Customer Reviews for

Darius: Lord of Pleasures (Lonely Lords Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I read all the time (most of it junk) and had forgotten just how

I read all the time (most of it junk) and had forgotten just how moving the printed word can be when used by a master in the art. Though the subject of this book (male prostitution) sounds vulgar - in Ms. Burrowes capable hands it becomes a tender love story. - one of ...
I read all the time (most of it junk) and had forgotten just how moving the printed word can be when used by a master in the art. Though the subject of this book (male prostitution) sounds vulgar - in Ms. Burrowes capable hands it becomes a tender love story. - one of her best! As of today, Darius is one of my favorite fictional characters!

posted by ExArkie on April 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Meh

Finished it, deleting it. The two lead characters were tiresome. Vivian was sooooo nice and Darius was sooooo sensitive, as are most of Grace Burrowes' heros, it's starting to get kinda boring, it's not good when your own characters become interchangeable. The plot s...
Finished it, deleting it. The two lead characters were tiresome. Vivian was sooooo nice and Darius was sooooo sensitive, as are most of Grace Burrowes' heros, it's starting to get kinda boring, it's not good when your own characters become interchangeable. The plot seemed very forced and the characterizations not as fully realized as they could have been. There were a few unanswered questions, like whose child was John and what would happen if the Father found out about him. I suppose they are answered in another book but I don't really care enough to find out. Grace Burrowes is tremendously good at creating an emotional arc to a story and her prose can be breathtaking, which is why I will continue to read her books. Just not this one. I wish she would consider letting the women know more about their own bodily processes, including pregnancy, than the men in their lives, really it's a little bit insulting to her characters and to women in general.

posted by katmorsmom on May 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    I read all the time (most of it junk) and had forgotten just how

    I read all the time (most of it junk) and had forgotten just how moving the printed word can be when used by a master in the art. Though the subject of this book (male prostitution) sounds vulgar - in Ms. Burrowes capable hands it becomes a tender love story. - one of her best! As of today, Darius is one of my favorite fictional characters!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2013

    How in the world does Grace Burrowes do it? Book after book, she

    How in the world does Grace Burrowes do it? Book after book, she delivers. In Darius, I think she's found her most unlikely yet noblest hero yet.




    Darius Lindsay, the youngest son of the Earl of Wilton, finds himself in dire straits. His father, for reasons Darius would rather not contemplate, but is all to aware of,  has cut him off from his inheritance and left him to fend for himself. In order to help his widowed brother, his small ward and his reputation challenged sister,  he finds himself selling himself for coin. When Lord Longstreet is in want of an heir in order to protect his soon to be widow, he enlists Darius' help and and an unlikely bargain is struck. What Darius and Lady Vivian Longstreet did not bargain for was the attraction they have for each other and the lengths to which each is willing to go to protect the other.




    Ms. Burrowes' writing is beautifully styled and her characters are always so fully developed. In this novel, we revisit with old friends from previous tales (always a treat) and we are once again witness to flawed characters overcoming adversity and themselves to be the people they were meant to be, and to fall in love while they are doing it. Just superb. This is historical romance as it was meant to be written and read.




    I'm looking forward to the next in this new series. Highly recommend.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    DARIUS by Grace Burrowes is an exciting Regency historical roman

    DARIUS by Grace Burrowes is an exciting Regency historical romance set in London. An exciting new series “The Lonely Lords”,and what a beginning. Written with Ms. Burrowes’ usual finesse for not only romance but the Regency era. “The Lonely Lords” is sure to be a pleasure for one and all. Let’s start with “Darius”,oh,sexy,handsome,and talented Darius in more ways than one. Did I mention he is a male courtesan,he has sold his soul,but enter the lovely Lady Vivian. Lady Vivian’s aging husband, Lord William Longstreet offers Darius a job he can’t refuse,a devil’s bargain, sorta to speak or it could just be his saving grace. “Darius” is a story of redemption,desperation,devotion,passion,secrets,degradation,and a powerful love story. What a great beginning to a new series. Darius,does what he must to save his beloved sisters,his grieving brother,and have some funds,from their evil father and his schemes. So he sells his soul and his body. Lady Vivian has only known an aging man’s love,she was Lord William’s beloved wife’s companion before her marriage to him,wait I don’t won’t to give any of the story away. Lord William is determined to save Lady Vivian from his scheming nephew after his death,so a bargain is struck with Darius. A powerful story from beginning to end. You will need a tissue or two,or I did. I adore Ms. Burrowes’ writing and Darius is no exception. While,some may adore it others may hate it. I enjoyed it tremendously. Yes, a male courtesan or gigolo,a naive Lady, an aging husband,who has honorable intentions toward his wife,he knows her,and hopes she will not only gain a child,carry his inheritance,but find love too. A must read! Received for an honest review from the publisher.

