Customer Reviews for

The Daring Book for Girls

Average Rating 4
( 124 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Getting my cousins into plenty of trouble!

My cousin has 3 kids - 6, 8, and 9, girl, boy, girl. For Christmas I got them The Double Daring Book for Girls, The Dangerous Book for Boys, and The Daring Book for Girls respectively. The boy was hooked as soon as he saw a project that included a Swiss Army Knife. The ...
My cousin has 3 kids - 6, 8, and 9, girl, boy, girl. For Christmas I got them The Double Daring Book for Girls, The Dangerous Book for Boys, and The Daring Book for Girls respectively. The boy was hooked as soon as he saw a project that included a Swiss Army Knife. The girls immediately sat down with me and we looked through both books in their entirety. They can't wait to try out the projects and activities and kept calling out to their dad and uncle all the things they're going to do. There was also a bit of "Girls rule, boys drool" flying back and forth as they compared books. I'd say they were definitely a hit!

posted by LadyNormaD on January 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

screw the gender binary

Seriously, folks, this book is all about enforcing the gender binary. Who says there are only two genders? And why should girls think so differently from boys? Why shouldn't boys also learn cats cradle? All this does is enforce unnecessary stereotypes about gender. ...
Seriously, folks, this book is all about enforcing the gender binary. Who says there are only two genders? And why should girls think so differently from boys? Why shouldn't boys also learn cats cradle? All this does is enforce unnecessary stereotypes about gender. Let's instead try to challenge gender, because let's face it - who totally fits in with the western definitions of 'feminine' or 'masculine'? Break out of the gender binary and get a life.

posted by Anonymous on November 5, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    Best book ever i love reading with it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Cool book

    Awesome book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    peace

    LOVE THE BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    Excellent Book for Girls!

    A must have for all Girl Scout Leaders or anyone who leads girl groups. Wonderful ideas and historical facts that will open a whole new world to young girls.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    My daughter enjoys reading book.

    very good book for girls ages 10 and over

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2010

    So interesting...

    My daughter (11) loves this book and almost read it all in two days. There is so much unique and fun information in it. I highly recommend as a book for your child or for a gift.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book Every Girl Must Own At Any Age

    Just a terrific how-to book. Things I remembered from my childhood and things I always wished I knew...Now I do!

    I try to give it as gifts to young ladies.

    My 3 yr old owns a copy and I hope she learns lots of things from it. It's essential girl stuff.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Great book for every type of girl.

    I think this books is a lot of fun and a great way for girls to stumble across something they might become really interested in. I gave it to my 11 year old little cousin for Christmas. Even though I don't think she is a big reader, I feel that this is a book that she can just pick up whenever she wants, flip to a random page and find something she likes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2008

    A must have for girls

    i bought this for my nine year old, who has been in the scouts since first grade. this is an excellent book for scouting & everyday life...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2008

    A reviewer

    I loved this book! I went over to my friend's house and her older sister had checked it out from the library to do some sort of book report on it. I could hardly put it down to play because it was so cool!! I don't even own this book and I still think it's awesome!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2008

    Every girl should have a copy....

    A fellow leader in Girl Scouts brought a copy to the leader retreat. This is a wonderful, wonderful book. There were somethings in the book that just took me back to when I was a child. At age 35 I am going to purchase this book for myself so that I can share with my daughter and young girl scouts. To the writers: Thank you so much for writing this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    a reviewer

    Every girl in the world needs this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    I even bought a copy for me and I'm 28!

    I bought this book for my best friend's daughter, but after having it in my possession for about an hour, I decided to buy a copy for my boyfriend's daughter. I found it to be such a great book that I even bought a copy for me, I'm 28! It just reminded me of what it felt like being a girl. There are so many fun, insightful, innocent activities in this book, many of which I had already long forgotten about. I gave the book to my friend's daughter and she couldn't stop reading it. She came to me and asked me about the 'Changing a tire' section. She looked at me like it was something only boys did. Within 30 minutes I took her outside and taught her how to change a tire, just to show her that girls can do it too. Next thing you know, this 11 year old girl decided she wanted to be the one who changed the spare tire back to the real tire. She did it all by herself! This book is incredible and every girl needs it! This book is a role model for what should be important in teaching a girl that she can be independent and that she can do anything. All she needs is the idea planted in her mind and this book does just that!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2008

    COOL AND THIS ROCKS!!!

    umm i have not yet red the book but from all the reveiws it seems awesome. I am a girl and would love to read both books because i would want to see wat the boys think too. U SHOULD READ IT!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2007

    perfect perfect perfect!

    When i first saw the series i thought it was some kind of boring dictionary or something. but once i got the chance to read some of it i was laughing and saying, 'no way! i never knew that!' i love how it's the modern version of books that we're origianlly made for manners and such.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2007

    get a life!!screw the gender binary!!!!

    this book is great for little girls!Its very cute and i think you need a hug!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2007

    Great book for girls!

    This book includes many wonderful, innocent topics for young and older girls! As for the 'gender binary': new brain research very much supports that there are many differences in the brain chemistry of boys vs. girls. Just the facts, ma'am!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2007

    Not what you're thinking

    I saw the cover design of this book and thought, 'Gee, isn't this like something they gave fifty years ago to kids?' Turns out it's anything but that. Full of usefull information, and quite funny, this one's a keeper.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    Deju vu of my childhood - great for children of all ages

    I bought both The Daring Book for Girls and The Dangerous Book for Boys - I have ganddaughers & a new grandson and I read the books first - WOW - it all comes back to me now - I even learned neat stuff. My kids got to do some of these things but times had changed and you couldn't let them wander all day like I could in the late 50's & early 60's. But this new generation must be pried loose from the computer, TV, and their cell phones to learn how to have real fun and in the process garner values that will go with them all their lives. My mantra has been 'Yes the movie is wonderful - but the book is so much better'. I hope this book helps the reader try things not just watch other people doing them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2007

    FINALLY, A book that says it all!

    I saw this book at my local bookstore and starting thumbing through it. After awhile, I was so enthralled with it that I knew I had to get it for my nieces and daughter for Christmas. I think I will have to borrow it to catch up on stuff I missed growing up!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4