Customer Reviews for

Dare to Die (Death on Demand Series #19)

Average Rating 3.5
( 368 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(105)

3 Star

(109)

2 Star

(51)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Always a new cast of characters!

I enjoy this series because even though it all takes place on an island, there is an ever-changing cast of characters. ...so "the bad guy" isn't the one newcomer to the group. Plots are always good, and the characters worth getting to know.

posted by 3495808 on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

can't open it.

frustated, after several tries can't open so I'm deleting it

posted by 5600523 on April 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Couldn't finish

    I tried to like this book but I just couldn't care about the characters or the plot. Seemed to be trying a bit too hard and it was amatuerish.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Not my style

    I am having to force myself to read this. I just don't care. Glad this was free.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Don't waste your time

    I kept trying and trying to get into this book and I just could not.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Hey it's a freebie.

    The book is about the death of a teenager and questions concerning the circumstances of her demise. The time frame is about a decade after her death and revolves mostly around her classmates who have come together again in a small tight knit community. The main character is the owner of a bookstore that specializes in mystery writers. The problem is that the story does not really revolve around her. Its as though she's an outsider telling the story. There is an attempt to make her character more deeply involved but its not enough to make that connection. The cast of characters are not well developed so you never really build a relationship with any of them. There are a lot of "shortcuts" taken to get from one part of the story to the next. When I finished the book my reaction was "well i'm glad that's over with". There is no foul language or racy stuff so its okay for kids to read the book, and honestly the level of detail is probably better suited for a younger audience.
    KMS

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Boring.

    Shallow, boring characters. Storyline was okay but nothing special. Basically it sucked.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Not for me

    This just didnt click for me. Too slow in the beginning with so many characters and details. After page 75, I skipped to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Disappointed

    Small town story with way two many chactors, not sure why anyone liked it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Ok read

    It was an ok, easy read. Slow moving at times, glad it was free.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Bleh

    Too many boring characters. Hard to care who did it when you dont care about the characters. Pretty much a waste of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Ok

    Not the best. Good thing it was free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Not a great read

    Definitely not a book that I would read a second time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    recommend

    Good interesting story line - figured out the ending quite easily. I am an avid reader of mystgeries murder or otherwise and also do some writing, this gives me a little advantage of figuring out endings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Not much here

    I wouldn't go out of my way to read this one. It would take a die hard mystery fan to get all the references, but I bet they would expect more from a mystery than this book has to give. Not enogh here for a critical reader, but an entertaining free read for the bookworms among us who read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Hmmm

    A little too slow and the frequent recapping too redundant. Even with spelling it out the reader doesn' get a chance to 'solve' the mystery. Glad it was short read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Couldn't finish reading!

    This is the third Nook book I have read that has some kind of technical glitch whereas I get to within 10 pages to the end of the book and it will not advance any further. Dare to Die is 228 pages. I was able to read to page 223. When I would try to advance the page it would go back to 221, 222, 223. Over and over again. Yes, I know many are going to say that has nothing to do with the book and/or author, but it does. Nothing more frustrating then not being able to finish a book! No one should purchase a book without being able to read it to completion! BN wants to charge top dollar for their E-Reads and I have been burned TWICE with this happening on books I bought for $7.99-$8.99 a piece. I am thankful this one was a Nook freebie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3