    RATING: 4.5

    HEAT RATING: HOT

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction Reviews

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2013

    Darius  I wasn¿t sure how appealing a whore of a hero would act

    Darius 

    I wasn’t sure how appealing a whore of a hero would actually be … oh, how I underestimated Grace Burrowes.  Full review is available at BookTrib(dot)com and RomanticReadsandSuch(dot)wordpress(dot)com 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    I have read all of Grace Burrowes' books and so, of course, I ha

    I have read all of Grace Burrowes' books and so, of course, I had to read this one too. Although I was very reluctant about the subject matter, not just Darius' profession,  I was pleasantly surprised and blown away by how well Grace dealt with it all.  Darius is a truly touching story that had me in tears during numerous scenes. This is most definitely one of the best books I have read in very long time. I highly recommend Darius. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    Darius and Vivian and their story make for a wondeful read

    At the beginning I wasn't sure how this plot would end happily, but I was pleasantly surprised and enjoyed the ride the two main characters took me on. Their story was beautiful to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    I love this new series.. An excellent author

    I love this new series.. An excellent author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    I have really enjoyed this series, but had to make a spreadsheet

    I have really enjoyed this series, but had to make a spreadsheet to keep track of all the Lords and Ladies especially since the read order is not the same as the chronological order.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    FABULOUS SERIES

    Each novel in this series becomes a favorte. Darius was absolutrely intriguing. LORRAINE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Rachel, Book provided by Sourcebooks, and Review ori

    Reviewed by Rachel, Book provided by Sourcebooks, and Review originally posted at Romancing the Book.
    Oh. My. Word.
    I have to be honest and I mean completely honest. Last time I picked up a Grace Burrowes book, I promptly put it down. It had a lot of references to sex in the first few pages and I just found it was not my cup of tea.
    I’m so thrilled I gave her another try!
    I’m literally stunned after reading this book. Darius is not your typical rake, scandal surrounds him, so he does the only thing he can think of doing. He sells his body in hopes to gain enough funds to support his sister for the Season. She’s surrounded by scandal as well and he knows she deserves a second chance.
    Vivian married an older man. He’s set on protecting her in any way possible. He can’t sire a son, so he hires Darius. See where this is going?
    Vivian is a terrified virgin, unsure of the ways of the world. While Darius knows the ins and outs of lovemaking and has no qualms about accepting money in order to help her gain a son. He tries to make it a business arrangement. Tries and fails.
    As a reader you see this part building. It makes total sense right? He falls for her, and then all of a sudden the lovers are separated, and you are torn between loving the two men and people take sides–so not what happened.
    Ms. Burrowes wrote this book in a very clever way. The relationship starts within the first few chapters leaving the reader to wonder what the heck she does with the rest of the story? I mean whats supposed to happen now?
    The character of William, Lord Longstreet, who was Vivian’s husband, was so brilliantly done that a few times I had to stop reading and just applaud Ms. Burrowes for her brilliance. He knew Vivian would need someone to support her so he basically set up his wife, a woman he had great love for, with someone else, knowing they would be good for each other. In doing what he did, he not only helped Darius pull out of the dark hole he was in, but made him a better man.
    I loved Darius. He wasn’t the typical, “I’m a rake and I love myself,” character. He was flawed but he knew he was flawed, he was more desperate than anything and I really appreciated how he grew as a character. His character wasn’t rushed, and I felt like I was able to grow with him as a reader.
    Vivian was stable and wonderful. She didn’t annoy me. She didn’t make me want to throw my ereader against the wall. She was a typical female brought up in a mans world. I loved her fight and I loved her responses to Darius and how she loved him when he felt un-loveable.
    This book dealt with a lot of heavy issues, many of which were so prevalent during that time. Authors often don’t write about women’s’ rights because I think it is a turn off for a lot of readers, but Ms. Burrowes did this beautifully. I commend her not only for writing an incredible love story that will stay with readers for a while, but for doing it so dang well.
    Lots of sex. Some graphic. Minor swearing.
    I would recommend this to ANYONE who loves a good historical and heart-wrenching story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Great story

