Customer Reviews for

Darcy & Elizabeth: Nights and Days at Pemberley

Average Rating 4
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Linda Berdoll did it again!

I just finished reading Pride and Prejudice continues and this second sequel by Linda Berdoll was a wonderful continuation from beginning to end!!!

posted by Anonymous on October 24, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Better books elsewhere

This book is bordering on awful. The author has decent storylines, but she it too caught up in writing by thesaurus. Might have been entertaining if she didn't try to make it more than it is. My husband, who is a wordsmith and known for his verbose stories did not ev...
This book is bordering on awful. The author has decent storylines, but she it too caught up in writing by thesaurus. Might have been entertaining if she didn't try to make it more than it is. My husband, who is a wordsmith and known for his verbose stories did not even know what some of the words the author used meant and some where used improperly in his opinion. Spend your money elsewhere unless you are really in need of any Jane fix.. well, then I would suggest reading Pride and Prejudice for the 100th time and forego this book!

posted by Anonymous on June 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2008

    Better books elsewhere

    This book is bordering on awful. The author has decent storylines, but she it too caught up in writing by thesaurus. Might have been entertaining if she didn't try to make it more than it is. My husband, who is a wordsmith and known for his verbose stories did not even know what some of the words the author used meant and some where used improperly in his opinion. Spend your money elsewhere unless you are really in need of any Jane fix.. well, then I would suggest reading Pride and Prejudice for the 100th time and forego this book!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    I was so disappointed!

    I loved Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife, but this was not remotely as good. The editor of this book should be ashamed. Why did it take over one hundred pages to get to any storyline other than Elizabeth recovering from childbirth and not performing her duties as a wife? Really!?! When we finally got around to more than just the Darcy's sex life the other charactors didn't have any continued development, and the new charactors who were introduced lacked any depth. What a waste of time and money!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2008

    WWJD?

    No, seriously, What Would Jane Do? Does the poor, shameless person who wrote this really believe that Jane Austen would have approved? Is it not possible that she ceased telling Elizabeth and Darcy's story where she did? In my opinion, this is nothing more than a collection of silly and thoroughly unnecessary love trysts that shouldn't be in any way, shape, or form connected with Pride and Prejudice.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2007

    A reviewer

    Recently delivered of twins, Elizabeth struggles to regain her figure and the couple is tormented by not having as much sex as they hoped for. That's pretty much the plot. Other characters are thrown in to the mix, but such license has been taken with their personalities that they're unrecognizable. Anything that could have been sensual or exciting is strangled by Romantic Porn Language ('...fluttered her fan at the memory of his turgid manhood...', '...her nether-regions tingled in anticipation...' and so on. If you wanted a continuation of the Pride & Prejudice characters you have grown to love, seek elsewhere. If you want to know exactly how many times a day and in what positions D and E get down.... this is the book for you.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2007

    Be happy with the first one

    This sequel was such a disappointment. I had such high hopes after reading 'Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife,' but none of them were realized here. If you enjoy getting beaten over the head with a stick about minute character details you already know, feel free to read this book. If not, engage your attentions elsewhere.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2006

    utter dissapointment

    i actually felt embarassed for the characters....only read if you want to become immersed in shame

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2006

    How did this get published?!!!

    I've got to say as sequels go, this is the worst that I have ever read. In dire need of editing this book has neither plot nor style. Don't waste your time! If you are looking for a good sequel to Pride & Prejudice try 'Presumtion: An Entertainment,' by Julia Barrett.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2006

    Berdol, have you taken leave of your wits?!

    Really, I've never read such a load of Absolutely nothing in my life. This book is about nothing. Nothing at all. There is no plot. It¿s not anything like Pride and Prejudice, clearly. The first book wasn¿t either but at least it was entertaining, although overtly sexual and explicit. We saw Elizabeth reduced to nothing more than minx in the first novel and now we see her transformed into a total airhead. The characters are, as they were in the first novel, one-dimensional and pointless. I mean, where is this novel going? What is the point of writing it. It wasn¿t about anything. Just more redundant porn scenes between Darcy and Elizabeth, and even THEY get tiring. What an absolute and total waste of good paper. Insipid nonsense, dry and forgettable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2006

    What a waste of my time

    I preordered this book even before it was released. It is a sequel to 'Mr. Darcy Takes A Wife,' which is a sequel to Austen's 'Pride and Prejudice,' one of my favorite books. Even though 'Mr. Darcy Takes A Wife' could never measure up to 'Pride and Prejudice,' it was somewhat entertaining, and had its good parts. This book, on the other hand, was a complete waste of time. The first hundred pages or so was dedicated to reciting in different ways what happened in 'Mr Darcy Takes A Wife.' I have read the other book!! Else, I would never have bought this one. What I was wondering though, was whether the author herself had reread her own book before writing this one, because there were differences in the details. If she didn't remember her own book as well as me, it was already off to a bad start. But that was not the worst part. The whole book has no real plot. There are some small plots here and there, mostly after the 300th page. And even those are beyond predictable! How can it be interesting if I always know what is going to happen next? And why can I always tell? Well, first of all, the characters have no depth. They are not at all developed, and exclusively one dimensional. Darcy is always perfect and devoted, Elizabeth is always bold, even when it's stupid to be so, Wickham is always cheating, Lydia is always imprudent, Bingley is always weak, Jane is always nice, etc. Austen's characters and the changes in their thoughts throughout the original book were simply fascinating. There is a difference between being consistent in character personalities and being boring. Here, I couldn't even recognize a resemblance of those characters, except for, of course, their names. But then, how could the characters be developed if there wasn't really anything HAPPENING?! I am not at all against the sex in the book, so long as it's not the only activity going on for Darcy and Elizabeth for most of the book. Well, it is very close to that. We hear about them having sex on the balcony, out in the garden, in their specially-ordered-double-size bath tub, in their carriage, on Lady Catherine's shelves, etc. I got the idea. Please, move on. It's perfectly fine to include the sex, so long as there are something else too for the main characters, whom the book is named after. In the beginning of the book, if they are not having sex, they are thinking about when they can have it. Fast forward to some small plots at the end. The whole plan of Lady Catherine took forever to unveil, and when it did, it turned out to be completely stupid. I thought it was going to be something interesting, but Good God, you even call THAT a plan?! She went through all these troubles to get her daughter pregnant. The plan was to ask Darcy and Elizabeth to let their new son marry this new baby to unite the wealth. Well, they said no. That was the end of it. So much for the plan. Or the whole story about how Elizabeth tried to deal with Wickham when he came back. Elizabeth couldn't seem to change her mind enough. We read pages of how she was going to go see Wickham, and solve it all, so her husband wouldn't have to. Then all of a sudden, she realized something that was obvious to everybody else long before, that it would be safer with her husband. So she hurried to look for him. Then she saw him WALKING with his former lover, walking for God's sake, and decided to abandon that plan too. Then she went back to Wickham alone, it was dangerous, but she got out. However, she basically solved absolutely nothing. Her husband then, on his own, came back and had to deal with Wickham anyway. I mean, is that really Lizzy?! What a shame... And I haven't even mentioned the weirdest events either, such as the whole 'whatever you call it' between Mrs. Bennet and the painter or how Charlotte was still nursing her 5-year-old boy who was mentally retarded, or how her Elizabeth, after being Charlotte's good friend for so many years, left uncomfortably.. The best thing ab

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1