Customer Reviews for

The Darcys & the Bingleys: Pride and Prejudice Continues

Average Rating 3.5
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Loved IT

I think this is the book that Linda Bedroll tried to write but failed terribly! This book is more mature as it has much to do with relations, which is a perfect continuation for the sweet Miss Benets that now became wives. This book gives Austen fans a real glimpse into...
I think this is the book that Linda Bedroll tried to write but failed terribly! This book is more mature as it has much to do with relations, which is a perfect continuation for the sweet Miss Benets that now became wives. This book gives Austen fans a real glimpse into what setttled after the two happy couples rode off in the carriages. I found this book sexy but not erotic or perverse or even pornographic as was "Mr.Darcy takes Wife".
Seriosuly, if you are like me and you hated that book, and you LOVE Pride and Prejudice, this is a great book to follow up with. One of many great sequels.

posted by PassionateAustenite on February 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A disappointing read to a true Jane Austen Fan/Purist

I am I guess what you would call a Pride and Prejudice/ Jane Austen Purist. I hate it when authors destroy what Jane Austen created over 200 years ago. I have read several continuations of P&P and there has yet to be one that I have read that I have not liked, that wa...
I am I guess what you would call a Pride and Prejudice/ Jane Austen Purist. I hate it when authors destroy what Jane Austen created over 200 years ago. I have read several continuations of P&P and there has yet to be one that I have read that I have not liked, that was until this one. I tried to read it twice and I could not get beyond chapter 3 of section 2. Ms. Altman has destroyed the characters of Bingley, Darcy, Elizabeth, and Jane. The fact that she has Darcy bring Bingley a copy of the Kauma Sautra shows how little she knows the true characters. I will say the one good part of the whole book was when Darcy and Bingley threw Wickham out of the window. Overall I was extremely disappointed with this book and wish that I had spent more time researching it then I did. Because if I knew then what I know now I never would not have bought it. If you are looking for a good p&p continuation to read then I recommend Darcy's Story or Mr. Darcy's Diary, both do a much better job of staying true to Austen's Style and to the characters that we have come to know and love. I will not be reading any of the sequels in this series or any other book that Ms.Altman writes ever again.

posted by KarebearKH on July 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2008

    Really enjoyed it!

    I found this story to be a wonderful, light and easy read. It follows the Darcys and Bingleys well after their wedding and is full of humorous dialogue and some nail-biting moments as well. If you are an Austen purist then this is probably not the book for you, but if you love anything P&P related, and are open to just about anything, then you'll enjoy this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Adorable

    When people said they laughed out loud I totally didn't believe them. This story was simply wonderful. Darcy was a funny little stiff character who had issues resolving hiw he should act with his wife in public. Bingley really came into his own as a man and the head of his family. Jane and Elizabeth had a wonderful time teasing their husbands. They were all ridiculous in a good way the whole way through. I will really be reading this one again. I just wish it had some saucy scenes ;D

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Humorous with vivid characters

    Since it has been over 30 years since reading Jane Austen I'm not real sure of the trueness of this as a continuation. But I really liked it. The plot seemed to float around, more like two separate tales. A very restful curl up with a glass of tea book. Makes me need to go back and read Jane again .

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    Highly recommend

    I really had fun reading this book. I even laughed out loud a number of times. Recommended reading

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Perfect!

    ...love reading about Mr. Dracy and Elizabeth, however this book actually gives u a wonderful insight on Mr. Bingley. It shows u just how these two men know and rely on each other, not only for their sensability, but also for their unbridled humor...at times found myself laughing out loud. The book also gives you a better insight to the love between Mr. and Mrs. Darcy.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    Fun read!

    I loved this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sweet but Funny

    I read The Darcys & the Bingleys in preparation for reading The Plight of the Darcy Brothers. I very rarely will read or review a sequel without previously reading the book that came before. Call it a failing or a compulsion but I literally can't.

    The Darcys & The Bingleys is one of my favorite JA sequels that I have read this year. It was hilarious. Darcy and Bingley scamper about, joke and play like two overgrown brothers. That is always something I have wanted to see in a JA sequel. The friendship between Darcy and Bingley is often neglected and I was overjoyed to see it explored in this book. This was also the best Bingley, apart from Austen's of course, that I have seen. He is an interesting character in his own right and I was delighted to see his character explored beyond his role as Darcy's friend and Jane's husband. Some of the situations that Altman had Darcy in, had my falling off my chair in hysterics. I never thought that Darcy would be a good comic character but I guess he is the prototypical "straight" man in the comic team of Darcy and Bingley. My favorite Darcy comic moment had to be him in an opiate haze. Darcy calling Mr. Bingley "Charlie Bungley" was a moment of genius that had me chortling for hours. Drunk Darcy came in a close second. The relationship between Elizabeth and Darcy was also a highlight. They laughed and joked and teased each other. It was the relationship that I always imagined them having.

    The other P&P characters were also treated very well by Altman. Jane was absolutely perfect. She was spunky and as witty as Elizabeth. Well maybe not as spunky as Elizabeth.you get my point.Caroline was also given new dimensions in The Darcys & The Bingleys. She gets involved with a scoundrel, falls in love with someone way below her station, and makes a truce with Elizabeth and Jane. Most of the canon characters were improved by Altman's writing and the non-canon characters fit into the P&P world perfectly.

    This is one of the best JA sequels I have ever picked up not because it is any truly romantic and heartwarming story (which it is at points) but because it gives each and every character a new facet. I can't wait to start reading The Plight of the Darcy Brothers.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    SusieQ's words

    I laugh and rejoiced with this book. It was pleasant reading. It made me look forward to reading all the sequels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    FANTASTIC!!!

    I have been reading all of Marsha Altman's stories, including the not yet published, first drafts of her sequels to this story and it is by far one of the best continuations of Pride and Prejudice I have ever come across. It is difficult and nearly impossible to imitate another author, especially one who writes in another era, but Altman gives life to her own original characters and shows us her own side of the story with added adventure. She makes the original characters human and real, and also gives life to her own characters who you grow to love just like the originals.

    The upcoming sequels have an equally enthralling if not more fantastic plot. If you want a Pride and Prejudice sequel that goes beyond the "happily ever after," this is it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2