    I loved it! Now one of my new favorites! Was not once bored in this book as I've been not finding the greatest book of lately this supprised me in a very good way

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    American Gigolo - London/Regency Style 4.5 stars. A Regency man

    American Gigolo - London/Regency Style

    4.5 stars. A Regency man-whore - with certain scruples. What's not to love?

    He's hot, he's discreet, there are certain things he will NOT do... until he is approached by Viscount Longstreet. Darius resembles Longstreet in his youth, he wants/needs am heir, and Lady Vivian Longstreet is young, beautiful, and... vulnerable.

    One month, surely there's no danger of falling in love, for either of them, or is there?

    Beautiful, unusual romance, very sensual and tender, and with the additional complication of Darius' other "clients" and the difficulty of disentangling them without either ruining him or Vivian's social reputations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Three cheers for Sensitive men

    A couple of the reviews complain that all of Ms Burrows' heroes are too sensitive, making them too unbelievable, and that the men know more about women's bodily functions than the women themselves, which is an insult to the women. I'd like to address both those issues as briefly as possible. First, unless a young woman was raised on a farm and was allowed active participation with the animals, which was unacceptable for most young ladies then she would be ignorant of sexual matters. Such information was unfit for a lady to know. Doubt it? I went to school in this century with a girl who had sex but had never seen the guy's cock, had only done it in the dark, and still thought he would think she was a slut if she liked doing it. As for sensitive men, they might be like unicorns but they do exist. It is just that when you find one you grab hold and don't let go because they are so enjoyable. And yes, they tend to run in families. There is just something about Dads teaching by example. So, Grace, Thank You So Much for writing about men who have the same wants and needs and display their love and caring in the same ways as good, sensitive women. It doesn't make them less manly or less of a hero, they just become more delicious. Thinking of a good wine or Paul Newman and his dedication to his wife and family and his many contributions to the needs of the poor without the need to cheat or steal to make himself feel like a big man. Now there was a true hero.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Grace Burrowes ROCKS!

    I have read all of Grace Burrows books but wasn't sure on this one since I heard it was a series of books she wrote earlier and was releasing them now. I should not have worried. This was another great book. The subject matter was a little strange for my taste but it didn't detract from my enjoying the story.

    I highly recommend all of her books. She is the best when it comes to Historical Romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    I just finished Darius & Vivvies story. I cant remember a st

    I just finished Darius & Vivvies story. I cant remember a story that caught me out with so many emotions. I cried, often. I giggled and smiled. And I worried. How could it work? These stories are nearly impossible because it can only go one way to get to the HEA. But the characters are so genuine and sweet, you can feel the love. How they both truly do complete each other. What a lovely story, Grace.
    "In sleep, Vivian stirred then settled, but her hand had slipped lower, from Darius's waist to rest over his groin. Her fingers flexed, brushing his cock - forbidden territory to all other women- and he went still then shifted slightly under her hand. She brushed her fingers over him again, patted him sleeply, then subsided. And for that, for the simple, sleepy, affectionate little pat on his soft cock, he gave up another piece of his heart to her."
    Kind of a strange quote to pick, but it is true to the story. Just the love between them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Excellent

    Great book Fast romantic read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    J

    Just excellent! Thanks Deb.

    JaKai

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I will have to admit that when I first started reading this book

    I will have to admit that when I first started reading this book I wasn’t sure if I would like it. It turned out that I loved it! I want to read more from this author. The way Ms. Burrowes wrote it was if I could see every detail in my head. It also made me want to accept a hot toddy from Darius. If you like historical romance then I recommend getting this book.

