Customer Reviews for

Darcy's Voyage: A Tale of Uncharted Love on the Open Seas

Average Rating 4.5
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Inspiring and Moving Variation on Pride & Prejudice

    I am an Austen snob and as addicted as I am to Austen sequels and inspired books, I can be very demanding with them. Taking on established and very beloved characters is a risky business for an author - - readers will inevitably ask "Would Jane Austen have allowed Lizzy to do that? Would Mr. Darcy have said such a thing?"

    Kara Louise's Darcy's Voyage (previously published as Pemberley's Promise) is nothing short of a virtual love letter to not only Jane Austen but Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy. I absolutely loved each and every page and was enthralled with the story and with how Ms. Louise painted Elizabeth and Darcy.

    I found the concept itself of Elizabeth and Darcy meeting on a carriage and then on board a ship headed to America rather than at a town dance fascinating and novel (no pun intended). While changing their initial meeting caused other aspects of the original story to be slightly altered, there were other features that remained true to Austen's original masterpiece and I had fun picking up on them. I enjoyed the variations that Darcy's Voyage set forth and believe them to be an inspired alternative to Pride and Prejudice.

    Ms. Louise's writing style was engaging and yet still remained true to the Regency period. She was faithful to the characteristics Austen firstly penned for Elizabeth and Darcy while giving new insight into their actions and behaviors. So closely did she mirror Austen's vision that Darcy's Voyage could have been a colloboration between the two.

    Original Pride and Prejudice characters, including the Bennet family, Aunt and Uncle Gardiner, Georgiana Darcy, Colonel Fitzwilliam, Lady Catherine de Bourgh and Wickham, provide solid support in Darcy's Voyage.

    I would not hesitate to highly recommend Darcy's Voyage to any devoted reader of Jane Austen and historical fiction and romance readers. Out of the many Austen sequels and Austen inspired novels I have read, Darcy's Voyage easily ranks in the top few, based on writing style, story and interpretation. This was my first novel by Kara Louise but I am so in love with Darcy's Voyage that I will eagerly snap up her five other Pride and Prejudice inspired variations.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Not bad at all!

    I thought this was going to be an awful P&P spin off. How surprised I was to be drawn in by the characters and story line. An enjoyable read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND - Couldn't put it down

    This is one of those novels where you grow to love the characters and really hate it when the book is over. I could go on and on and on reading about the Darcys and this time period. Loved it!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    Such a great book....highly recommended

    If you like Pride and Prejudice you will certainly love this book. I read this book straight through in 2 days because i could not put it down. :) I will definitely be reading more books written by Kara Louise in the future.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Incredibly Creative!

    Darcy's Voyage, a Pride and Prejudice variation, was originally published as Pemberley's Promise and is Kara Louise's debut novel. The main variation of Darcy's Voyage is that Elizabeth and Darcy don't meet in Meryton, they meet briefly in a carriage ride, and then again two years later on a boat headed towards America. It was during that carriage ride where the two unknown passengers left lasting impressions on each other. Two years later Elizabeth and Darcy again meet while on board Darcy's ship Pemberley's Promise which is set to make berth in America. Darcy is going to pick-up Georgiana while Lizzie is going to meet her Aunt and Uncle Gardiner. (Neither recognized the other as the passenger from that carriage ride)While on board Elizabeth fascinates Darcy with what living below decks is like, never knowing he is the ship's owner. A sickness soon begins to overtake those living below decks and Darcy becomes frightened for Elizabeth's health. Darcy finds out that Elizabeth is sick, and that his stately room has the only spare bed on-board the ship. He proposes to Elizabeth that they marry strictly for propriety so that she can take the extra bed in his room and get well. Elizabeth agrees to the plan and the two are married. Darcy promises that upon his return to England that he will have the marriage annulled. A week or so later she is completely well again, and starting to have feelings for Darcy. Unbeknownst to her Darcy has also fallen in love. The two believe that the other is play acting the role of doting spouse for appearances sake. On the final night aboard ship Darcy kisses Elizabeth. Elizabeth quietly scolds herself for allowing herself to want to be kissed by Darcy, knowing that he doesn't love her. Embarrassed by her actions she hides from Darcy for the final night on board, awaking early to leave the boat and her fake marriage behind. Darcy on the other hand cannot wait to tell Elizabeth that he loves her and wants to keep their marriage intact. Darcy returns to their room only to find it empty. Distraught he drinks himself to sleep only to wake up and realize that Elizabeth has left the ship and possibly his life forever. Darcy vows to himself that he will not annul their marriage until he has found Elizabeth and told her how he truly feels about her. It is through this path that we see more of Austen's original storyline. (i.e. Meryton assembly, Jane getting sick and staying at Netherfield, Lady Catherine's explosion) Darcy's Voyage is probably my favorite Pride and Prejudice variation that I've read so far. Louise created an original storyline that was able to incorporate all of Austen's original characters and conflicts. She chose different outcomes for some, most notably the Wickham/Lydia storyline, which made me exceedingly happy. Mr. Benett, the Gardiners, and Colonel Fitzwilliam were also given larger roles, much to this reader's pleasure. The interactions between Elizabeth and Darcy are some of my favorite that I've ever read. Louise got both characters really well. She lets the reader into both of their heads for the whole story, which gave a lot of insight into the characters inner thoughts and workings. I highly recommend this for anyone who is a fan of Pride and Prejudice and would like to see what might have happened had Elizabeth and Darcy been thrust into each other's company and forced to get to know each other. Kimberly (Reflections of A Book Addict)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2010

