Customer Reviews for

The Darcys & the Bingleys: Pride and Prejudice Continues

Average Rating 3.5
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Really enjoyed it!

I found this story to be a wonderful, light and easy read. It follows the Darcys and Bingleys well after their wedding and is full of humorous dialogue and some nail-biting moments as well. If you are an Austen purist then this is probably not the book for you, but if y...
I found this story to be a wonderful, light and easy read. It follows the Darcys and Bingleys well after their wedding and is full of humorous dialogue and some nail-biting moments as well. If you are an Austen purist then this is probably not the book for you, but if you love anything P&P related, and are open to just about anything, then you'll enjoy this book!

posted by 141592 on October 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A disappointing read to a true Jane Austen Fan/Purist

I am I guess what you would call a Pride and Prejudice/ Jane Austen Purist. I hate it when authors destroy what Jane Austen created over 200 years ago. I have read several continuations of P&P and there has yet to be one that I have read that I have not liked, that wa...
I am I guess what you would call a Pride and Prejudice/ Jane Austen Purist. I hate it when authors destroy what Jane Austen created over 200 years ago. I have read several continuations of P&P and there has yet to be one that I have read that I have not liked, that was until this one. I tried to read it twice and I could not get beyond chapter 3 of section 2. Ms. Altman has destroyed the characters of Bingley, Darcy, Elizabeth, and Jane. The fact that she has Darcy bring Bingley a copy of the Kauma Sautra shows how little she knows the true characters. I will say the one good part of the whole book was when Darcy and Bingley threw Wickham out of the window. Overall I was extremely disappointed with this book and wish that I had spent more time researching it then I did. Because if I knew then what I know now I never would not have bought it. If you are looking for a good p&p continuation to read then I recommend Darcy's Story or Mr. Darcy's Diary, both do a much better job of staying true to Austen's Style and to the characters that we have come to know and love. I will not be reading any of the sequels in this series or any other book that Ms.Altman writes ever again.

posted by KarebearKH on July 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2008

    The Darcys & the Bingleys meet the Kama Sutra?

