Would Jane Do? Does the poor, shameless person who wrote this really believe that Jane Austen would have approved? Is it not possible that she ceased telling Elizabeth and Darcy's story where she did? In my opinion, this is nothing more than a collection of silly and thoroughly unnecessary love trysts that shouldn't be in any way, shape, or form connected with Pride and Prejudice.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2007

    A reviewer

    Recently delivered of twins, Elizabeth struggles to regain her figure and the couple is tormented by not having as much sex as they hoped for. That's pretty much the plot. Other characters are thrown in to the mix, but such license has been taken with their personalities that they're unrecognizable. Anything that could have been sensual or exciting is strangled by Romantic Porn Language ('...fluttered her fan at the memory of his turgid manhood...', '...her nether-regions tingled in anticipation...' and so on. If you wanted a continuation of the Pride & Prejudice characters you have grown to love, seek elsewhere. If you want to know exactly how many times a day and in what positions D and E get down.... this is the book for you.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2007

    Linda Berdoll did it again!

    I just finished reading Pride and Prejudice continues and this second sequel by Linda Berdoll was a wonderful continuation from beginning to end!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2007

    Be happy with the first one

    This sequel was such a disappointment. I had such high hopes after reading 'Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife,' but none of them were realized here. If you enjoy getting beaten over the head with a stick about minute character details you already know, feel free to read this book. If not, engage your attentions elsewhere.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2006

    utter dissapointment

    i actually felt embarassed for the characters....only read if you want to become immersed in shame

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2006

    How did this get published?!!!

    I've got to say as sequels go, this is the worst that I have ever read. In dire need of editing this book has neither plot nor style. Don't waste your time! If you are looking for a good sequel to Pride & Prejudice try 'Presumtion: An Entertainment,' by Julia Barrett.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    So glad Linda Berdoll wrote another sequel - loved this one almo

    So glad Linda Berdoll wrote another sequel - loved this one almost as much as the first. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Excellent!

    What's to say - it's Darcy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    Loved!

    Loved!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    decent

    It was not as nice as the 1st, but I still like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    GREAT READ

    I love this book it was a great read, but I would really like it if they would release it in audio.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fast paced, lively, memorable characters.

    Sequel to Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife. Delves deeper into side characters. Adds greater dimension to the story of Darcy and Elizabeth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Darcy and Elizabeth

    I have decided to read ALL of the Pride and Prejudice sequels, and was hesitant to procur this copy because of what I had heard about it. I found it to be very entertaining, the vocabulary that Linda Berdoll uses made for an enjoyable read. The story was good; although, I must "red flag" that there is, indeed, a lot of sex...so, for the Jane Austen purist, be warned, but for an enjoyable story with Darcy and Elizabeth at Pemberley I recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My only complaint is that it ended.

    I really liked this book, I'm a sucker for romance. And while this strays from Jane Austen's original works, this book is better than a cheap romance novel. I read the first one and was so excited that there was this one to keep the story going. When I finished it, I was sad that there wasn't a third.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It was very poor reading material.

    Do not spend time and money.The most nonsensical book.I liked her first book much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Reading

    This is the second book in the sequel of Pride and Prejudices by this author. I truely enjoyed it. She shows a racey side to the passionate love that Elizabeth and Darcy have for each other. This is a side that Jane Austen could never have imagined. But it is well written, has a wonderful story line and I love the paths the characters take. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Attention, Jane Austen Lovers!

    Loved "Darcy and Elizabeth--Nights and Days at Pemberly"! Those who can't get enough of Elizabeth and Darcy will be thankful for this latest in the continuing saga penned by Linda Berdoll (who is now writing yet another D&E followup). Austen purists will continue to no doubt be shocked at Berdoll's effrontery in thinking she can match the great Jane; but what the heck, it's so much fun---put aside the literary snobbery, sit down and just enjoy the darn thing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2008

    Okay but not as good as Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife

    This book lacked the deep plot and exciting events of her first book and she tends to overdivulge on details at times. Instead of just getting right into the story, she tries to recite the events of Pride and Prejudice and Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife before getting to the real story. I still love the way that she writes the love between Darcy and Elizabeth. Will definitely read the next one if Berdoll writes it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5