Customer Reviews for

The Daring Book for Girls

Average Rating 4
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Getting my cousins into plenty of trouble!

My cousin has 3 kids - 6, 8, and 9, girl, boy, girl. For Christmas I got them The Double Daring Book for Girls, The Dangerous Book for Boys, and The Daring Book for Girls respectively. The boy was hooked as soon as he saw a project that included a Swiss Army Knife. The ...
My cousin has 3 kids - 6, 8, and 9, girl, boy, girl. For Christmas I got them The Double Daring Book for Girls, The Dangerous Book for Boys, and The Daring Book for Girls respectively. The boy was hooked as soon as he saw a project that included a Swiss Army Knife. The girls immediately sat down with me and we looked through both books in their entirety. They can't wait to try out the projects and activities and kept calling out to their dad and uncle all the things they're going to do. There was also a bit of "Girls rule, boys drool" flying back and forth as they compared books. I'd say they were definitely a hit!

posted by LadyNormaD on January 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

screw the gender binary

Seriously, folks, this book is all about enforcing the gender binary. Who says there are only two genders? And why should girls think so differently from boys? Why shouldn't boys also learn cats cradle? All this does is enforce unnecessary stereotypes about gender. ...
Seriously, folks, this book is all about enforcing the gender binary. Who says there are only two genders? And why should girls think so differently from boys? Why shouldn't boys also learn cats cradle? All this does is enforce unnecessary stereotypes about gender. Let's instead try to challenge gender, because let's face it - who totally fits in with the western definitions of 'feminine' or 'masculine'? Break out of the gender binary and get a life.

posted by Anonymous on November 5, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Anonymous

    I read the sample its a good intro for the book.i read the book too. It was AWSOME. It kinda gave to much info

    O O
    O

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    just what i need!!!!!!

    judging by the title, this is exactly what i need! I am not the most daring girl on the planet, so i could use this book. i'll ask my dad for it right away! i recommend this book to scaredy-cats like me. Enjoy!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    Brings back the good old days!

    This book is really great! Makes you remember all the great things learned before everyone was obsessed with tv and video games. Get this book for your daughter or niece or sister and get them away from the tv. Active kids are happy and creative kids. The book is really amusing with stories about great women as well as many "lessons" on how to do all sorts of things. From how to double dutch to Joan of Arc's story, this book will keep you and your child interested and active. I pull it off the shelf often when there is a moment of boredom! There is also a Dangerous Book for Boys if you have a boy in your life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    Nature is binary, but nurture is all over God's creation...

    To 'A reviewer, a gender activist' ... how many children of different sexes do you have? Nature's binary differences are apparent and it enables the pollination of flowers, allows you to be, and provides for hunters, gatherers, moms and dads to thrive and feel good about their contributuion to the Mother Earth and their God. Most people are very forgiving and supportive about your choices, you might examine being open to a traditional choice that you have not chosen to adopt. Both these titles are fun and somewhat interchangeable, though I have seen where one gender prefers one of the books over the other. Give it a try and God bless... Everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Great book very inspirational

    The reason i put 4 stars is because there is a lot of things that i don't really care about that other people might looooove but otherwise it is a really good book it tells you how to be quite a daring girl : D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Ok

    Good except for they had to add bloody mary and light as a feather stiff as a board... blah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    To much$$$$$

    Its good but you need the money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Lower the price

    To much!! I won't pay that for this book!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    deal with it.

    'For every girl with an independent spirit and a nose for trouble, here is the no-boys-allowed giude to adveture.' true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Daring... I don't think so Worth it... definitely

    I, by chance, picked this book up while browsing through a box of books at a garage sale. Having heard good things about it from friends (and looking at the 2 dollar price tag vs. the 30 dollar price tag found in stores, I decided I would take it home to skin through and possibly even try out some of the activities found in it. I though by daring they meant like how to cook plants and how to cure a snake bite, not how to sew and how to tie a bandanna. I think the name was a misnomer and that if they had changed the name to something like "The Everyday need-to-knows for Girls" they might have gotten more business. The book is a mix of how-to's, question and answer sessions, and stories about woman power. All in all I would have to say that if you can pick this book up for less then 12 dollars go for it, otherwise borrow it from a friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2007

    Great Book!!

    This book was such a joy to read!I loved reading how to play all those differant sports. I would definitely reccomend this book to all girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2007

    Happily find myself specifically in one gender

    Being the mother of both a boy and a girl it is so important to celebrate what is unique, gendered, and special about each of them, they ARE different, both loving and nurturing and caring, both tough and fiesty, both probably could learn double dutch...but THEY ARE DIFFERENT and that is a GOOD THING, and this is a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    Yes, it's been a daring adventure reading this book. I am a man. Yet I liked it. I am not going to tell you what this book is about. Get it and read it. But what I can tell you is that you will spend your cash on a book many other generations of girls will be happy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2007

    Written for the rebel in all of us!

    I purchased this book for my granddaughter and found my self reading it with zealous. Written for all ages. Go buy and allow that inner rebel to shine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2