Customer Reviews for

Dare to Die (Death on Demand Series #19)

Average Rating 3.5
( 367 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(105)

3 Star

(109)

2 Star

(51)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Always a new cast of characters!

I enjoy this series because even though it all takes place on an island, there is an ever-changing cast of characters. ...so "the bad guy" isn't the one newcomer to the group. Plots are always good, and the characters worth getting to know.

posted by 3495808 on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't finish

I tried to like this book but I just couldn't care about the characters or the plot. Seemed to be trying a bit too hard and it was amatuerish.

posted by CalypsoBella on April 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    recommend

    A good story line, but too many useless digressions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Cute sleuthing couple

    The sleuths in this book, Max and Annie Darling, reminded me of Robert Wagner and Stephanie Powers in Hart to Hart. They manage to get themselves involved in mysteries. This one involved a group of people who where former classmates, one gets murdered and it seems to be connected to the deaths of two classmates many years ago. The extents the killer goes to seem a little overboard for the character, but it was a good summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Good

    It was hard to follow because there were so many characters intertwined. I did enjoy the story line but felt something was missing. Ok not great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Boring

    I found the book a little boring. Seemed to drag on in places.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    This was a good book. Not the best I've ever read, but it kept

    This was a good book. Not the best I've ever read, but it kept my interest till the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    good story

    I enjoyed this book. good mystery w/several twists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Kept my attention

    I enjoyed how she used her words to paint a mind picture for the reader. Made it fun to read. Her main characters are very likable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Easy, enjoyable read

    Characters are likeable and I would read others in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Nothing Special

    I agree with others who said this story is not that interesting. The story spins it's wheels for 200 pages. The characters were as one dimentional by the end of the story as they were at the beginning. I didnt understand them, didnt especially care about them, and am not interested enough to read any more from the series. A good effort if it had been the first book, but 19th? I dunno.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Great Free Friday Book

    I didn't have any issues opening this book And I found it to be a good murder mystery.

    I generally, don't read murder mysteries, but this was a book I wanted to finish to find out who the killer was. Everyone in their little group seemed to have motive so it made it all the more interesting. Fun, entertaining little find that I enjoyed.
    *
    Annie and Max, husband and wife duo, have moved back to island. After an old high school classmate returns home to solve a crime that happened when they were in high school, and dies. Everyone they hung around now seem the possible killer. The killer believes Annie knows more than she admits and they soon become the killers new targets.
    *

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    Good light read.

    Grab it when you are heading to the beach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Well-written and personality-driven, but ...

    ... are you getting tired of stories about adults who are told by police and friends to stay out of dangerous situations, that they are actively making things worse ... and stick their noses in anyway? Me too, and I finally lost my temper and put this book down unfinished. It's too bad, because otherwise the book was good. Interesting characters with the plot growing from their lives and secrets, written in an easy graceful style, believable dialogue ... oh, wait, there WAS the bit about the heroine showing up at the last minute at a party SHE WAS HOSTING --- that was just totally unbelievable. But an otherwise intelligent book that asks us and its heroine to be stupid. Grrr.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    good

    Pretty good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Pretty good.

    This is an easy, enjoyable read, though predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    Stay with it, a good read with a whodunnit ending

    For me the launch of the story involved too many characters to keep separated. However, I stayed with it and the story line unravelled a little more with even more characters being added. I was tempted at that point to move to another read, but instead, like my mother always told me, "No dessert until you finish your plate." So I finished my plate (book) and had a forehead slapping moment of dessert with the who-dun-nit that was responsible in the end for the mayhem in this story.
    I will read another story in this series by this author when I get the opportunity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    Must read!

    This book kept me turning the pages. It was full of supence and kept me guessing to the end. Enjoyed the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    A real page turner sure to enchant mystery lovers

    Annie and Max are drawn into a 10-year-old mystery when one of the guests was murdered at their event held at the local pavilion. Carolyn Hart has a way with a plot to keep you involved. You will be surprised at twists and turns of the plot and when the perpetrator is discovered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Easy Read

    Enjoyable and somewhat predictable, but you come to love the characters the more you read Carolyn Hart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    A good read

    It keeps your interest and has likable characters. A fast read and easy to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6