    Darius is the son of an Earl, he is not the first born. We know that after the first son the following sons don’t get anything. Darius is trying to put a roof of his family of, for a lack of a better word cast offs. So he has sex for money. Enter William and Vivian. William is an older man and approaches Darius with the chance of a lifetime. He wants an heir so he hires Darius to impregnate Vivian.

    ¿

    William has never gotten over the death of his first wife Muriel and knows it won’t be long be for he joins her. He wants to make sure that Vivian will be taken care of. As William gets sicker Vivian’s stepfather(whom she doesn’t trust) realizes that he will be in control of Vivian’s life after William is gone. Darius and Vivian realize that their month together has brought them closer then they ever thought possible. Darius will do anything to protect the people he loves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    A combined review of the first four books of this series will be

    A combined review of the first four books of this series will be posted at The Reading Cafe on 26 Jul 13




    5 out of 5 for this reader folks!




    Before I get into this review I have to point out the authors dedication. So often dedications are passed over in anticipation of the story and if that is the case with this book it would be a shame. Grace Burrowes dedication really struck a cord with me and set the tone for this book. It basically dedicated to anyone who has found themselves in a "rock in a hard place" situation and has had to courage to change it. She of course is much more poetic than that! LOL 




    Alrighty then .. here we go! 




    Darius by Grace Burrowes in the first book in a series called Lonely Lords. I do not recall seeing a date of when this story takes place, but I do believe it's the regency era, London, England. That is how I envisioned it in my mind anyways. If I am wrong I apologize.




    Right from the start we are thrown into a very uncomfortable chat between the elderly Lord William Longstreet and our main man Darius. Lord William has asked Darius to entertain his young wife Vivian (our leading lady) in the country and get her "with child". Can you imagine??? 




    Darius, who has been shunned and financially abandoned by his father who happens to be an Earl (and a real *&^&*), has had to consort to whoring himself to very wicked and horribly natured high society women (these woman are seriously messed up in the head). So this conversation, while surprising, is not so far fetched. Seeing as the coin earned from this month in the country can provide future financial stability for Darius and those he is responsible for, he reluctantly agrees.




    Vivian, who was once Lord Williams beloved first wife's companion, married William after his wife's passing. William married her to protect her from her evil step-father, ill intended suitors and because they shared a bond through his first wife. They are great friends and both are content with a marriage of friendship. Lord William has had some bad luck though and over the years has lost his two sons (that he had with his first wife) and therefore his heirs. He requires another heir so that his title and funds are not claimed by the crown upon his death so that is when this deal with Darius is struck.




    Vivian and Darius spend the month together and come to realize that they are not only very compatible, but they are beginning to fall in love with each other (body discovery between these two is quite juicy at times .. TeeHee). Their month together is also successful.




    There is the foundation of the story. While the main focus is on Vivian and Darius, I have to say the character that stuck out for me was Lord William. While he knew he had to ask his young wife to place herself in a very uncomfortable and scandalous situation, he did everything he could to ease the tension. He ensures that Darius remains in her life, encourages the friendship, and strikes his own respectable relationship that is quite fatherly to Darius. He is classy man who yes, wants to preserve the title, but makes sure he is taking care of those he hold dear. Grace Burrowes writes him beautifully.




    If I could, I would clone Darius. I would clone him and take strolls in the park, ride horses, feed him apples and grapes and seduce his fine body ever chance I could. LUCKY VIVIAN! He is such an easy man to fall in love with and I can see why Vivian becomes so smitten. He also goes through his own self growth and when those that have plagued him get their own I am cheering him on. Vivian herself is no shrinking violet and she herself goes through some major changes. You get to see her lioness and protective, sassy side come out. I love a woman who has some sass! LOL




    That's all I will give away as I hate any major spoilers in reviews. There is so much more to this story that includes some scheming and surprises which knits this story together so well. If you like historical romance that flows, includes "meant to be love" and has many antagonists to keep it scandalous, then this book is for you! 




    This is my first Grace Burrowes book and I will read many more by this author!




    HAPPY READING! :)








    Copy of this novel was provided by the publisher through NetGallery for an honest review. Thank you for selecting me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Excellent Story (LVR)

    Another great regency romance from Grace Burrowes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2