    Now they had come to it, the moment he dreaded. ¿We are to marry in nearly two days -¿ ¿It has not escaped my notice, I assure you.¿ ¿- and I find myself in need of some . . . advice.¿ Mr. Bingley & Mr. Darcy, The Darcys & the Bingleys And so gentle readers, begins the premise of the latest sequel to Jane Austen¿s novel Pride and Prejudice, entitled The Darcys and The Bingleys. In this debut novel by Marsha Altman the story is centered on the friendship of Charles Bingley and Fitzwilliam Darcy, elevating Mr. Bingley to co-protagonist with his future brother-in-law. We are immediately reconnected to the original story as Charles Bingley, that amiably good natured friend of the commanding Mr. Darcy ruminates over their approaching marriages to the Bennet sisters, Jane and Elizabeth. Endearingly true to character, Mr. Bingley is not quite sure of himself or how to resolve a pressing matter. After much deliberation he determines that his closest friend Mr. Darcy is the best man to approach on the delicate subject of martial relations and entreats his advice. Mr. Darcy responds by presenting him with a wedding gift ¿ `the book¿¿ an illustrated and transcribed ancient Indian text of the Kama Sutra. Not only is Charles Bingley concerned about his wedding night performance, his future bride Jane Bennet is in turn confused and alarmed after the obligatory mother-daughter chat on wifely duties that her mother unloads on her and sister Elizabeth the day before the wedding. Luckily their aunt Mrs. Gardiner was also present to smooth the waters so-to-speak, but even cool and clever Elizabeth is befuddled by the vagueness of the information and asks her fiancé, Mr. Darcy for reassurance. As the invited guests arrive for the wedding, we are re-acquainted with many familiar characters from Pride and Prejudice Mr. and Mrs. Gardiner, Rev. Mr. Collins and wife Charlotte, Mr. & Mrs. Bennet and their daughters Kitty and Mary, Lydia Wickham, Anne de Borough who has escaped from Rosings and the clutches of her mother Lady Catherine, Colonel Fitzwilliam, Georgiana Darcy, Mr. & Mrs. Hurst, Caroline Bingley, and one uninvited guest, George Wickham who is unceremoniously pitched out the second floor window of Netherfield Park and into a manure pile by Mr. Darcy and Mr. Bingley. The men folk then proceed to throw a stag party, and Mr. Darcy has a bit too much to drink. We are also privy to a snipet of the back story on the friendship of Mr. Bingley and Mr. Darcy many years before ¿Netherfield Park is let at last¿ when Pride and Prejudice begins, enlightening us further on their personalities and relationships. Bingley and Darcy became fast friends at Cambridge University after Bingley rescued him from a scandalous situation after their introduction at a faculty soirée. A nineteen-year old Mr. Darcy was deep in his cups, seduced by a disreputable young lady and found in another student¿s dorm room incoherent and disheveled. With Bingley¿s help, the matter was swiftly smoothed over, but since it was so unlike his friend¿s usual reserved manner, he continues to chide him about it whenever he needs to privately put the grand Mr. Darcy of Pemberley in his place. At the conclusion of the wedding ceremony and dinner, the Darcy¿s and the Bingley¿s depart for there respective townhouses in London, and hopefully on to connubial bliss. Like Mr. Darcy¿s new bride Elizabeth, we see a more relaxed and casual husband after the ceremony. This Darcy makes jokes with his new wife. ¿I shall do my best to be an upstanding gentleman, ignoring your presence almost entirely in company, and never endeavour to gaze upon you or whisper private jokes in your ear at parties_ ¿ Her response was to kiss him. Well, to kiss him and to climb on top of him, the ultimate assertion of authority. ¿That is not what I prefer, Mr. Darcy.¿ ¿Then we are in agreement. I will treat you with great love and compassion in front of guests and as a wanton wench i

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    Light fun for P&P addicts, not purists

    If you simply can't get enough of P&P fiction, you'll have some fun with this book. The plot is very improbable but amusing. Hinting at sex more than Jane ever would but not steamy, the romantic scenes bring smiles rather than blushes. The characters are only 2-dimensional versions of the originals and there is too much drunkeness to fit the characters or overall social world that Austen created. The attempt to develop Miss Bingley's story and build a mystery into the tale falls flat. I'd call it a harmless beach read if you can borrow and not buy it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    Interesting Quick Read

    This book had an interesting take on what happens to the Binglys and Darcys after their marriages. The flashbacks to Darcy and Bingly at University were somewhat entertaining. However, the author needs to do a little more research in a few areas. Most notably, her reference to "Noah's daughters". I'm assuming the author is really referring to the biblical account of Lot and his daughters, since Noah is not on record as having any daughters and there are no accounts of egregious behavior with his three daughter-in-laws, either before or after the flood. Also, her reference to Middle English is not completely correct. Middle English is not the same language as Modern English. There are more differences than just regional dialect and spellings between the two. Middle English, much like Anglo Saxon (Old English), is considered a completely different language. Even with "modernized" spellings, people who are not familiar with Middle English are most likely not going to understand the language.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    This book is the beginning of a really involved, bumpy series.

    This book is the beginning of a really involved, bumpy series. There are hysterically funny moments, hardly believeable moments, and waaayyy out there moments. This is not a series for Pride & Predjudice purists. It's a really involving read, you really get inthralled with the crazy lives of the characters and want to know what is happening next, just don't hang onto P&P when you're reading this series. It's a good series over all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    Sweet and Short

    This book was sweet and it definetly had a good sense of humor here and there. I have to say that Darcy and Elizabeth's love seemed less spectacular than in other P& P books, but I enjoyed seeing the Binglys relationship. I thought it was a great that the author included background on the history of Darcy and Bingley's relationship. All in all a good read for any P&P lover :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1