    Great Read

    Pride and Prejudice is my favorite book, therefore, I can never get enough of Lizzy and Darcy. However, I am very picky about which sequels and variations on Austen's original meet the mark of excellence. Darcy's Voyage, originally published as Pemberley's Promise, is one of the best variations I have read. The story is highly original, the characters all that is charming, and the events fascinating. While most of my copies of Austen variations bear the marks of my red pen throughout, this one remains unblemished. Miss Louise has a talent of creating extremely interesting stories from Austen's brilliant classic, maintaining the romance while remaining true to the characters. I really enjoy all of her variations, and this one is a favorite.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    Beautiful!

    I loved this story. I have read most P & P sequels, and this is one of my favorites. There's plenty of emotion and romance without any explicit scenes. I have never read anything by Kara Louise before, but now I can't wait to read more!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Entertaining

    Great Story absolutely loved it!! After Returning to England Darcy and Elizabeth's story follow the same time line of Jane Austen. You still have misunderstanding verbal sword play and Lady Catherine de Burough. I have read some of Kara Louise other books and this is just as imaginative as Something Like Regret definitely a keeper for your bookshelf!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2010

    Fantastic adaptation!!!

    I purchased this book when it was originally published under the title of "Pemberley's Promise." It was actually recommended by my surgeon when she noticed that I was reading a Jane Austen book. I LOVE Jane Austen!
    Kara Louise's version of what might have happened if Darcy and Elizabeth had met while on a voyage to America is delightful. She stays true to the characters created by Jane Austen. Elizabeth may come across and being a little more easy-going but this can be attributed to the fact that she is away from everyone and everything she knows and loves. However, her independent streak shines through when she insists on helping others even when she is not feeling well herself.
    I read this book a year ago and then reread it this summer while following my husband around the hay field and enjoyed it just as much as I did the first time.
    I am truly looking forward to reading many more of Kara's books!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Love it

    Amazing book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read for P&P fans

    I read this book a few years ago when it was published as "Pemberley's Promise." As an Austen fan, I have read many, many Pride and Prejudice alternate stories, sequels, prequels, modernizations, etc. and this is one of my favorites.
    Darcy and Elizabeth meet on board a ship on their way to visit the United States. As in the original, the course of their relationship is anything but smooth sailing. Eventually, of course, they admit to their true feelings and just as in all Jane Austen's books, there's a wedding and a happy ending.
    One of the errors that many fan fiction writers make is having the male characters say and do things that no sensible gentleman would have done in Austen's time -in other words, talk too much about their feelings. I think this author understands that what makes the original great is more about what's not said than about what is said. As a result, I think you'll recognize the essence of Darcy and Elizabeth in this book.
    Overall, I found this to be a well-written and delightful diversion, and I recommend it to anyone who can't get enough of Darcy and Elizabeth and the other P&P characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    One of my favorites

    I love how Kara Louise takes the storyline we know and love and adds a different backstory to Darcy's torment at Netherfield. Extremely well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Best version of P&P yet!!! Love love love it!!!

    Best version of P&P yet!!! Love love love it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    A must read to any pride and prejudice fan

    I fell in love with the story. I did not go out for 2 days straight and barely had anything to eat while reading this amazing book. I cried, laugh, tensed so much that only miracously don't need a high blood pressure pill!! Very original and with so much diversity but without changing the whole story of the real " pride and prejudice ". Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Eagleclaw

    We are moving to ocean first reault.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    MOTEPAW AND SPARKPAW

    We are back!!!! Wooohoo!!!! Whats up? Where is everyone? And where is the new camp? We went to ocean first result, but nobody was there!
    Ps. My nook got lost. I found it just a few days ago.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Freckletail

    Where is camp now?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Dawnpaw

    Freacketail can i have my med cat name

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Loved this book

    I loved this twist is the Pride and Prejudice story. I recommend this book to anyone who loves the Jane Austen stories. Could not put the book down as I anticipated when Elizabeth and Darcy would finally share their true feelings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    I loved it I finished in one day!!

    I found this book before leaving on my trip back from NY I read the book and I loved the way the author put a new touch to the famed classic and put the old details that everyone loves inside and made a beautiful story line. Loved it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4